Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Our Opinion: Primary is prologue in many local races

Our Opinion: Primary is prologue in many local races

The Times - Opinion
It'll be November before we know the full outcome of the 2020 election season, even in local government.
Wagner: A time of challenges, transitions and potential

Wagner: A time of challenges, transitions and potential

The Times - Opinion
'This last week, my Democratic colleagues in the Senate elected me to serve as the Senate majority leader.'
Kane: BBB sees sharp uptick in price gouging reports

Kane: BBB sees sharp uptick in price gouging reports

The Times - Opinion
'Refrain from taking unfair advantage of a public emergency such as the coronavirus situation.'
Letters to the Editor: May 28, 2020

Letters to the Editor: May 28, 2020

The Times - Opinion
It was apparently Poetry Week on Portland's Westside; plus thoughts on jurisprudence, disease and volunteerism.
Pang: It's nice to be outside, but still better to stay…

Pang: It's nice to be outside, but still better to stay…

The Times - Opinion
'...I realize this may be difficult for people as the weather has gotten nicer.'
Nordberg & Field: Economic lifeline to rural healthcare…

Nordberg & Field: Economic lifeline to rural healthcare…

The Times - Opinion
'...America's hospitals and businesses have the grit and tenacity that make them strong.'
Moore: Connect your kids to class with financial literacy

Moore: Connect your kids to class with financial literacy

The Times - Opinion
'Take advantage of this time at home to teach your kids how to make smart financial decisions.'
Letters to the Editor: May 21, 2020

Letters to the Editor: May 21, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers share their feelings about mail-in voting, Washington County's reopening and more.
Our Opinion: Elections are funny, important things

Our Opinion: Elections are funny, important things

The Times - Opinion
Tuesday's results have some surprises and some cliffhangers. Mostly, we're glad Oregonians got to have their say.
Housing isn't optional, and we understand safety concerns

Housing isn't optional, and we understand safety concerns

The Times - Opinion
Susan Liston: Thank you to all those who voted to help homeless people in the Metro area
Our Opinion: A new stage in our fight against the…

Our Opinion: A new stage in our fight against the…

The Times - Opinion
We have not beaten this disease. We will need to be cautious, and very patient, as we adapt to a 'new normal.'
Hillsboro City Council: Acting together to stop…

Hillsboro City Council: Acting together to stop…

The Times - Opinion
'If we do not acknowledge, put name to, and directly address racism ... we will continue to perpetuate inequality.'
San Soucie: Charter gives insurance for Beaverton's future

San Soucie: Charter gives insurance for Beaverton's future

The Times - Opinion
'Council-manager is a very typical structure ... This puts you, the voter, more in control, not less.'
Pettit: Why you should vote in the primary election

Pettit: Why you should vote in the primary election

The Times - Opinion
'The current coronavirus crisis has made the need for good government abundantly clear.'
Rogers: Cancer doesn’t stop, but neither do we

Rogers: Cancer doesn’t stop, but neither do we

The Times - Opinion
'We are deeply concerned about the spread of COVID-19 and its impact on cancer patients...'
Kertis: Virus shows addiction stigma still exists

Kertis: Virus shows addiction stigma still exists

The Times - Opinion
'It's so ingrained in society that we still punish drug possession with jail time rather than treatment.'
Letters to the Editor (part one): May 14, 2020

Letters to the Editor (part one): May 14, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers have their say in our final mailbag before the May 19, 2020, primary election.
Letters to the Editor (part 2): May 14, 2020

Letters to the Editor (part 2): May 14, 2020

The Times - Opinion
We received so many letters from area readers before our Monday morning deadline, we have a second stack of them here.
Readers Letters: Who's hoarding all those garbanzo beans?

Readers Letters: Who's hoarding all those garbanzo beans?

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Letter writers from around the region take aim at COVID-19 pandemic, elections, candidate endorsements and, of course, hoarding.
ENDORSEMENT: Vote 'no' on Metro homeless measure

ENDORSEMENT: Vote 'no' on Metro homeless measure

The Times - Opinion
Thanks to the pandemic, the timing couldn't be more wrong to raise taxes on individuals and businesses.
Prusak: A look inside one nurse's 'new normal'

Prusak: A look inside one nurse's 'new normal'

The Times - Opinion
'It was an entirely different patient care experience than I have ever encountered.'
Nunn: Support Tigard police with 'yes' vote on safety…

Nunn: Support Tigard police with 'yes' vote on safety…

The Times - Opinion
'With our current times ... the men and women of the Tigard Police Department are hard at work.'
Botteri: Magical thinking in Beaverton charter change…

Botteri: Magical thinking in Beaverton charter change…

The Times - Opinion
'This proposal comes on the voters with little public discussion and without discernable public support.'
Letters to the Editor: May 7, 2020

Letters to the Editor: May 7, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers write in about election issues and candidates, the pandemic, and protests.
The Times needs your support. GIVE TODAY

The Times needs your support. GIVE TODAY

The Times - Opinion
Tax-deductible donations made to The Times will help us continue telling these important stories.
COLUMN: Readers, tell us about your kid cook!

COLUMN: Readers, tell us about your kid cook!

The Times - Opinion
Our new 'Summer Fun at Home' magazine looks to showcase young chefs and their favorite recipes!
ENDORSEMENT: Beaverton voters should stay the course

ENDORSEMENT: Beaverton voters should stay the course

The Times - Opinion
We back Denny Doyle. His re-election means stability and strong leadership for Beaverton at a difficult juncture.
Darrah: Unfair taxes put local business under at a time of…

Darrah: Unfair taxes put local business under at a time of…

The Times - Opinion
'Our locally owned independent business is now just another statistic ... strangled by unreasonable new taxes.'
Letters to the Editor: April 30, 2020

Letters to the Editor: April 30, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Our mailbag this week is filled with political letters and advice for giving back.
Our Opinion: This is not the end of all things, pass it on

Our Opinion: This is not the end of all things, pass it on

The Times - Opinion
Times now are difficult to take. Make sure to counter all of the bad news with reminders of positivity and hope.

Greathouse: In times of crisis, I see you

The Times - Opinion
Greathouse: In times of crisis, I see you
'Greeting one another is the first step in human connection, even between strangers and passersby.'

Snider: Open letter to the Tigard community about…

The Times - Opinion
Snider: Open letter to the Tigard community about…
'It is even more critical now that we have an adequate and well-trained police force to keep our community safe.'

Truax: Forest Grove responds to the coronavirus

The Times - Opinion
Truax: Forest Grove responds to the coronavirus
'...We have changed the way we do things in Forest Grove as well as the rest of Oregon.'

Letters to the Editor: April 23, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: April 23, 2020
Readers write in about the May elections, inappropriate pandemic behavior and more.

Garber: We need your help to tell important stories

The Times - Opinion
Garber: We need your help to tell important stories
PRESIDENT'S COLUMN: Doing journalism takes time, effort and money. Now there is a new way to support us in that mission.

Our Opinion: Patience is key in this pandemic

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Patience is key in this pandemic
Social distancing is unpleasant, and it's really bad for the economy. But it'll be with us a while longer.

Kane: Expect stimulus check scams to rise

The Times - Opinion
Kane: Expect stimulus check scams to rise
'People are looking to the newly passed stimulus bill to bring some relief. ... When crisis strikes, scammers thrive.'

Burton: How to stay healthy while you stay at home

The Times - Opinion
Burton: How to stay healthy while you stay at home
'You can absolutely work up a sweat from your house without equipment ... you just have to get creative.'

Dawson: A reliable grid is needed now more than ever

The Times - Opinion
Dawson: A reliable grid is needed now more than ever
'If communities in Oregon were to face a major electricity blackout ... the state would be paralyzed.'

Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2020
Readers urge caution before easing up on social distancing and make their opinions known on the May election.

Seifert: Doctor's detective work into past mass…

The Times - Opinion
Seifert: Doctor's detective work into past mass…
'Perhaps the lessons of this one will help us better respond to the next. One thing is certain: There will be a next one.'

Baptista: A reflection on 'underlying conditions'

The Times - Opinion
Baptista: A reflection on 'underlying conditions'
'While useful and objective, this type of language does not begin to capture the underlying human tragedy.'

Ahl: Now it's war against the virus

The Times - Opinion
Ahl: Now it's war against the virus
'This war is different in that we are dealing with an invisible enemy, but we still need to do what we have to.'

Lichtenstein: Growers adapt, give back during…

The Times - Opinion
Lichtenstein: Growers adapt, give back during…
'Some vendors ... chose to donate because generosity is an important value to them.'

Letters to the Editor: April 9, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: April 9, 2020
Readers are frustrated with the COVID-19 response, thankful for generosity and looking ahead to the May election.

Our Opinion: Washington County levies aren't too…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Washington County levies aren't too…
Even amid the uncertainty of our economic shutdown, these are essential services.

Byrd: Support new approach to battling addiction

The Times - Opinion
Byrd: Support new approach to battling addiction
'While it can't erase the inequities I have encountered, it will help stop them in the future.'

Zimmerman: Responding to pandemic requires all of…

The Times - Opinion
Zimmerman: Responding to pandemic requires all of…
'During these times of economic uncertainty, one constant is the safety of your money in Oregon's banks.'

Letters to the Editor: April 2, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: April 2, 2020
COVID-19 is on readers' minds. They write in about varying aspects of the crisis.

Our Opinion: Ad campaign offers some tough love,…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Ad campaign offers some tough love,…
The new series of Wieden+Kennedy ads on COVID-19 have been controversial. But it's a message we have to take to heart.

Evanson: Anyone for hopscotch?

The Times - Opinion
Evanson: Anyone for hopscotch?
Isolation is changing the way people entertain themselves, maybe even for the better.

From the Editor: New presentation, same commitment…

The Times - Opinion
From the Editor: New presentation, same commitment…
Mark Miller explains the temporary changes coming to the weekly print edition, starting this Thursday.

Our Opinion: Beaverton voters should reject cynical…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Beaverton voters should reject cynical…
It does too much, too fast, for no clear reason, making an end-run around the mayoral election in the process.

Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2020
This week, readers from Tualatin give their perspective on responses to the coronavirus pandemic.

Our Opinion: Take social distancing seriously

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Take social distancing seriously
Not everyone can stay home, but those who can should in order to reduce transmission of the coronavirus.

Ashraf: A year later, attacks on Muslims continue

The Times - Opinion
Ashraf: A year later, attacks on Muslims continue
'It didn't even happen to us, but we were witness. A piece of our shared identity was targeted that day in New Zealand.'

Letters to the Editor: March 19, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 19, 2020
This week's letters include: a critique of billionaires, support for the Washington County sheriff and more.

Kelly: Clinging to facts, not fear, in this age of…

The Times - Opinion
Kelly: Clinging to facts, not fear, in this age of…
'You don't get to be my age ... without making some peace with the idea of dying.'

Disruption from virus won't stop our quality…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Disruption from virus won't stop our quality…
Mark Garber is publisher of the Portland Tribune and president of Pamplin Media Group. You can reach him at [email protected]

Kane: Be prepared for coronavirus cons

The Times - Opinion
Kane: Be prepared for coronavirus cons
'With items selling out and production on others halted, scammers and opportunists are looking to cash in.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

special edition flipbookspecial edition flipbook

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework