Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Legislature 2021: Less drama, more of the people's work

Legislature 2021: Less drama, more of the people's work

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Now, more than ever, we need extraordinary efforts by lawmakers to create an air of normality.
OPINION: It's time to strip 'Black Codes' from the U.S.…

OPINION: It's time to strip 'Black Codes' from the U.S.…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon U.S. Sen. Jeff Merkley will again seek to end the legacy of a clause long used as a 'tool of control' over people of color.
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 14, 2021

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 14, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Readers react to the storming of the U.S. Capitol, vandalism in Tigard and Oregon's vaccine program.
Our Opinion: It is not time to reopen yet

Our Opinion: It is not time to reopen yet

South County Spotlight - Opinion
We would love for this pandemic to be over already and for us to have no cause for concern in 2021. But that's not the case.
After 19 years, it's time to retire Oregon's 'temporary'…

After 19 years, it's time to retire Oregon's 'temporary'…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
The 'pubic purpose charged' tacked on to power bills has been a boon to the Energy Trust of Oregon and a burden on consumers.
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 8, 2021

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 8, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our first letters stack of 2021 includes thoughts on unemployment benefits and the attempt to overturn the election.
Our Opinion: Thankfully, Oregon's delegation is safe

Our Opinion: Thankfully, Oregon's delegation is safe

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Anger is the chief emotion being expressed by our elected leaders and their staff after the Jan. 6 attack on democracy.
Our Opinion: A community, if we can afford it

Our Opinion: A community, if we can afford it

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Building more affordable housing helps lower-income residents and provides a foundation for the middle class.
From the Editor: Calling all club members!

From the Editor: Calling all club members!

South County Spotlight - Opinion
We'd like to give service clubs in South Columbia County a signal boost in the New Year.
OPINION: Let's ensure that Oregon's Grand Old Party remains…

OPINION: Let's ensure that Oregon's Grand Old Party remains…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
A former statewide candidate calls for unity, the pursuit of accountability and a focus on Oregonians' shared values.
A viewpoint on 2021

A viewpoint on 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Let's follow the science in the New Year and make it a better one than 2020.
Our Opinion: Toward a brighter future

Our Opinion: Toward a brighter future

South County Spotlight - Opinion
2020 is finally coming to an end, but its lessons will be with us for a long time to come.
A call to support Habitat for Humanity

A call to support Habitat for Humanity

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: One of a scant handful of Columbia County donors hopes more people will step up.
A few ideas for conserving energy this winter

A few ideas for conserving energy this winter

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Columbia River PUD general manager Michael J. Sykes suggests some ways to save on your electric bill.
Letters to the Editor: Christmas 2020

Letters to the Editor: Christmas 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Who says you can't open your presents early? Readers' letters from our Christmas issue.
ODOT turning 'blind eye' to public's wishes on tolling

ODOT turning 'blind eye' to public's wishes on tolling

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Bob Rubitschun: This is an abuse of government that our forefathers designed: of the people, by the people
OPINION: Educating the public is key to combatting COVID-19…

OPINION: Educating the public is key to combatting COVID-19…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Survey results show that our opinions divide not only along political labels and ZIP codes but also educational levels.
Our Opinion: A cause for hope

Our Opinion: A cause for hope

South County Spotlight - Opinion
The COVID-19 vaccine means there really, truly is light at the end of the tunnel.
Data shows Oregon fitness facilities can safely reopen

Data shows Oregon fitness facilities can safely reopen

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Gym co-owner: Our members, staff facing unemployment cannot wait much longer
OPINION: 'Tis the season, help us lift young people's voices

OPINION: 'Tis the season, help us lift young people's voices

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Your tax-deductible donation can help high school students flourish in two important ways
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 11, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 11, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
We hear from the Columbia County Cultural Coalition, Cascade Resilience LLC and a concerned reader.
From helplessness to hope

From helplessness to hope

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Faith and community guide people helping other people in the wake of Oregon's wildfires.
It's time to come to the aid of wildland firefighters

It's time to come to the aid of wildland firefighters

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: We know there's a problem, and we know the solution. We must do right by the people who defend us.
OPINION: Websites shouldn't leave visually impaired…

OPINION: Websites shouldn't leave visually impaired…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
'When I wake up every day, and am unable to participate in the things that my friends and acquaintances participate in, it can feel like I don't…
Our Opinion: Do what you can do

Our Opinion: Do what you can do

South County Spotlight - Opinion
The coronavirus pandemic is hitting Oregon hard, some places worse than others.
Pamplin Media folks have community collaboration right

Pamplin Media folks have community collaboration right

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Craig Holfeld and Jerry Herrmann: Businesses, citizens, nonprofits and service organizations all have a stake in good journalism
Lawmakers must extend the eviction moratorium to help…

Lawmakers must extend the eviction moratorium to help…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Gov. Brown needs to call a special session to extend protections that have helped countless senior citizens
Our Opinion: Let's stay connected this holiday season

Our Opinion: Let's stay connected this holiday season

South County Spotlight - Opinion
As the pandemic drags on, we should continue to avoid gatherings. But there are other ways to show people you care.
Let's preserve Oregon instead of paving over it

Let's preserve Oregon instead of paving over it

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: A Hillsboro tree tells the story of out-of-control development in the Beaver State.
Opinion: Legislation could do wonders to protect Oregon…

Opinion: Legislation could do wonders to protect Oregon…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
The Ocean Based Climate Solutions Act, already backed by Oregon Reps. Bonamici and Blumenauer, needs more support

This Thanksgiving, be grateful for newspapers

South County Spotlight - Opinion
This Thanksgiving, be grateful for newspapers
OPINION: There are lots of people to thank this year. Don't forget to thank journalists, too.

This Thanksgiving, too many Oregonians will be…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
This Thanksgiving, too many Oregonians will be…
OPINION: Census data show the problem, worse than during the Great Recession, hits Black and Latino residents particularly hard

Port Westward rezoning should move forward

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Port Westward rezoning should move forward
OPINION: The objections have been addressed, the upside is clear, and Columbia County is ready.

Letters to the Editor: Thanksgiving 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Thanksgiving 2020
This week of Thanksgiving, we're publishing our weekly readers' letters a few days early.

Shopping 'small' this holiday season is needed more…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Shopping 'small' this holiday season is needed more…
OPINION: The U.S. Small Business Administration urges you to do your shopping close to home.

Opinion: Winter is coming. People need shelter. We…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Opinion: Winter is coming. People need shelter. We…
The publicly owned Portland Expo Center, currently vacant, could temporarily shelter thousands of houseless residents.

Trimming the trees is more than just festive

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Trimming the trees is more than just festive
OPINION: You may need to actually have your trees professionally trimmed (as in, their branches cut.)

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 20, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 20, 2020
Readers opine on the post-election aftermath and the socially distanced Veterans Day event in Scappoose.

Protect animals during migration for the good of all

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Protect animals during migration for the good of all
OPINION: The Oregon Hunters Association has ideas for the state government to keep the ecosystem healthy.

Our Opinion: The case for optimistic caution

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: The case for optimistic caution
We have entered perhaps the most dangerous phase of the coronavirus pandemic yet, but the end is in sight.

Pamplin President: This Thanksgiving, we're…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Pamplin President: This Thanksgiving, we're…
In a year unlike any other, we could not have survived without subscriptions and donations from readers like you.

Don't scapegoat Oregon restaurants and bars for the…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Don't scapegoat Oregon restaurants and bars for the…
Few cases of the virus have been linked to the state's food and drink establishments, which provide a needed refuge

Our Opinion: A wild year and its wild weather

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: A wild year and its wild weather
We've got this, Columbia County. This winter looks like it'll be a tough one, but we have lots of practice.

OPINION: Oregon brewers can't afford a new state…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Oregon brewers can't afford a new state…
The last thing we need as small businesses dealing with a COVID-19 is an 800% tax increase on beer, wine and cider

OPINION: Want to reduce wildfires? Manage Oregon's…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Want to reduce wildfires? Manage Oregon's…
Salvage logging concerns are overblown given that legal challenges have halted most federal forest management

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 13, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 13, 2020
We hear from readers on sacrifice versus 'free stuff' and the value of vaccinations.

OPINION: U.S. Forest Service ignores public input…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: U.S. Forest Service ignores public input…
Local staff has disregarded calls for stronger protection of invaluable watersheds impacted by Zigzag Timber Sale.

Oregon's challenges are clear. But so is the path…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon's challenges are clear. But so is the path…
My View: Our divisions can be bridged with a foundation of inclusion built on trusted opinion research that's free from political agendas

Opinion: Churches should not put parishioners'…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Opinion: Churches should not put parishioners'…
Pastor urges Gov. Brown to tighten restrictions on faith-based gatherings as the Christmas season approaches.

Our Opinion: The end of an election

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: The end of an election
Coming together after a divisive campaign isn't easy, but we have to set the example for our leaders to follow.

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 6, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 6, 2020
Our readers' mailbag this week moves on from the contentious election season.

OPINION: Follow the science and limit clear cuts…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Follow the science and limit clear cuts…
Salvage logging further damages forests and sucks money from taxpayers' pockets to subsidize timber profits

OPINION: For our kids' sake, it's time to reopen…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: For our kids' sake, it's time to reopen…
The overall risk posed by COVID-19 is low in children but the lack of in-person school may cause other health problems

Our Opinion: This Halloween, put safety first

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: This Halloween, put safety first
We're not in a horror movie, so we can make responsible, potentially life-saving choices.

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 30, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 30, 2020
Our last readers' mailbag before Election Day features more than a dozen election-related letters.

This year, it's more than a vote

South County Spotlight - Opinion
This year, it's more than a vote
OPINION: Oregon Senate Majority Leader Rob Wagner says the stakes are too high to sit this election out.

Opinion: Why Oregon voters need to pick a new…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Opinion: Why Oregon voters need to pick a new…
After a rise in statewide crime and lawlessness, it's time to get the state back on the path to equality, justice and safety

OPINION M26-214: Reject tax for flawed preschool…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION M26-214: Reject tax for flawed preschool…
Multnomah County's unproven program would create an exodus of high-income earners and destabilize the tax base

OPINION: Oregon needs Shemia Fagan to ensure fair…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Oregon needs Shemia Fagan to ensure fair…
State's U.S Senators say a Democratic ally in the Oregon Secretary of State's office is key in this pivotal moment

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 23, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 23, 2020
Our penultimate pre-election mailbag includes letters about local, state and federal races.

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework