Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



All 60 seats are up Nov. 8; Democrats now lead Republicans, 37 to 23, but races are in newly redrawn districts.

PMG FILE PHOTO - Results are flowing in still from Tuesday's primary elections. Preliminary results in contested races for metro area seats in the Oregon House. Not all seats are listed because of uncontested primaries in many districts. Some Clackamas County results were unavailable or included a very small sample size.


(Two-year terms)

District 25 (Tigard): Republicans: Bob Niemeyer was leading Gabriel Buehler, both of Tigard, 55% to 44%, for the Republican nomination to face Democrat Ben Bowman of Tigard, who was unopposed for his party nomination. There is no incumbent.

District 26 (Wilsonville, Sherwood): Republicans: Jason Fields of Newberg was leading Glenn Lancaster of Wilsonville, 68% to 32%, for the Republican nomination to face incumbent Democrat Courtney Neron of Wilsonville, who is seeking a third term. She was unopposed.

District 27 (Beaverton): Democratic incumbent Ken Helm, seeking a fifth term, defeated Tammy Carpenter for the party nomination, 61% to 38%. Republican Sandra Nelson was unopposed for her party nomination.

District 28 (parts of Washington and Multnomah counties): Republicans: Patrick Castles of Portland was leading Charles Mengis of Portland, 55% to 43%, for the Republican nomination to face Democratic incumbent Dacia Grayber, of Portland, who is seeking a second term.

District 30 (Hillsboro): Republicans: Joe Everton beat Todd Morrill, both of Hillsboro, 64% to 35%, for the Republican nomination to face appointed Democrat Nathan Sosa of Hillsboro. Sosa was unopposed for his party nomination.

District 31 (Columbia County; part of Multnomah County): Brian Stout of Columbia City bested Drew Layda of Portland, 63% to 36%, for the Republican nomination. Anthony Sorace of Scappoose was unopposed for the Democratic nomination. Democratic incumbent Brad Witt ran in another district and lost; he had been in the House since 2005.

District 34 (Beaverton area): Democratic incumbent Lisa Reynolds of Beaverton won 85% to 15% for Jennifer Kinzey of Portland. Republican John Woods of Beaverton was unopposed for his party nomination.

District 35 (Beaverton, Aloha): Farrah Chaichi of Aloha won 60%, Zeloszelos Marchandt of Beaverton 39% for the Democratic nomination. Republican Daniel Martin of Beaverton was unopposed for his party nomination. This is an open seat.

District 38 (Lake Oswego) Democrats: Daniel Nguyen had 51% and Neelam Gupta 49% in their contest for the Democratic nomination for the seat being vacated by Democrat Andrea Salinas, who is the party nominee for the 6th District congressional seat. Republican Alastair Firman of Lake Oswego was unopposed.

District 40 (Oregon City, Gladstone) With fewer than 300 Democratic ballots counted for the seat being vacated by Democrat Mark Meek, Annessa Hartman had an early lead. With just over 800 GOP votes counted, Adam Baker was out front.

District 41 (Milwaukie): Mayor Mark Gamba of Milwaukie was leading in early returns for the Democratic nomination by 73% against Kaliko Castille of Milwaukie and Christopher Draus of Southeast Portland;. Bob "Elvis" Clark won 47% for the Republican nomination; Rob Reynolds won 39% and Rene Gomez 12 as of Wednesday morning%. All are from Milwaukie. Democrat Karin Power is vacating the seat after two terms.

District 44 (North Portland): Appointed Democrat Travis Nelson won 90% against 9% for Eric Delahoy, who had suspended his campaign. No Republican filed.

District 45 (Northeast Portland): Thuy Tran defeated Catherine Thomasson, 72% to 28%, for the Democratic nomination for the seat being vacated by Democrat Barbara Smith Warner. No Republican filed.

District 51 (Canby, Sandy, part of Multnomah County): With just 1,400 Republican votes tallied Wednesday morning, James Hieb, Canby, an appointed incumbent seeking full term was leading Lisa Davidson, Oregon City. Democrat Walt Trandum of Sandy was unopposed for his party nomination.

District 52 (Hood River, The Dalles) Jeff Helfrich of Hood River won the Republican nomination overwhelmingly against James Born of Welches and Britt Storkson of The Dalles. Helfrich had been appointed to the seat in 2017, but lost to Democrat Anna Williams in 2018 and 2020. Williams is not running again. Democrat Darcy Long of The Dalles was unopposed.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework