Scappoose all-state graduate seals 7-4 victory as South takes two of three at Legion Field in Roseburg

PHOTO CREDIT: ROBERT MEDLEY - Indians senior outfielder Hunter Holmason's three-run eighth-inning walk-off home run lifted the Class 4A All-Star Series North to a 7-4 win and won him the Don Ruecker Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player) on Sunday, June 18, at Legion Field in Roseburg.Hunter Holmason's eighth-inning heroics swung fortune the Class 4A All-Star Series North's way in the early game on Sunday, June 18, at Legion Field in Roseburg.

The all-state Scappoose senior outfielder's walk-off three-run shot lifted his side to a 7-4 win and won him the three-game series' Don Ruecker Memorial Trophy, awarded to the Most Valuable Player.

The new St. Martin's University (Lacey, Wash.) commit's round-tripper was especially welcome after the North brought home two runs to force extras in the seventh.

Holmason doubled in the nine-inning go-round a day earlier, but the South scattered 21 hits and ran away 17-6.

He also walked, was hit by three pitches and scored four times across the three games.

"I'm proud of how Hunter represented Scappoose," said Indians athletic director Robert Medley, a Series coach in 2008, 2010 and 2015 and an assistant director of many years, and the Tribe's skipper through last spring. "It's a fantastic time to represent 4A teams [whose stars reap newspaper sportswriters and high school coaches' admiration], and [Legion Field is] great to host us."

Astoria's Jackson Arnsdorf (pitcher) and Kyle Strange (center fielder) and Valley Catholic's Makoa Nakamura (second baseman) and Chris Rapp (outfielder) joined Holmason's North.

State champion La Grande senior infielder Aaron Goss' ninth-inning RBI single sealed Sunday's afternoon rubber match 2-1 for the South, but the North retains a 20-18 all-time series lead.

The invitational began as the Oregon State 3A High School Baseball All-Star Series in 1979, and Holmason was Scappoose's 34th representative.

Jaired Spofford was St. Helens' 24th and final such star in 1999.

"I know that often times, as a player from a smaller school you might often wonder, as I did, if what you are doing is being seen as much as those players from the bigger schools," wrote New York Yankees scout Mike Thurman to each invitee in the event's program. "I can now confidently assure you as I have moved on from my high school, college and major league playing career, and now as a scout for the New York Yankees, that regardless of the size of the school you are from, your accomplishments are being recognized, and the opportunities that you create for yourself are no diferent than those who might attend the largest schools in the state."

Neil Lordos (1982), Keith Eeds (1995), Dick Busch (1996) coached for Scappoose in the series, and Ken Bailey (1987), Bob Hogue (1989), Wes Bigham (1992) did the same for St. Helens.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine