Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 23, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 23, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our penultimate pre-election mailbag includes letters about local, state and federal races.
OPINION: Oregon needs Shemia Fagan to ensure fair elections

OPINION: Oregon needs Shemia Fagan to ensure fair elections

South County Spotlight - Opinion
State's U.S Senators say a Democratic ally in the Oregon Secretary of State's office is key in this pivotal moment
OPINION: As your Secretary of State, I will fight for…

OPINION: As your Secretary of State, I will fight for…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
I know what it's like to struggle and am running to ensure fairness, integrity and accountability for every Oregonian
OPINION: We need an  Secretary of State who focuses on…

OPINION: We need an Secretary of State who focuses on…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
I will continue the legacy of the late Dennis Richardson and be an independent check on areas of state government that aren't serving the people of…
Opinion: Why I hope to serve again as the 'People's…

Opinion: Why I hope to serve again as the 'People's…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
We need an experienced Attorney General to help the state respond to the pandemic, racial injustice and federal overreach
Pamplin President: Let us show you our thanks with a…

Pamplin President: Let us show you our thanks with a…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
This month, we're offering a 50% discount to new subscribers to our newspapers and websites.
Follow data, and common sense, on reopening schools

Follow data, and common sense, on reopening schools

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: We are doing a disservice to our children by continuing with remote learning only.
OPINION: If reelected as treasurer, I'll stay focused on…

OPINION: If reelected as treasurer, I'll stay focused on…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Over the past four years, Oregon's investments have kept our ranking as one of the top-performing states in the country
OPINION: Demanding times require a new state treasurer, one…

OPINION: Demanding times require a new state treasurer, one…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
We need a treasurer who addresses Oregon's fiscal challenges and directly confronts difficult policy implications
Consider alternatives to plastic

Consider alternatives to plastic

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: Microplastics are a serious health hazard and widespread environmental contaminant. We must do better.
Our Opinion: Bad apples at the Columbia County Courthouse

Our Opinion: Bad apples at the Columbia County Courthouse

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Complaints that have come to light against two high-level county officials paint a negative picture.
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 16, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 16, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Readers defend a judge from accusations, offer candidate endorsements and more.
We should strive for social justice

We should strive for social justice

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: A Forest Grove combat veteran says he has come to understand the importance of addressing equity.
OPINION M107: Connections, money shouldn't limit election…

OPINION M107: Connections, money shouldn't limit election…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Vote 'yes' on Measure 107. Democracy should allow more women, people of color and immigrants to win public office
OPINION M110:  Don't take away addicts' incentive for…

OPINION M110: Don't take away addicts' incentive for…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Vote 'no' on Measure 110. Let the Oregon Legislature continue its success in crafting true criminal justice reforms.
Tips for spotting scams this election season

Tips for spotting scams this election season

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: The Better Business Bureau provides advice on keeping your money and personal information to yourself.
OPINION M110: People battling addiction need treatment, not…

OPINION M110: People battling addiction need treatment, not…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Vote 'yes' on Measure 110. As a nurse recovering from addiction, I want others to have access to the services I had
OPINION M109: When treatment failed, psilocybin saved my…

OPINION M109: When treatment failed, psilocybin saved my…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Vote 'yes' Measure 109. Unlike pharmaceuticals, psilocybin is a natural non-toxic compound and non-addictive.
OPINION M107: Campaign 'fix' would limit voters' rights.…

OPINION M107: Campaign 'fix' would limit voters' rights.…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Secretary of State candidate says M107 won't curb government officials, only take away political speech.
Oregon Farm Bureau: Recognizing National Farmers Day

Oregon Farm Bureau: Recognizing National Farmers Day

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Farmers, ranchers, ag industry are the backbone of modern society; stepped up amid Oregon wildfires
Support a responsible approach to treatment and therapy

Support a responsible approach to treatment and therapy

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: A retired Hillsboro police lieutenant explains why he supports Ballot Measure 109.
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 9, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 9, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Readers weigh in on the upcoming local elections, the first presidential debate and more.
Our Opinion: A spark of joy

Our Opinion: A spark of joy

South County Spotlight - Opinion
It's been a tough year, and we face an uncertain future. Small acts of kindness can mean a lot.
Making accommodations for the sake of voters and candidates

Making accommodations for the sake of voters and candidates

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: President Donald Trump struggles to listen and not interrupt. He needs help with that.
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 2, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 2, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
This week, readers weigh in on the House race, distance learning and the state of American democracy.
Our Opinion: Season's change could be hard on local…

Our Opinion: Season's change could be hard on local…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
As outdoor dining winds down, make sure to continue supporting restaurants and stores.
Baby Yoda spreads love amid wildfires, political divide

Baby Yoda spreads love amid wildfires, political divide

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Former Clackamas County resident Nan Collie hopes Carver's next stop is the White House
Who is on the ballot this fall?

Who is on the ballot this fall?

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: There's more at stake in this November election than Candidate A versus Candidate B.
'Most Favored Nation' pricing harms Oregonians with…

'Most Favored Nation' pricing harms Oregonians with…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
OPINION: No one should have to worry about whether a doctor will treat you when you're sick, just because you have a disability
Our Opinion: What if it happened here?

Our Opinion: What if it happened here?

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Wildfires have largely spared Columbia County this year, despite a very active fire season. We're fortunate.

Oregon's Tobias Read has learned from Three Little…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon's Tobias Read has learned from Three Little…
Damascus resident Dr. Carl B. Anderson endorses reelection of state treasurer

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 25, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 25, 2020
The mailbag for the week includes criticism of Scappoose schools and support for Hispanic Heritage Month.

Fight for equality continues 30 years after…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Fight for equality continues 30 years after…
OPINION: The ADA is great, but my personal experience shows enforcement is key to curbing discrimination in Oregon

We need more affordable housing, for all of us

South County Spotlight - Opinion
We need more affordable housing, for all of us
OPINION: We cannot allow the gap between the wages and the cost of living to get too large.

Measure 110 can change (and save) lives

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Measure 110 can change (and save) lives
OPINION: We need to treat addiction like the sickness it is, rather than as a crime.

Achieving equity: Oregon students deserve a…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Achieving equity: Oregon students deserve a…
OPINION: If public schools can't provide a full day of instruction, parents should get a refund and explore other options

Addiction is a health issue that deserves a…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Addiction is a health issue that deserves a…
Opinion: As medical providers we know incarceration doesn't equal treatment. That's why we're voting 'yes' on Measure 110.

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 18, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 18, 2020
Readers respond to recent opinion pieces, share good news on Toy N Joy, and weigh in on the election.

Our Opinion: Swift action needed to address Oregon…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Swift action needed to address Oregon…
Global warming is here and the effects are devastating, but good policy can mitigate the dire consequences.

Put Oregon's youth on a healthier path with Measure…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Put Oregon's youth on a healthier path with Measure…
OPINION: We know that the tobacco industry targets youth. We need to act to curb youth vaping.

Anyone can help during disasters, train as CERT…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Anyone can help during disasters, train as CERT…
Citizen volunteers in Community Emergency Response Teams busy during wildfire evacuations.

Invest in your disaster preparedness plan

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Invest in your disaster preparedness plan
OPINION: Better Business Bureau recommends important steps to be ready when, not if, disaster strikes.

Random acts of kindness, and don't forget the coffee

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Random acts of kindness, and don't forget the coffee
OPINION: Chop Chop Chicken Sundaes food truck provides free meals for evacuees and law enforcement during fires.

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 11, 2020

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 11, 2020
Readers write in about political strategies, the postal service and candidates for office.

They're petitioners, not protesters

South County Spotlight - Opinion
They're petitioners, not protesters
OPINION: Demonstrators are exercising a right guaranteed to all of us by the First Amendment.

Our Opinion: Extreme weather and disease won't just…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Extreme weather and disease won't just…
The challenges vexing us now are challenges we will likely have to continue to deal with as our world changes.

Oregon climate change order should focus on carbon…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Oregon climate change order should focus on carbon…
OPINION: Farmers and foresters can play a big role in curbing global warming if the state supports their efforts

Psilocybin therapy could help Oregonians who suffer…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Psilocybin therapy could help Oregonians who suffer…
OPINION: It's time to shed the stigma over mental health and expolore this 'breakthrough' therapy

Restricting Oregon's stable supply of hydropower…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Restricting Oregon's stable supply of hydropower…
OPINION: Flexible spills, not dam breaching, is the best way to protect the region's fish populations

Simple, everyday actions can help preserve Oregon's…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Simple, everyday actions can help preserve Oregon's…
OPINION: What my Mexican grandma taught me about conservation (Hint: it involves Tupperware)

Our Opinion: Back to school...well, sort of

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Our Opinion: Back to school...well, sort of
It's a bizarre start to the school year, but we know better days lie ahead. Let's all stay safe and make the most of it.

Alberta Alive could answer Black veterans' housing…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Alberta Alive could answer Black veterans' housing…
Guest opinion: America needs to do better by Black veterans and providing affordable housing would be one solution.

Habig: Lessons learned from prostate cancer

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Habig: Lessons learned from prostate cancer
'Procrastination can kill. Take action soon so that you may offer love and support to those around you...'

Maygra: An open letter to Columbia 9-1-1 district…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Maygra: An open letter to Columbia 9-1-1 district…
'The public has a right to listen to a work session, a committee meeting or whatever name you have labeled the meeting.'

Smith & Hayes: Climate change order should focus on…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Smith & Hayes: Climate change order should focus on…
'Rulemaking in the Department of Forestry could go a long way to sustaining our forests...'

DiMarco: It's time to restore national service

South County Spotlight - Opinion
DiMarco: It's time to restore national service
'...We will be restoring the broken connection younger generations have with America.'

Pamplin President: Essential workers keep us…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Pamplin President: Essential workers keep us…
This Labor Day brings the value of workers into sharp focus. Thank you for all you do.

Mayo: It's time to stop the ongoing riots

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Mayo: It's time to stop the ongoing riots
'Bring in the National Guard and quell this anarchy. Put teeth into the penalties. Charge criminals.'

Dudzic: It's time to address racial equality,…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Dudzic: It's time to address racial equality,…
'We need to put our community first and we need leaders who are ready to meet this moment head on.'

Turner: Appalled by leftward move of Democratic…

South County Spotlight - Opinion
Turner: Appalled by leftward move of Democratic…
'Why isn't Biden talking of his (the DNC-approved) policies? Has he actually read them?'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework