Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Dow, a junior shortstop, is named to the Class 5A all-state first team for softball

SPOTLIGHT FILE PHOTO - St. Helens' Taylor Dow won a berth on the Class 5A all-state first team after batting .533 for the Lions in the spring.The left side of the St. Helens High softball infield got some love when the all-state teams were recently announced.

Junior shortstop Taylor Dow was named to the Class 5A all-state first team.

Senior third baseman Brooklynn Mercier was a second-team selection.

Dow led the St. Helens softball team with a .533 batting average.

"She's extremely competitive at the plate," Lions coach Miranda Little said of Dow. "She had only four strikeouts all season, so I knew even in a pressure situation, she'd at least put the bat on the ball."

Mercier batted .468 with 18 RBIs and struck out only four times in her senior season. Her quickness and experience were key on defense, too.

"She's extremely fast, which is something you want on the hot corner at third base, so if the other team bunts, your fielder can get to it," Little said.

SPOTLIGHT FILE PHOTO - Brooklynn Mercier, a graduated senior from St. Helens, was named to the Class 5A all-state second team this year.


First team

Pitchers: Ariel Carlson, Marist, junior; Payton Goodrich, Hillsboro, senior; Madison Mayer, Putnam, senior; P Kayelynn Simmons, Dallas, junior; Hannah McNerney, Hood River Valley, senior; Lauren Richards, Pendleton, senior.

Catchers: Lauren Wallace, Dallas, senior; Abby Doerr, Marist, sophomore; Zoe Munn, Hood River Valley, senior.

Infielders: Taylor Dow, St. Helens, junior; McKenzie Staub, Hillsboro, sophomore; Abbey Siroshton, Marist, senior; Gillian Willis, Eagle Point, senior; IF Sydney Stefani, Hermiston, junior.

Outfielders: Hannah Sisul, La Salle Prep, senior; OF Emma Classen, Dallas, junior; Savana Decker, Thurston, sophomore; Haylee Baker, Hood River Valley, junior.

Utility/Designated player: Maggie Roth, Silverton, senior; Lauren Decker, Hood River Valley, junior; Miyah Smith, Eagle Point, senior.

Player of the Year — Abby Doerr, Marist, sophomore.

Pitcher of the Year — Lauren Richards, Pendleton, senior.

Coach of the Year — Tim Cary, Pendleton.

Second team

Pitchers: Riley Shopp, Eagle Point, sophomore; Allicitie Frost, Ridgeview, sophomore.

Catchers: Kiara McCrea, Hillsboro, freshman; Samantha Thompson, Eagle Point, senior.

Infielders: Brooklynn Mercier, St. Helens, senior; Sydney Nash, Central, sophomore; Jordan Dippel, Dallas, senior; Bailey Sundberg, Churchill, senior; Kalan McGlothan, Pendleton, senior.

Outfielders: Mikayla Schweinsberg, Putnam, senior; Kassidy Noon, Central, junior; Katie Drieling, Marist, junior.

Utility/Designated player: Olivia Jetgvig, Thurston, sophomore; Natalie Hill, Ridgeview, junior; Bailee Nolan, Hermiston, sophomore

Third team

Catcher: Kila Solomon, Pendleton, senior.

Infielders: Ally Wessel, Lebanon, senior; McKenna Williams, Marist, junior; Aspen Garton, Pendleton, junior; Alexi Behaut, Pendleton, senior.

Outfielders: Corie Dodge, Eagle Point, senior; Sage McVay, Ridgeview, freshman.

Utility/Designated player: Faith Vadelund, Putnam, sophomore; Hailey Nelson, Summit, senior.

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It costs just a few cents a day.)

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine