Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

OPINION: Oregon's vaccination program is a solid team effort

OPINION: Oregon's vaccination program is a solid team effort

South County Spotlight - Opinion
After a bumpy start, multiple public agencies, private health care organizations and non-profits are now working very well together
Rajput: Help our children understand, deal with climate…

Rajput: Help our children understand, deal with climate…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Dr. Shaili Rajput is a Portland pediatrician and parent. She has a master's degree in public health and is a climate advocate with the American…
Fagan: We're working hard to rebuild trust in our elections

Fagan: We're working hard to rebuild trust in our elections

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon's secretary of state says she's devoting my time and energy to rebuilding confidence in our elections.
Inan: Numbers honor Prince Philip's long life

Inan: Numbers honor Prince Philip's long life

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Aziz Inan is a professor teaching in the electrical engineering program of the Donald P. Shiley School of Engineering at University of Portland.
Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2021

Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
The Spotlight's mailbag includes letters about childcare, vaccine access, Portland Community College and more.
OPINION: An unlikely prescription for an unhealthy democracy

OPINION: An unlikely prescription for an unhealthy democracy

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Elections have become polarizing events, but survey research finds that Oregonians of all stripes are proud of the state's efforts to engage voters.
Our Opinion: Be considerate, get vaccinated and wait to…

Our Opinion: Be considerate, get vaccinated and wait to…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Columbia County is moving in the wrong direction. It will take everyone working together to get on the right track.
OPINION: The importance of high school sports in America

OPINION: The importance of high school sports in America

South County Spotlight - Opinion
David Lowe Cozad: 'High school sports touch every demographic of all generations.'
OPINION: Raising taxes on businesses is not the answer

OPINION: Raising taxes on businesses is not the answer

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Wayne Mayo: 'Raising corporate taxes won't provide an increase in tax receipts over time.'
Opinion: Oregon's struggling economy needs a long-term plan

Opinion: Oregon's struggling economy needs a long-term plan

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Tobias Read of Beaverton is Oregon state treasurer. He argues that the state can catapult out of the pandemic stronger than before.
Opinion: Cheers! Raise your beer stein to hops and natural…

Opinion: Cheers! Raise your beer stein to hops and natural…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Douglas Weathers is president of Sodbuster Farms Inc. in Marion County. He says natural gas is vital to his hop farm's future.
Opinion: Oregon can again lead nation on Equity Act

Opinion: Oregon can again lead nation on Equity Act

South County Spotlight - Opinion
John Hummel of Bend is the Deschutes County district attorney. He wants Oregon's Congressional delegation to lead on a national LGBTQ issue.
Opinion: Lawmakers can't take a shortcut to better eye…

Opinion: Lawmakers can't take a shortcut to better eye…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Dr. Robert Bentley is a Portland ophthalmologist with more than 30 years of experience.
COLUMN: Leaning into spring

COLUMN: Leaning into spring

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon State's Chip Bubl gives gardening tips for Columbia County residents, with or without a green thumb.
OPINION: Legislators who walk out aren't doing their jobs

OPINION: Legislators who walk out aren't doing their jobs

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Dave Coburn: 'Their oath of office swears them to upholding the constitution and doing their duty.'
Letters to the Editor: April 2, 2021

Letters to the Editor: April 2, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
The Spotlight's readers write in this week about gun violence and pandemic accommodations.
COLUMN: Safe tree planting this spring

COLUMN: Safe tree planting this spring

South County Spotlight - Opinion
'If you are able to avoid planting trees near power lines, we are one step closer to maintaining a safe electric system.'
Opinion: Legislation vital to advancing equity in…

Opinion: Legislation vital to advancing equity in…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Ashton Simpson is executive director of Oregon Walks. Cameron Whitten is an equity advocate and nonprofit executive.
Opinion: Let's put power in Oregonians' hands to prevent…

Opinion: Let's put power in Oregonians' hands to prevent…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
State Rep. Rachel Prusak represents House District 37 in parts of Clackamas and Washington counties.
Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2021

Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our weekly mailbag includes letters about trade policy and Oregon's dairy farms.
Opinion: Want to help Oregon landlords? Don't approve tax…

Opinion: Want to help Oregon landlords? Don't approve tax…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Daniel Hauser is with the Oregon Center for Public Policy. He argues that Oregon's SB 330 would not provide the right aid to struggling landlords.
OPINION: Sharing your views will help shape our state

OPINION: Sharing your views will help shape our state

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon Values & Beliefs Center values opinions enough to reward those who participate in their monthly panels.
OPINION: Republicans must stop saving Democrats from…

OPINION: Republicans must stop saving Democrats from…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Evan Bryan: 'I am alarmed the politics behind the walkouts are still occurring during a pandemic.'
OPINION: Five things to know about Oregon farms

OPINION: Five things to know about Oregon farms

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Anne Marie Moss: 'I'd like to share a few things I've learned while working for Oregon Farm Bureau since 2004.'
Opinion: Our children deserve a breath of fresh air

Opinion: Our children deserve a breath of fresh air

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Part of returning children to the classroom involves making sure those schools are healthy for all students.
OPINION: Renters need more time to pay back rent

OPINION: Renters need more time to pay back rent

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Ruhiyyih Bagley: 'I am deeply concerned that I will not be able to get current on my rent in time...'
Opinion: Oregon searches for a coherent drug policy

Opinion: Oregon searches for a coherent drug policy

South County Spotlight - Opinion
John A. Charles Jr. is president and CEO of Portland's Cascade Policy Institute, Oregon's free market public policy research organization. He can be…
Opinion: Beer, wine taxes should invest in hope, recovery

Opinion: Beer, wine taxes should invest in hope, recovery

South County Spotlight - Opinion
State. Rep. Tawna Sanchez represents North/Northeast Portland's House District 43.
OPINION: Congress should dump dams

OPINION: Congress should dump dams

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Rocky Barker: 'If he's serious about environmental justice, (President Joe Biden) should get on board, too.'
OPINION: It’s time to give voice to the values that unite…

OPINION: It’s time to give voice to the values that unite…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon Values & Voices project will pair unbiased research with independent reporting to inform Oregonians working to build stronger communities…

Opinion: Oregon should break the waste cycle

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Opinion: Oregon should break the waste cycle
Celeste Meiffren-Swango of Southeast Portland is state director for Environment Oregon.

Readers' Letters: Support safe streets through bike…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Readers' Letters: Support safe streets through bike…
Local readers sound off on issues like bicycle safety, saving Oregon's dairy farms and preventing youth suicide through gun safety.

Our Opinion: Honor what unites us

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Honor what unites us
There are good reasons to designate U.S. Highway 30 as the Oregon Veterans Memorial Highway.

OPINION: You can't have democracy without a free…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: You can't have democracy without a free…
Gene Policinski: 'The guarantee that a press is free does not guarantee ... that we will like what it presents.'

Letters to the Editor: March 11, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 11, 2021
Readers write in to defend clean energy, call for more Alzheimer's research and criticize the vaccine rollout.

Our Opinion: Kate Brown's photo op subtracts a…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Kate Brown's photo op subtracts a…
Showing public confidence in COVID-19 vaccines is good. Cutting the line to get vaccinated in Scappoose isn't.

OPINION: Take spring cleaning to heart, and mind

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Take spring cleaning to heart, and mind
Dani Sticka: 'I encourage you to begin clearing the mental clutter alongside the physical clutter.'

OPINION: Sustainable forestry should not be attacked

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Sustainable forestry should not be attacked
Paul Nys: 'In my mind, this is a contract with the state ... To unilaterally impose more taxes is unacceptable.'

From the Editor: Sports are back, but we need your…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
From the Editor: Sports are back, but we need your…
Pamplin Media Group prep sports editor Miles Vance explains how we will cover sports in 2021.

Letters to the Editor: March 5, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 5, 2021
Bill Eagle wants a new police station in St. Helens, and Charles Felton celebrates George Washington.

Opinion: New timber taxes would scuttle economic…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Opinion: New timber taxes would scuttle economic…
Jenny Johnson of Astoria is a forester who advocates for sustainable forest management.

OPINION: A misleading portrayal of power failures…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: A misleading portrayal of power failures…
Kevin M. Green: 'It is false to suggest that renewable energy cannot provide the majority of our needs.'

Opinion: Oregon journalists confront threats to all…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Opinion: Oregon journalists confront threats to all…
Ellen Osoinach is the Local Legal Initiative attorney in Oregon for the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press.

OPINION: Who cares about public notices? You should

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Who cares about public notices? You should
Dean Ridings: 'It's in the public's interest to be able to monitor and provide input into such activities.'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 26, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 26, 2021
We share letters responding to the police station project in St. Helens and a partisan political shift.

OPINION: You can help add carbon-free energy in the…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: You can help add carbon-free energy in the…
Michael J. Sykes: 'Our wind program helps continue the region's effort to generate more carbon-free energy...'

OPINION: Oregon needs a robust portfolio of energy…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Oregon needs a robust portfolio of energy…
Rachel Dawson: 'Our region needs ... sufficient supply when renewable resources fail to produce electricity.'

My View: It is time to reconsider Oregon’s timber…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
My View: It is time to reconsider Oregon’s timber…
Regan Fisher is a Southeast Portland resident. She argues that state towns and cities should reap the benefits of timber harvests.

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 19, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 19, 2021
This week's mailbag features letters about political polarization and support for small businesses.

Our Opinion: Remember the 'golden rule'

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Remember the 'golden rule'
As some (but not all) kindergarteners return to classrooms, we should bear in mind a kindergarten teaching.

Our Opinion: Remember the three P's

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Remember the three P's
The aggravation of more adverse weather hammers home the need for preparedness, prudence and patience.

OPINION: Climate protection can't exclude Oregon's…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Climate protection can't exclude Oregon's…
My generation needs Gov. Brown to get serious about getting all the state's polluters to clean up their acts. And do so before 2050

Sexton: A warning from a self-described 'gun nut'

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Sexton: A warning from a self-described 'gun nut'
'...When the patriots start to lose gun nuts like me, they teeter on the brink of irrelevance.'

Estep: Vaccines should go to those who need them

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Estep: Vaccines should go to those who need them
'The political clout of public servants should not hold our most vulnerable at risk for their own self-interest.'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 5, 2021

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 5, 2021
Our weekly mailbag includes letters on the presidential inauguration and the St. Helens police station project.

Our Opinion: Untenable situation in Columbia County…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Untenable situation in Columbia County…
Judge Cathleen Callahan has ducked questions about her health and lost the truth of her colleagues.

OPINION: Leadership revealed at Pamplin Media Group

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Leadership revealed at Pamplin Media Group
Rivers of Life Center president says PMG newspapers owner has long history of charitable giving, community support.

Witt: A way to vaccinate people more quickly

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Witt: A way to vaccinate people more quickly
Columbia County's state representative details one of the bills he will be working on this year.

Bubl: Starting new garden beds

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Bubl: Starting new garden beds
Advice from Columbia County's OSU Extension Service agent on how to nurture your green thumb.

Pozdena: Vaccination plan discriminates against…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Pozdena: Vaccination plan discriminates against…
'There are already almost 100,000 fewer men than women in the senior cohorts in Oregon.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework