The Scappoose players are honored after winning the Cowapa League this spring

SPOTLIGHT FILE PHOTO - Graduated senior pitcher Nicole Dougherty of Scappoose was named to the Class 4A all-state third team after going 15-0 this year.Scappoose's best softball players, it turns out, were also among the state's best players.

Five Indians softball players were recently named to 2018 Class 4A all-state teams after helping their team that win the Cowapa League with a 14-1 record.

Senior catcher Gabie Krueger, senior shortstop Hannah Galey and junior outfielder Taylor Johnson were second-team selections. Senior pitcher Nicole Dougherty and senior infielder Hadley Enos were third-team all-state.

Krueger, the catcher and leadoff hitter, hit .634.

Galey, who missed the early part of the season as she worked her way back from elbow surgery, led the Indians with seven home runs and 47 RBIs while batting .565. She is headed to play for the Oregon Ducks.

Johnson played left field and had a .448 batting average hitting second in the batting order.

A left-handed pitcher, Dougherty finished 15-0 with a 1.55 ERA.

Third baseman Enos batted .544 as a senior and plans to play at Mt. Hood Community College.

SPOTLIGHT FILE PHOTO - Graduated senior Hadley Enos of Scappoose was named to the Class 4A all-state third team and will play at Mt. Hood Community College next year.


First team

Pitchers: Allie Brock, La Grande, sophomore; Jena Kister, Junction City, sophomore; Shaye Pinner, Gladstone, senior.

Catchers: Jayce Seaver, La Grande, sophomore; Abby Bumcrot, Junction City, sophomore.

Infielders: Kaila Mick, Henley, junior; Kamryn Potter, Junction City, junior; Carrie Lillis, Philomath, senior; Kalie Mann, South Umpqua, junior; Halle Vandomelen, Banks, sophomore; Faith McQueen, Corbett, senior.

Outfielders: Keegan Wise, Banks, senior; Drew Culver, North Bend, senior; Ally Tow, Sweet Home, senior; Page Nemic, Henley, sophomore.

Utilty: Kylee Anderson, Elmira, senior; Sabrina Ward, Gladstone, junior.

Player of the Year — Jayce Seaver, La Grande, sophomore.

Pitcher of the Year — Allie Brock, La Grande, sophomore.

Coach of the Year — Kirk Travis, La Grande.

Second team

Pitchers: Lilly Poe, Henley, junior; Tayah Kelley, South Umpqua, junior; Kamden Combs, Philomath, freshman; Cheyenne Datan, North Bend, senior.

Catchers: Gabie Krueger, Scappoose, senior; C Lindsey Flegel, Corbett, junior.

Infielders: Hannah Galey, Scappoose, senior; Mekenzie Brock, North Bend, senior; Makaylah Kluken, Molalla, senior; Alaina Carson, La Grande, junior; Cheyanne White, Elmira, sophomore; Sydney Grider, North Valley, junior.

Outfielders: Taylor Johnson, Scappoose, junior; Abby Dalton, Crook County, senior; Linsey Stripling, Junction City, junior; Makalia Saathoff, Philomath, freshman

Utility: Tanner Higgins, Henley, senior; Madyson Bell, La Grande, senior.

Third team

Pitchers: Nicole Dougherty, Scappoose, senior; Kaylin Hernandez, Banks, junior; Hattie Imbler-Bremmer, Newport, freshman.

Catchers: Maddie Perez, Henley, freshman; Rieley Reichhuber, Philomath, senior.

Infielders: Hadley Enos, Scappoose, senior; Kalea Blodgett, Newport, freshman; Rose Gwillim, Baker, junior; Hannah Williams, Philomath, junior; Samantha Baylie, North Marion, junior; Megan Gaibler, Yamhill-Carlton, senior.

Outfielders: Faith Kelly, McLoughlin, senior; Ashley Owens, Crook County, sophomore; Mackenzie Davis, Banks, senior; Dessie Alvarado, Gladstone, sophomore; Sophie Dziak, Newport, senior.

Utility: Sydney Maurer, Stayton, sophomore; Grace Paranto, Newport, senior.

Honorable mention

Pitchers: Rayana Arana, North Valley, senior; Brooke Dalton, Crook County, sophomore.

Catchers: Emily Gates, Molalla, senior; C Hannah McCourt, Banks, junior; Aailyah Rudy, South Umpqua, junior.

Infielders: Nehani DeLaRosa, Mazama, senior; Jackie Howton, La Grande, sophomore; Rachel Lyon, McLoughlin, senior; Kaylan Mosser, Baker, senior; Morgan Stafford, Corbett, freshman; Berkley Puckett, Crook County, junior; Kandice Flaigg, Seaside, freshman; Aime Russell, Philomath, junior; Shalyn Gray, South Umpqua, sophomore; Ashtyn Walker, Sweet Home, sophomore; Josie Dickson, Elmira, junior; Mariah Ohman, Junction City, junior.

Outfielders: Brooke Kentner, Phoenix, senior; Isabelle Kirkland, North Valley, junior; McKenna Yensen, McLoughlin, senior; OF Kara Gooderham, La Grande, junior; Lexie Gomes, La Grande, junior; Jewlz Wagner, Newport, senior; Sunhee Bitter, Sweet Home, junior; Sydney Collins, Junction City, sophomore.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine