Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Our Opinion: Don't we have enough to deal with, without…

Our Opinion: Don't we have enough to deal with, without…

The Times - Opinion
Our first responders and hospitals are busy with COVID-19. It's up to us to practice safety during wildfire season.
Prusak: No rest until Employment Department is fixed

Prusak: No rest until Employment Department is fixed

The Times - Opinion
'My office speaks daily with constituents who still haven't received a paycheck after months of waiting.'
Conway: Stop limiting Oregon's charter school enrollment

Conway: Stop limiting Oregon's charter school enrollment

The Times - Opinion
'An arbitrarily low cap forces charters to rely on admission lotteries, turning education into a game of chance.'
Lowe: Time for a new American way

Lowe: Time for a new American way

The Times - Opinion
'It is time to get back on point ... Black Lives Matter, and it is time to make things right.'
Letters to the Editor: July 30, 2020

Letters to the Editor: July 30, 2020

The Times - Opinion
This week's letters include thoughts on local candidates and good works in Washington County.
Our Opinion: A disastrous intervention in Portland

Our Opinion: A disastrous intervention in Portland

The Times - Opinion
Federal agents need to put away the tear gas, stand down and give people space to find local solutions to local problems.
Howard & Marshall: State should quickly pay out unemployment

Howard & Marshall: State should quickly pay out unemployment

The Times - Opinion
'The problem is no longer that OED is overwhelmed ... the problem is that Oregon families are suffering.'
Drake: Bridging digital divide will accelerate learning,…

Drake: Bridging digital divide will accelerate learning,…

The Times - Opinion
'I hope to see more states learn from Oregon's success and its unwavering commitment to equity...'
Dawson: Public utility regulations are outmoded

Dawson: Public utility regulations are outmoded

The Times - Opinion
'...Oregon's low-income families suffer the most from PURPA's added burdens.'
Letters to the Editor: July 23, 2020

Letters to the Editor: July 23, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers write in about general aviation, fall sports, downtown Portland protests and more.
Our Opinion: Prepare to participate in the democratic…

Our Opinion: Prepare to participate in the democratic…

The Times - Opinion
There's a lot happening in the world right now, and there's more to come. Have your say by registering to vote.
Edwards: Wearing masks is best, easiest way to halt pandemic

Edwards: Wearing masks is best, easiest way to halt pandemic

The Times - Opinion
'Businesses cannot fully reopen and we cannot fully enjoy life again unless this pandemic is under control.'
Kearsley: Support businesses, follow social distancing…

Kearsley: Support businesses, follow social distancing…

The Times - Opinion
'The business's long-term survival is ... at risk when patrons refuse to follow a company's policies.'
Hermann: A tale of two centuries

Hermann: A tale of two centuries

The Times - Opinion
'We see how both the storming of the Bastille and the death of George Floyd have sparked a revolution...'
Kane: Phony 'mask exemption' cards make the rounds

Kane: Phony 'mask exemption' cards make the rounds

The Times - Opinion
'...You shouldn't believe everything you see, no matter how legitimate it looks.'
Botteri: Bigotry has a history in Beaverton

Botteri: Bigotry has a history in Beaverton

The Times - Opinion
'The struggle has run on for decades. But haters do not aim their anger at just one group.'
Letters to the Editor: July 16, 2020

Letters to the Editor: July 16, 2020

The Times - Opinion
This week, readers respond to a letter about immigration, critique local police and more.
Column: Countries without policing have suffered because of…

Column: Countries without policing have suffered because of…

The Times - Opinion
'Most Americans know little about living in a police state ... a place where police have been rendered useless.'
Young: Accept the existence of racism; it's the only way to…

Young: Accept the existence of racism; it's the only way to…

The Times - Opinion
'You have a special role in wiping out racism. People dance around ... white supremacy, but that's what is going on.'
Wagner: First special session of 2020 was just a start

Wagner: First special session of 2020 was just a start

The Times - Opinion
'The governor needs to call an additional emergency special session to deal with our budget shortfall.'
Letters to the Editor: July 9, 2020

Letters to the Editor: July 9, 2020

The Times - Opinion
This week's letters include notes about good Samaritans and letters concerned about recent Supreme Court rulings.
Sosa: It's time we lived up  to America's ideals

Sosa: It's time we lived up to America's ideals

The Times - Opinion
'America's revolution has never stopped and now is our time to carry it forward.'
Fruits: COVID unemployment benefits must be tied to…

Fruits: COVID unemployment benefits must be tied to…

The Times - Opinion
'For millions of out-of-work Americans, the bonus has been a lifeline. ... For others, (it) has been a windfall.'
'Free press' isn't free - now, more than ever, it needs…

'Free press' isn't free - now, more than ever, it needs…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Strike a blow for liberty by supporting your local independent media outlet this July 4.
Our Opinion: Policing has its place. So does journalism

Our Opinion: Policing has its place. So does journalism

The Times - Opinion
The use of force by police against journalists who are doing their jobs is unacceptable and un-American.
Letters to the Editor: July 2, 2020

Letters to the Editor: July 2, 2020

The Times - Opinion
We open the second half of 2020 with letters on gun violence, policing and the coronavirus pandemic.
Edmundson & Ramana: Nuclear power doesn't fit with Green…

Edmundson & Ramana: Nuclear power doesn't fit with Green…

The Times - Opinion
'This is as it should be, for GND proposals also emphasize considerations having to do with ethics and equity.'
Kearns Moore: Make police misconduct records public

Kearns Moore: Make police misconduct records public

The Times - Opinion
'It will take many bold reforms to restore ... trust. Adding more transparency and accountability must be among them.'
Barton: Address childhood trauma for criminal justice reform

Barton: Address childhood trauma for criminal justice reform

The Times - Opinion
'By the time a crime is committed and a victim is harmed, the root causes of that crime may have occurred long ago.'
Burton: Exercise and your immune system

Burton: Exercise and your immune system

The Times - Opinion
'Exercise directly improves our bodies' abilities to fight infection and disease.'

Our Opinion: A generation for this moment

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: A generation for this moment
The world is a mess. Thankfully, our inspiring young students and graduates are on the case.

Scott & Haynes: Internet is critical lifeline for…

The Times - Opinion
Scott & Haynes: Internet is critical lifeline for…
'...We are hoping to enable more people stay connected, informed, employed and, yes, even healthy.'

Winegar: A way forward

The Times - Opinion
Winegar: A way forward
'The police need to go beyond just listening.Rather than a fixed mindset, the police need to adopt a growth mindset.'

Field: Paycheck protection brings hope to small…

The Times - Opinion
Field: Paycheck protection brings hope to small…
'...I write to you, Oregonians, to say despite some bumps in the road, the PPP is working.'

Fruits: Era of permanent prosperity is over

The Times - Opinion
Fruits: Era of permanent prosperity is over
'We can't turn the public sector's budget problems into a private sector bankruptcy crisis.'

Smith: Bigger issues at play in Washington County…

The Times - Opinion
Smith: Bigger issues at play in Washington County…
'Jail provides no solution to the host of underlying problems inmates present.'

Letters to the Editor: June 25, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: June 25, 2020
Our mailbag includes concerns about pollution, common decency and presidential incompetence.

Our View: Pamplin papers change use of 'Black'

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Our View: Pamplin papers change use of 'Black'
AP style change focuses on being inclusive and respectful in news reporting and the evolution of language.

Garber: Journalism has never been more important

The Times - Opinion
Garber: Journalism has never been more important
PRESIDENT'S COLUMN: As our reporters cover protests, disease and more in our cities and small towns, we need your help.

Our Opinion: Society poised to change for the…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Society poised to change for the…
There is a growing recognition that police cannot and should not be called to respond to every crisis.

Siah: Standing up and standing with the community

The Times - Opinion
Siah: Standing up and standing with the community
'Without our Black community, we are no community, and we must educate ourselves and make our support heard.'

Boone: Oregon cities, frontline of COVID response,…

The Times - Opinion
Boone: Oregon cities, frontline of COVID response,…
'We can and need to do better, but that cannot happen without a strong ... partnership on the state and federal level.'

Reimann: Psychology may be key to solving police…

The Times - Opinion
Reimann: Psychology may be key to solving police…
'Completely disbanding or downsizing police agencies is not the answer. This is not a time to shoot from the political hip.'

Letters to the Editor: June 18, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: June 18, 2020
A police chief weighs in on reform efforts, a community leader hails a protest rally and more.

My View: Open Oregon says make police misconduct…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
My View: Open Oregon says make police misconduct…
Open Oregon, a member of the National Freedom of Information Coalition, shares the frustration of those stymied in their efforts to hold police…

Our Opinion: COVID-19 hard to project, but…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: COVID-19 hard to project, but…
As our state cautiously reopens and braces for more new cases, workers and businesses are still smarting.

Cottle: On discrimination and violence, we are all…

The Times - Opinion
Cottle: On discrimination and violence, we are all…
'We have to engage in self-realization of our own faults and attitudes towards others.'

Brownell: Host homes help unaccompanied youth…

The Times - Opinion
Brownell: Host homes help unaccompanied youth…
'Host homes help break the cycle of houselessness by providing a footing for youth to achieve high school graduation...'

Rake: The struggle for a more perfect union…

The Times - Opinion
Rake: The struggle for a more perfect union…
'However far we've come since 1965, since 1775, the last 25 miles are, will be, the hardest.'

Smith: COVID-19 shutdown skews primary election…

The Times - Opinion
Smith: COVID-19 shutdown skews primary election…
'Even with these two significant advantages, the incumbent failed to win an outright majority.'

Letters to the Editor: June 11, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: June 11, 2020
Readers write in about foster care, protests, and election reform in Oregon.

Our Opinion: Protest and policing in a plural…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Protest and policing in a plural…
For millions of Americans, the system is broken. Our focus should be on fixing it, not punishing those who call it out.

Witt: Oregon still working to address unemployment…

The Times - Opinion
Witt: Oregon still working to address unemployment…
'We want to help and are willing and able to step up and do our best to help you obtain whatever benefits are owed you.'

Chiotti: We need to keep Oregon State Police in…

The Times - Opinion
Chiotti: We need to keep Oregon State Police in…
'Please write to our State Emergency Board and ask that we have adequate coverage for our area.'

De La Cruz: To rebuild education system, we must…

The Times - Opinion
De La Cruz: To rebuild education system, we must…
'The educational system is in chaos and will never be the same as it was prior to March 2020.'

Wilkens: Banks, credit unions adapt to 'new normal'

The Times - Opinion
Wilkens: Banks, credit unions adapt to 'new normal'
'Almost every Oregonian has been forced to shift to online and mobile banking to handle many of their most common transactions.'

Letters to the Editor: June 4, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: June 4, 2020
Readers share their opinions on the coronavirus pandemic, social media, policing and more.

Our Opinion: Primary is prologue in many local races

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Primary is prologue in many local races
It'll be November before we know the full outcome of the 2020 election season, even in local government.

Wagner: A time of challenges, transitions and…

The Times - Opinion
Wagner: A time of challenges, transitions and…
'This last week, my Democratic colleagues in the Senate elected me to serve as the Senate majority leader.'

Kane: BBB sees sharp uptick in price gouging reports

The Times - Opinion
Kane: BBB sees sharp uptick in price gouging reports
'Refrain from taking unfair advantage of a public emergency such as the coronavirus situation.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

special edition flipbookspecial edition flipbook

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework