Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Sherwood boys and girls fill the Pacific Conference's list of all-stars, but FG and Hillsboro well-represented.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Sherwood's Ava Heiden was voted the Pacific Conference Girls Player of the Year.Both the Sherwood boys and girls finished atop the Pacific Conference basketball standings this season, so it shouldn't surprise that they also finished with the most first-teamers on the league's list of regular season all-stars.

On the girls side, the Bowmen's Ava Heiden took home the league's Player of the Year honors, while Sherwood head coach Lauren Howard was the league's Coach of the Year for leading her team to an undefeated conference record before losing to Jesuit in the second round of the state playoffs.

In all, Sherwood garnered five total selections, with Heiden and senior Mandie Jensen making first team, senior Laney Snelling earning second team honors, and sophomores Paige Bittner and Sabrina Flowers earning honorable mention.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Sherwood's Owen Caudle was voted as the Pacific Conference Boys Player of the Year.Forest Grove had four honorees led by Lily Everson who was voted as the league's Defensive Player of the Year. In addition to Everson's defensive prowess, the senior averaged 10.3 points and three rebounds per game.

"Lily was the driving force of our defense," Forest Grove head coach Dan Lumpkin said. "She had a motor that didn't quit, she didn't get tired, and she made games very difficult for opposing point guards. She is definitely one of the top defenders that I have had the pleasure of coaching."

Joining Everson on the Vikings' list of honorees was fellow first-teamer, sophomore Lauren Buchanan, second-teamer Ally Hammond, and junior Summer Hullinger who earned honorable mention.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Forest Grove's Lily Everson (12) and Lauren Buchanan (32) were both first team all-league honorees, while Everson earned Pacific Conference Defensive Player of the Year honors.Buchanan averaged 8.4 points, 3.8 rebounds and 2.5 steals per game, and led the Vikings with 38 made three-pointers.

"Lauren had a very good season, and she is only a sophomore, so there is more to come," Lumpkin said. "She gave us offensive sparks when we needed them with her ability to score inside and outside. She has a great attitude and works really hard on and off the court."

Liberty, who finished the season 8-14 overall, had four honorees: second-teamers junior Sage Reamer and senior Brynly Bryan, along with honorable mention recipients freshmen Maddy Miramontes and Kaliyah Chronister.

Glencoe's Izzy Hall earned second team honors, while Hannah Willard was honorable mention

Century honorees included junior Jenna Walkenhorst who was a second-teamer, along with Ida Makboul who was honorable mention.

On the boys side, Sherwood's Owen Caudle was the league's Player of the Year, the Bowmen's Caden Jenkins was the Defensive Player of the Year, and Century's Scott Kellar was the Coach of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Glencoe's Ben Thornbrue was a first-team All-Pacific Conference player for the Crimson Tide this season.Kellar led the Jaguars to a 15-10 overall record and second place finish in the Pacific Conference, earning a playoff spot where they were defeated in the first round by PIL champion Cleveland.

Caudle's honor comes on the heels of the senior breaking his ankle last June. Sherwood head coach Rahim Tufts said earlier in the year that it had been fun watching the team leader work his way back into form after the injury.

"You couldn't help but feel for the kid and his family because he lost his opportunity to play the game he loves, but I knew he'd come back hungry and determined to prove himself," the coach said. "It's been fun seeing him having success."

Joining Caudle on the first team was his teammate Jared Sucher, while Matthew Verkamp was a second-teamer, and Jenkins and Bryson Goff were honorable mention.

Century too had five selections beginning with first-teamer junior Axton Wongsomadi, and followed by second-teamers Andre Huynh and sophomore Jordan Johnson, along with freshman Jessley Bukeyeneza who was honorable mention.

Glencoe was led by first-teamer Ben Thornbrue, and saw Michael Vandomelan and sophomore Chance Winters earn honorable mention.

Forest Grove had three honorable mention honorees including: Trevor Cannon, Lucas Ellington and Jake Steltenpohl.

Liberty, who finished an impressive third in the conference with a 12-10 overall record, boasted two second team selections in Justin Davis and sophomore Donovan Crowder, along with Xavier Womack who was honorable mention.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework