Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Portland is divided into SW, NW, N, NE, and SE -- and now the final piece is officially created: South Portland

COURTESY PBOT - PBOT contractors slapped S stickers over SW on street signs, indicating that the area near the Willamette River on the west side is now called South Portland.From a little north of the Ross Island Bridge, to a bit south of the Sellwood Bridge, Inner Southeast Portland has a newly designated "neighbor" just across the Willamette River. This area is now officially distinct as "South Portland".

In what's been called the "South Portland Addressing Project" – as approved by the Portland City Council approval on June 6, 2018 – this odd part of Southwest Portland was officially "readdressed" as South Portland on May 1.

Instead of replacing most of the street signs there, Portland Bureau of Transportation (PBOT) contractors began affixing stickers to covering up the "S.W." designation with "S" in the newly named section of Portland on that date.

Due to the eastward curvature in the Willamette River, east-west street addresses in Southwest Portland located east of S.W. Naito Parkway (and of S.W. View Point Terrace in southernmost Portland neighborhoods) have always used a leading zero in the address to differentiate them from addresses west of Naito Parkway, and that has always caused problems for residents and businesses there. "Those addresses made wayfinding difficult for delivery drivers and, most importantly, for first responders. They had to locate and then navigate to 'leading zero' properties," explained PBOT's Hannah Schafer.

When you drive across the Willamette River on the Ross Island and Sellwood Bridges, the named streets will all be same locations, and now you'll more easily be able to easily find your way – the initial zero will be gone from street addresses, and only the rest of the number will remain. Just remember that you'll now be in "South Portland", rather than Southwest Portland. So now there will be six sections of Portland, rather than the former five – the others still being Northwest, North, Northeast, Southeast, and Southwest.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework