Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

OPINION: An unlikely prescription for an unhealthy democracy

OPINION: An unlikely prescription for an unhealthy democracy

The Times - Opinion
Elections have become polarizing events, but survey research finds that Oregonians of all stripes are proud of the state's efforts to engage voters.
Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2021

Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2021

The Times - Opinion
The Times prints letters about a Portland Community College board race and government handouts.
Our Opinion: The choices we make today matter for the future

Our Opinion: The choices we make today matter for the future

The Times - Opinion
Let's do our part to close the book on this pandemic. We can't celebrate too early.
OPINION: The importance of high school sports in America

OPINION: The importance of high school sports in America

The Times - Opinion
David Lowe Cozad: 'High school sports touch every demographic of all generations.'
OPINION: Don't bee frightened of honey bee swarms

OPINION: Don't bee frightened of honey bee swarms

The Times - Opinion
Debby Garman: 'Please report any swarm sighting to Tualatin Valley Beekeepers for kind and safe removal.'
OPINION: Bike Bill update would benefit Washington County

OPINION: Bike Bill update would benefit Washington County

The Times - Opinion
Nafisa Fai & Juan Carlos Gonzalez: County may 'uniquely benefit from increased investments in walking and biking.'
Letters to the Editor: April 8, 2021

Letters to the Editor: April 8, 2021

The Times - Opinion
The Times publishes reader letters about the Sherwood School Board, Portland Children's Museum and more.
Opinion: Oregon's struggling economy needs a long-term plan

Opinion: Oregon's struggling economy needs a long-term plan

The Times - Opinion
Tobias Read of Beaverton is Oregon state treasurer. He argues that the state can catapult out of the pandemic stronger than before.
Opinion: Cheers! Raise your beer stein to hops and natural…

Opinion: Cheers! Raise your beer stein to hops and natural…

The Times - Opinion
Douglas Weathers is president of Sodbuster Farms Inc. in Marion County. He says natural gas is vital to his hop farm's future.
Opinion: Oregon can again lead nation on Equity Act

Opinion: Oregon can again lead nation on Equity Act

The Times - Opinion
John Hummel of Bend is the Deschutes County district attorney. He wants Oregon's Congressional delegation to lead on a national LGBTQ issue.
OPINION: Sen. Dallas Heard hiding from his duties as…

OPINION: Sen. Dallas Heard hiding from his duties as…

The Times - Opinion
Senate Majority Leader Rob Wagner says the Republican from Roseburg is dodging important votes.
Opinion: Lawmakers can't take a shortcut to better eye…

Opinion: Lawmakers can't take a shortcut to better eye…

The Times - Opinion
Dr. Robert Bentley is a Portland ophthalmologist with more than 30 years of experience.
Column: A nightmarish trip to the Washington County…

Column: A nightmarish trip to the Washington County…

The Times - Opinion
Mirella Castaneda wanted to know who attacked her Forest Grove home and traumatized her family. Things only got worse.
Column: The case of an off-duty cop and a missing motive

Column: The case of an off-duty cop and a missing motive

The Times - Opinion
Police reports didn't mention that a Forest Grove cop was enraged by BLM signs at a home he allegedly attacked.
OPINION: Legislators who walk out aren't doing their jobs

OPINION: Legislators who walk out aren't doing their jobs

The Times - Opinion
Dave Coburn: 'Their oath of office swears them to upholding the constitution and doing their duty.'
Opinion: We must restore our city, and become the new Eden

Opinion: We must restore our city, and become the new Eden

The Times - Opinion
The Rev. Dr. Chuck Currie of Northeast Portland is a minister in the United Church of Christ.
Opinion: It's time to plan Portland's Pandemic Independence…

Opinion: It's time to plan Portland's Pandemic Independence…

The Times - Opinion
Eric Fruits, Ph.D. is vice president of Research at Cascade Policy Institute and an adjunct professor at Portland State University, where he teaches…
Column: Seven minutes of haunting terror in Forest Grove

Column: Seven minutes of haunting terror in Forest Grove

The Times - Opinion
After her house was attacked, one woman works to protect her family and learn basic facts about their attacker.
Letters to the Editor: April 1, 2021

Letters to the Editor: April 1, 2021

The Times - Opinion
This week, The Times publishes reader letters about the school system and COVID-19 vaccinations.
Column: Doubts about police case lead reporter on quest for…

Column: Doubts about police case lead reporter on quest for…

The Times - Opinion
A chance run-in with Forest Grove's police chief led a retired journalist down the rabbit hole to find the truth.
Opinion: Legislation vital to advancing equity in…

Opinion: Legislation vital to advancing equity in…

The Times - Opinion
Ashton Simpson is executive director of Oregon Walks. Cameron Whitten is an equity advocate and nonprofit executive.
Opinion: Let's put power in Oregonians' hands to prevent…

Opinion: Let's put power in Oregonians' hands to prevent…

The Times - Opinion
State Rep. Rachel Prusak represents House District 37 in parts of Clackamas and Washington counties.
Tualatin Police Log: March 16-22, 2021

Tualatin Police Log: March 16-22, 2021

The Times - Opinion
This week's calls include: menacing in a neighborhood, a stolen vehicle and a fake emergency.
Letters to the Editor: March 25, 2021

Letters to the Editor: March 25, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters this week focus on a Beaverton School Board race and the American Rescue Plan.
Opinion: Want to help Oregon landlords? Don't approve tax…

Opinion: Want to help Oregon landlords? Don't approve tax…

The Times - Opinion
Daniel Hauser is with the Oregon Center for Public Policy. He argues that Oregon's SB 330 would not provide the right aid to struggling landlords.
OPINION: Sharing your views will help shape our state

OPINION: Sharing your views will help shape our state

The Times - Opinion
Oregon Values & Beliefs Center values opinions enough to reward those who participate in their monthly panels.
OPINION: Republicans must stop saving Democrats from…

OPINION: Republicans must stop saving Democrats from…

The Times - Opinion
Evan Bryan: 'I am alarmed the politics behind the walkouts are still occurring during a pandemic.'
OPINION: Five things to know about Oregon farms

OPINION: Five things to know about Oregon farms

The Times - Opinion
Anne Marie Moss: 'I'd like to share a few things I've learned while working for Oregon Farm Bureau since 2004.'
Opinion: Our children deserve a breath of fresh air

Opinion: Our children deserve a breath of fresh air

The Times - Opinion
Part of returning children to the classroom involves making sure those schools are healthy for all students.
OPINION: Renters need more time to pay back rent

OPINION: Renters need more time to pay back rent

The Times - Opinion
Ruhiyyih Bagley: 'I am deeply concerned that I will not be able to get current on my rent in time...'

Opinion: Oregon searches for a coherent drug policy

The Times - Opinion
Opinion: Oregon searches for a coherent drug policy
John A. Charles Jr. is president and CEO of Portland's Cascade Policy Institute, Oregon's free market public policy research organization. He can be…

Opinion: Beer, wine taxes should invest in hope,…

The Times - Opinion
Opinion: Beer, wine taxes should invest in hope,…
State. Rep. Tawna Sanchez represents North/Northeast Portland's House District 43.

Letters to the Editor: March 18, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 18, 2021
Letters this week include thoughts on legalized prostitution, healthcare and more.

OPINION: It’s time to give voice to the values…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: It’s time to give voice to the values…
Oregon Values & Voices project will pair unbiased research with independent reporting to inform Oregonians working to build stronger communities…

Opinion: Oregon should break the waste cycle

The Times - Opinion
Opinion: Oregon should break the waste cycle
Celeste Meiffren-Swango of Southeast Portland is state director for Environment Oregon.

Readers' Letters: Support safe streets through bike…

The Times - Opinion
Readers' Letters: Support safe streets through bike…
Local readers sound off on issues like bicycle safety, saving Oregon's dairy farms and preventing youth suicide through gun safety.

OPINION: You can't have democracy without a free…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: You can't have democracy without a free…
Gene Policinski: 'The guarantee that a press is free does not guarantee ... that we will like what it presents.'

Letters to the Editor: March 11, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 11, 2021
Readers write in to defend clean energy, call for more Alzheimer's research and criticize the vaccine rollout.

OPINION: Tigard city facilities consolidation is a…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Tigard city facilities consolidation is a…
Richard Shavey: 'The consolidation project sounds like a great improvement for the city...'

OPINION: Tigard doesn't need a Taj Mahal

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Tigard doesn't need a Taj Mahal
Brian Conroy: 'This gargantuan facility and the new full-time positions ... will create a dramatic tax burden.'

OPINION: Take spring cleaning to heart, and mind

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Take spring cleaning to heart, and mind
Dani Sticka: 'I encourage you to begin clearing the mental clutter alongside the physical clutter.'

From the Editor: Sports are back, but we need your…

The Times - Opinion
From the Editor: Sports are back, but we need your…
Pamplin Media Group prep sports editor Miles Vance explains how we will cover sports in 2021.

Opinion: New timber taxes would scuttle economic…

The Times - Opinion
Opinion: New timber taxes would scuttle economic…
Jenny Johnson of Astoria is a forester who advocates for sustainable forest management.

Letters to the Editor: March 4, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: March 4, 2021
Readers write in about health insurance, the needs of young people and bridging divides.

OPINION: We can do much more together

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: We can do much more together
Aeric Estep: 'Our best hope for success and flourishing is to walk through the difficulty as we were intended...'

OPINION: A misleading portrayal of power failures…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: A misleading portrayal of power failures…
Kevin M. Green: 'It is false to suggest that renewable energy cannot provide the majority of our needs.'

Opinion: Oregon journalists confront threats to all…

The Times - Opinion
Opinion: Oregon journalists confront threats to all…
Ellen Osoinach is the Local Legal Initiative attorney in Oregon for the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press.

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 25, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 25, 2021
Letters focus on pandemic response, tired healthcare workers and bacon in hospitals.

OPINION: As the region recovers, Metro is ready to…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: As the region recovers, Metro is ready to…
Lynn Peterson: Let's work together to ensure health care, social justice, equitable economic growth and dignified housing for everyone.

OPINION: Oregon needs a robust portfolio of energy…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Oregon needs a robust portfolio of energy…
Rachel Dawson: 'Our region needs ... sufficient supply when renewable resources fail to produce electricity.'

My View: It is time to reconsider Oregon’s timber…

The Times - Opinion
My View: It is time to reconsider Oregon’s timber…
Regan Fisher is a Southeast Portland resident. She argues that state towns and cities should reap the benefits of timber harvests.

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 18, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 18, 2021
Our weekly mailbag includes a response to a January letter, thoughts on healthcare and concern for small businesses.

Our Opinion: Invisible change could come to Hall…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Invisible change could come to Hall…
We're pleased to see some action in Salem that could potentially place this 'orphan highway' under local control.

Our Opinion: Remember the three P's

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Remember the three P's
The aggravation of more adverse weather hammers home the need for preparedness, prudence and patience.

OPINION: Climate protection can't exclude Oregon's…

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Climate protection can't exclude Oregon's…
My generation needs Gov. Brown to get serious about getting all the state's polluters to clean up their acts. And do so before 2050

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 11, 2021

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 11, 2021
Readers criticize Tigard's plans for a new City Hall and suggest ways of reaching out to people.

Hindley: We all need to develop more temperance

The Times - Opinion
Hindley: We all need to develop more temperance
'The warrior does not allow themselves to be unduly influenced by others because this is the truest loss of power.'

Sexton: A warning from a self-described 'gun nut'

The Times - Opinion
Sexton: A warning from a self-described 'gun nut'
'...When the patriots start to lose gun nuts like me, they teeter on the brink of irrelevance.'

Conner: Finding joy in a day of decluttering

The Times - Opinion
Conner: Finding joy in a day of decluttering
Marie Kondo inspires Viva Village volunteers to sweep their homes for materials to donate and recycle.

Estep: Vaccines should go to those who need them

The Times - Opinion
Estep: Vaccines should go to those who need them
'The political clout of public servants should not hold our most vulnerable at risk for their own self-interest.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

special edition flipbookspecial edition flipbook

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework