Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Our Opinion: Spend enough to get light rail right

Our Opinion: Spend enough to get light rail right

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
It's a good thing that regional planners have backed off an idea to reduce lane capacity on Highway 99W.
Cordie: A new look and feel for Sherwood School District

Cordie: A new look and feel for Sherwood School District

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'It is essential to hear from as many voices as possible during this process.'
González & Chase: Use construction boom to boost diversity

González & Chase: Use construction boom to boost diversity

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Construction is one of the few industries that can provide a family-sustaining career without a college degree.'
Adams: Legislature peddles harmful fix to housing insecurity

Adams: Legislature peddles harmful fix to housing insecurity

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'What the state Legislature has done this year with House Bill 2001 indefensibly violates local zoning.'
Gallagher: A father he never knew

Gallagher: A father he never knew

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'He tells a story that sounds like it could be right out of the novel/miniseries 'Winds of War.''
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2019

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our mailbag includes letters about impeaching President Donald Trump and the benefits of climate action.
Prusak: Correcting the record on middle housing

Prusak: Correcting the record on middle housing

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Ensuring our communities have adequate housing is too important for us to ignore or fight against.'
Burton: Breakfast, the most important meal of the day

Burton: Breakfast, the most important meal of the day

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'The difficulty is in finding ways to eat a healthier breakfast and doing it consistently.'
Riddle: Surprise medical bills hit some harder

Riddle: Surprise medical bills hit some harder

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Surprise medical bills ... can be a major driver in the creation of a medical debt burden.'
Our Opinion: Be a smart and safe driver

Our Opinion: Be a smart and safe driver

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
This Halloween, whether you're driving or trick-or-treating, make safety a priority.
ENDORSEMENT: Natural areas need voters' support

ENDORSEMENT: Natural areas need voters' support

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Metro is an awkward, maybe even overstuffed bureaucracy. But Measure 26-203 does good things. We recommend a yes vote.
Bonilla: Building awareness of the monsters in cyberspace

Bonilla: Building awareness of the monsters in cyberspace

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Cybercrime can be frightful, and everyone -- including your children -- can fall victim.'
Fast: Have your say on equitable transportation in Aloha

Fast: Have your say on equitable transportation in Aloha

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Mode shift alone can add capacity, since bicycles are smaller than cars, and buses hold many more people...'
Reynolds & Turnock: Bipartisan hope emerging on climate…

Reynolds & Turnock: Bipartisan hope emerging on climate…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Carbon pricing that includes a revenue return to Americans has four-to-one support among all voters.'
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 24, 2019

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 24, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our weekly mailbag features brief thoughts on Greta Thunberg and the Cascade Policy Institute.
Our Opinion: Highway 99W needs to be enhanced, not strangled

Our Opinion: Highway 99W needs to be enhanced, not strangled

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Officials should abandon any thought of taking lanes away and should designate it a priority corridor.
Kane: Video games pose serious cyber risks

Kane: Video games pose serious cyber risks

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Since October is Cybersecurity Month, BBB is talking about how to stay safe.'
Graser-Lindsey: Metro's attitude to recycling is…

Graser-Lindsey: Metro's attitude to recycling is…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'More recycling could be achieved simply by using more segregated bins for paper, metal and plastics.'
Smith: WES can be a solution to MAX quandary

Smith: WES can be a solution to MAX quandary

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Let's learn from our past mistakes, and add two cheap and easy WES stops to serve the Bridgeport area.'
Letter: Don't panic about climate change

Letter: Don't panic about climate change

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
James Caster responds to Anika Pillai's Oct. 10, 2019, commentary about climate action.
Our Opinion: Battered but unbowed in our mission

Our Opinion: Battered but unbowed in our mission

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
It's National Newspaper Week, and the newspaper business is looking ragged. But we're staying in the fight.
Chavern: News media essential to First Amendment freedoms

Chavern: News media essential to First Amendment freedoms

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Long before social media came onto the scene, news media have enabled us to exercise all five freedoms.'
Lee: Learning about disability etiquette

Lee: Learning about disability etiquette

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Understand how to speak with a person who has just told you they have chronic illness or disability.'
Pillai: The time is now to fight climate change

Pillai: The time is now to fight climate change

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'We have to get involved. ... There is no halfway or good enough. This is an emergency.'
Our Opinion: Don't let light rail bottleneck Barbur

Our Opinion: Don't let light rail bottleneck Barbur

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Isn't the point of a transportation mega-project to make it easier to get around, not harder?
Field: Military spouses make great entrepreneurs

Field: Military spouses make great entrepreneurs

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Entrepreneurship is a strong alternative to employment for military spouses.'
Cook: Failed Metro vows should worry levy voters

Cook: Failed Metro vows should worry levy voters

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'If Chehalem Ridge is really Metro's next big success story, why hasn't it become a reality?'
Miller: Hydropower needed in fight against climate change

Miller: Hydropower needed in fight against climate change

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'We'll need to continue to think creatively and make the most of our current carbon-free resources.'
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 3, 2019

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 3, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
This week, readers express their thoughts about construction traffic and climate action.
Kane: Football season is prime time for ticket scams

Kane: Football season is prime time for ticket scams

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Scammers are always on the lookout for unsuspecting fans to lure into buying fake tickets or counterfeit goods.'

Fuller: Real ID licenses are coming to Oregon

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Fuller: Real ID licenses are coming to Oregon
'Don't have the right ID? You might miss your flight. ... Gather your documents now so you'll be ready.'

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 26, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 26, 2019
Readers express themselves on gun control, climate action, transit planning and more.

Our Opinion: Transparency takes a hit in Salem

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Transparency takes a hit in Salem
If Oregon hopes to find a new Public Records Advocate, independence must be a guaranteed part of the job description, not a hollow campaign promise.

Bevarly: When a governor undermines her own…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Bevarly: When a governor undermines her own…
'We're now seeing in Oregon that the wall may only exist in the enabling legislation -- not in practice.'

Prusak: Safe gun storage is a necessary step

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Prusak: Safe gun storage is a necessary step
'We know that easy access to firearms is one of the primary drivers of gun violence in the United States.'

Tapken: Public money flows to wrong companies for…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Tapken: Public money flows to wrong companies for…
'A fair and equitable Oregon with a higher sustainability and economical base should be the utmost priority.'

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 19, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 19, 2019
Readers write about The Times' opinion page, supporting workers, the Electoral College and more.

Our Opinion: To prevent suicide, we need multiple…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: To prevent suicide, we need multiple…
There's no magic wand we can wave to make our mental health crisis go away. It's not that easy. But it's vital.

Dettmer: Help shape our region's transportation…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Dettmer: Help shape our region's transportation…
'I am encouraging Washington County businesses and community members to share their experiences.'

Bates: Honor Oregon's MIA-POW warriors this month

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Bates: Honor Oregon's MIA-POW warriors this month
'Over the years, about 1 million brave warriors lost their American dream so that we could live ours.'

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 12, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 12, 2019
Thoughts from readers on how we elect our president and on the myths and misconceptions around Freemasonry.

Our Opinion: Say goodbye to summer and hello to fall

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Say goodbye to summer and hello to fall
Cling to the three weeks of summer your wall calendar says you have left, if you like. But the season's changing.

Frazier: Candidates should be willing to take risks

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Frazier: Candidates should be willing to take risks
'After all, the nation and Oregon don't need leaders who thinks 'winning' is synonymous with governing.'

Craddick, González & Stacey: The future of recycling

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Craddick, González & Stacey: The future of recycling
'Clearly, our recycling system needs be more adaptable. We need to look at every part of the system.'

Ley: Use MAX money to expand metro roads

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Ley: Use MAX money to expand metro roads
'Regional transportation planners have failed to change citizens' behavior with mass transit service.'

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 5, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 5, 2019
Readers write to us about healthcare costs, nuclear power and climate change.

Our Opinion: Pumpkin spice isn't the end of fire…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Pumpkin spice isn't the end of fire…
Although fall is upon us, it's hot out, and fire agencies are urging Oregonians to be careful.

Haughton-Pitts: Oregonians need relief from…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Haughton-Pitts: Oregonians need relief from…
'Oregon's congressional delegation is in the position to lead on this issue and make a difference for all of us.'

Blumm: Court ruling muddies Oswego Lake access

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Blumm: Court ruling muddies Oswego Lake access
'This is a regrettable outcome: perhaps good news for lawyers and historians, but not for the public.'

Baptista: Climate change: our problem, our choice

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Baptista: Climate change: our problem, our choice
'We face a simple choice: Caring only about today, or choosing to also protect the future of the human race.'

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 29, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Aug. 29, 2019
Readers opine on environmentally friendly living and federal drug pricing policy.

Our Opinion: Don't give up on push to revise gun…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Don't give up on push to revise gun…
If there's a time for action on gun control, and it's not now, when is it? This is Oregon's moment to be a leader.

Gallegos: The limits of tolerance

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Gallegos: The limits of tolerance
'I believe we are here to spread compassion and not hate. We are here to celebrate diversity and not fear it.'

Kane: Digital marketing and SEO is a marathon, not…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Kane: Digital marketing and SEO is a marathon, not…
'There are a lot of SEO experts and social media management gurus out there to help mom-and-pop business owners.'

Letters to the Editor: Aug. 22, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Aug. 22, 2019
Readers write about an honored student-athlete, the late Betty Bode, mass transit and more.

Our Opinion: Get ready, because there's…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Get ready, because there's…
Work on Tualatin-Sherwood and Cornelius Pass roads is sure to be a nuisance. But the payoff is better routes.

Frazier: We're an American family. Let's start…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Frazier: We're an American family. Let's start…
'We need to see past traditional notions of what makes two people become more than strangers.'

Dettmer: King City maturing into a regional leader

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Dettmer: King City maturing into a regional leader
'It desires to be more open, inclusive, and welcoming. It's also on the precipice of a whole new era of expansion.'

Dondero: Democrats should take their cues from…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Dondero: Democrats should take their cues from…
'They don't have to reinvent the wheel; they simply have to remind Dems who they are and where we can to go.'

Early: Ballot measures would make PERS problems…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Early: Ballot measures would make PERS problems…
'These proposed ballot initiatives will only do harm to the pension system and the people who are counting on it.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine