Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Labor Day weekend firsts at River City Speedway go to Gadboury, Fox, Beehler, King

COURTESY PHOTO: MIKE WEBER - Jake VanOrtwick of Scappoose celebrates with his family after a race at River City Speedway in St. Helens.A quartet of area race car drivers — Dick Gaboury, Sean Fox, Joel Beehler and Terry King — each notched Columbia County Racing Association main-event wins in the PapÉ Machinery/Knife River-sponsored Labor Day event at River City Speedway.

Gaboury, of Rainier, drove his Economy Auto Wrecking/Ram Light Truck Salvage-sponsored 1992 Nissan Sentra and took the checkered flag to capture the Four Cylinder Division main-event on Aug. 31.

Fox, of Rainier, won the Sept. 1 Modified Division main on the quarter-mile track in St. Helens.

Beehler, of St. Helens, won the Sept. 1 Street Stock main.

King, from Warren, won the Street Stock main on Aug. 31.

Many other local competitors recorded top-five main-event finishes as well, including St. Helens drivers Stephen Kaptur and Bob Berg, and Gary Kordosky of Scappoose.

Kaptur, 43, the two-time defending Modified Division champion, recorded a fourth-place main-event finish Aug. 31 while driving the Malar Performance Engines-sponsored open-wheel race car owned by "Papa" Don West of St. Helens.

Vancouver's Don Jenner won the main, followed by Longview's Clyde White, Fox and Kaptur.

On Sunday, Sept. 1, Fox took first place in the main, followed by runner-up Don Jenner, White, Matt Jenner, Dustin Asher, Kaptur, Devon Reed and Rudy Chappelle.

For White, 51, it marked his seventh straight top-five Modified Division main-event finish in his PNE Construction/Eric's Frame Repair-sponsored race car.

White leads the series point standings as he seeks to win his first Modified Division championship.

Kaptur is ranked a close second and is still in contention for a possible third straight title with two events remaining on the 14-race schedule.

The next race is Sept. 14, followed by the Sept. 21 CCRA championship season finale event.

The 2019 championship race will be held Sept 28 only if the Sept. 21 race is rained out.

Berg, the defending Tuner Division champion, recorded a fifth-place main-event finish Aug. 31 in his Cozy Lawn Maintenance/Eaton's Tire & Service Center 1997 Dodge Neon.

Vancouver's Travis Koch was a three-time winner as he won the Tuner Division main, trophy dash and heat two on Aug. 31.

Current division leader TJ Landis of West Linn took second, followed by Kelso's Joel Davis, Longview's Dan McDonald and Berg. McDonald won heat one.

McDonald won the Sept. 1 Tuner Division main in his Economy Auto Wrecking 2004 Nissan Sentra, followed by Cory Sweatman, Landis, Cody Scouller and Don Briggs to round out the top five. Davis and Sweatman each won heat races.

Kordosky recorded a season-best third-place Sportsman Division main-event finish in his Chevrolet Monte Carlo Aug. 31, trailing only runner-up Devon Reed and winner Dillon Solum.

Reed, of Woodland, Wash., won the trophy dash and leads the series standings. He is going for a second straight Sportsman title.

Solum and Bernie Lujan won heat races.

On Sunday, Solum was a two-time winner as he captured the main and heat one.

Cory Hazen won heat two and was runner-up to Solum in the main. Dan Smith, of Scappoose, took third in his Alliance Automotive-sponsored Chevy Monte Carlo, followed by David Weaver, Samantha Packard, Andrew Short, Marty Wallace, Shane O'Hara and Will Temple.

Beehler, 26, drove the CLT Trucking/Hoyt Construction 1985 Chevy Malibu owned by Greg Brumbaugh of St. Helens to victory lane twice Aug 31 as he won the Street Stock Division dash and heat. He then took second in the main to King.

On Sept. 1, the two front-runners were in the opposite position, with King winning the main event in his Ross Diesel & Auto 1987 Buick Regal, and with Beehler the runner-up.

The two are in a close battle for the championship with King atop the point standings and Beehler in second while separated by single digits.

The duo of co-drivers Beehler and Brumbaugh are seeking a third straight Street Stock Division title.

In the Dwarf Car Division, Ryan Martinez of Portland won the Aug. 31 main, followed by a quartet of local drivers. Shawn Dorie of St. Helens took second, Jake VanOrtwick of Scappoose was third, Jake Tupper of St. Helens took fourth, and James Brinster of St. Helens was fifth.

Martinez also won the Sept. 1 main, followed by Dorie, Tupper, VanOrtwick and Brinster for top-five finishers.

VanOrtwick, Steven Schreiner, Dorie, Tupper, Josh Rodgers and Dennis Liebig won heat races.

Joey Tanner of Portland and Jason Johnson of Gresham won the Ray Potter Memorial Late Model Division main events. Tanner was a two-time winner as he won the heat and main Sept. 1.


You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework