Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The annual awards show begins releasing the names of its 2020 winners on Monday, May 18

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - University of Oregon senior Sabrina Ionescu is one of three finalists for the Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year as presented by the Oregon Sports Awards.Today is the day.

After months of anticipation and waiting, the winners of the 2020 Oregon Sports Awards will begin being announced Monday, May 18.

The awards will be shared daily beginning Monday and continuing through May 29 on NBC Sports Northwest and Rip City Radio's The Brian Noe Show on 620AM. The exclusive announcements take the place of the annual live event, which was canceled in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

Due to the cancellation of spring prep and college sports, and the suspension of professional sports in response to Covid-19, the awards list has been modified from previous years. Spring prep sports awards and the Harry Glickman Award honoring an outstanding professional athlete of the year have been eliminated for 2020. Twenty-one awards will be presented on-air, including the first-ever Female Prep Wrestler of the Year award as well as the Lou Burge Female Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.

Finalists were nominated and selected through a statewide voting panel consisting of local TV, radio and sports journalists, and respected sports professionals. To learn more about the vote, the event's history and each individual award, visit the event website at

The 2020 Oregon Sports Awards categories and finalists are:

Prep Football Player of the Year: Keith Brown, Lebanon; Damir Collins, Jefferson; Casey Filkins, Lake Oswego; Silas Starr, Central Catholic.

Prep Volleyball Player of the Year: Ryann Gregg, Corvallis; Rylee Troutman, Ridgeview; Izzi Szulczewski, Mountainside.

Prep Soccer Player of the Year (Female): Lindsey Antonson, Wilsonville; Callan Harrington, Jesuit; Nedya Sawan, Mountainside.

Prep Soccer Player of the Year (Male): Edgar Monroy, Corvallis; Carlos Reyes-Aviles, South Albany; Vincent Rose, Franklin.

Prep Cross-Country Runner of the Year (Female): Teaghan Knox, Summit; Fiona Max, Summit; Kate Peters, Lake Oswego.

Prep Cross-Country Runner of the Year (Male): Evan Holland, Ashland; Ahmed Ibrahim, Parkrose; Aidan Palmer, Franklin.

Prep Wrestler of the Year (Female): Fiona McConnell, Milwaukie; Destiny Rodriguez, West Linn; Nimo Sheikh, Century.

Prep Wrestler of the Year (Male): Santos Cantu, Crescent Valley; Blake Larsen, Dayton; Beau Ohlson, Mountain View.

Prep Basketball Player of the Year (Female): Cameron Brink, Mountainside; Sage Kramer, Philomath; McKelle Meek, Southridge.

Prep Basketball Player of the Year (Male): Nathan Bittle, Crater; Ben Gregg, Clackamas; Nate Rawlings-Kibonge, Jefferson.

Prep Swimmer of the Year (Female): Eva Carlson, Catlin Gabel; Elizabeth Cook, Catlin Gabel; Kaitlyn Dobler, Aloha.

Prep Swimmer of the Year (Male): Luke Bachard, Newport; Caden Shanks, Newport; Nick Simons, Jesuit.

Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Female): Kory Oleson, Linfield College; Amelia Pullen, Warner Pacific University; Taylor Ristvedt, Southern Oregon University.

Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year (Male): Mitchell Fink, Oregon Technical Institute; Joseph Gonzalez, Western Oregon University; Mason Koch, George Fox University; Wyatt Smith, Linfield College.

Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year (Female): Ruthy Hebard, University of Oregon; Sabrina Ionescu, University of Oregon; Satou Sabally, University of Oregon.

Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year (Male): Justin Herbert, University of Oregon; Payton Pritchard, University of Oregon; Penei Sewell, University of Oregon.

Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year: Mario Cristobal, University of Oregon; Arne Ferguson, Western Oregon University; Kelly Graves, University of Oregon; Josh Rohlfing, Southern Oregon University.

Find daily updates, audience engagement opportunities, and awards content at @ORSportsAwards and @NBCSNorthwest on Twitter and Instagram.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework