Scappoose has only beaten Tillamook twice in Jim Jones' career as head coach, the other time coming in 2006

by: JOHN WILLIAM HOWARD - Ben Gadbois wrestles Christian Mata of Tillamook in the 160-pound bout on Thursday evening. Gadbois won the match by a 6-2 decision, helping to spur the Indians past Tillamook for the first time since 2006.Most wrestling fans in Scappoose know the storied history between the Indians and Tillamook. They've battled it out over the years, each finishing with a state wrestling title in the last decade, but no matter how close things have been, something stands out starkly in Tillamook's favor: throughout the tenure of Scappoose head coach Jim Jones, the Cheesemakers had only lost once in the series.

That was back in 2006. Tillamook would win a state championship two years later, with the Tribe breaking through in 2010.

Now, the Cheesemakers' loss total has doubled.

Scappoose came out on fire, taking a 19-6 lead and though Tillamook was able to score a few points to keep things close, a pair of pins at 170 and 182 put the dual out of reach and putting Scappoose on top for just the second time in recent memory.

The Indians had five wrestlers win by fall, including Braxton Sue at 106, Taylor Walden at 126, Hunter Hoyt at 145, Jonathan Tardif at 170 and Isaiah Goodrich at 182.

Scappoose will be on the road early tomorrow morning, headed to Astoria for the Cowapa League championships. As Tillamook was the consensus challenger for Scappoose at the district meet, it looks as though the Tribe will sail through with flying colors to regionals, where they will look to qualify wrestlers for the state competition.

The district meet is set to begin at 10 a.m. at Astoria High School. Regionals are scheduled for Feb. 21-22 at Gladstone High School.


Scappoose 49, Tillamook 21

285 – Colton Wheeler (SCAP) def. Dylan Jackman (TILL), 4-0 dec.

106 – Braxton Sue (SCAP) def. Elijah Prince (TILL), fall :48

113 – Colton Bush (SCAP) def. Cameron Reeves (TILL), 13-2 MD

120 – Justin Coon (TILL) def. Mason Waddington (SCAP), fall 1:07

126 – Taylor Walden (SCAP) def. Michael Dooher (TILL), fall 3:41

132 – Logan Weeks (TILL) def. Alex Foumal (SCAP), 4-0 dec.

138 – Cody Earhart (SCAP) def. Anthony Imel (TILL), 3-1 dec.

145 – Hunter Hoyt (SCAP) def. Tylor Garcia (TILL), fall 1:29

152 – Drew Owens (TILL) def. Wade Nelson (SCAP), fall 5:01

160 – Ben Gadbois (SCAP) def. Christian Mata (TILL), 6-2 dec.

170 – Jonathan Tardif (SCAP) def. Eli Pesterfield (TILL), fall 2:46

182 – Isaiah Goodrich (SCAP) def. Gabe Whitlatch (TILL), fall 1:41

195 – Rafael Gomez (TILL) win by FF

220 – Devin Ray (SCAP) win by FF

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine