Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Our Opinion: You live in a wonderful place. Here's proof

Our Opinion: You live in a wonderful place. Here's proof

The Times - Opinion
A new list tells us something we already know, but the validation is nice anyway.
Kane: Protect yourself amid wedding-season woes

Kane: Protect yourself amid wedding-season woes

The Times - Opinion
'If you're one of those couples planning a wedding, be sure the season of love lasts all the way to the wedding day.'
Pihl: Cap-and-trade will hurt rural Oregon jobs

Pihl: Cap-and-trade will hurt rural Oregon jobs

The Times - Opinion
'If you add the costs of a new cap-and-trade bill to the corporate activity tax ... companies like mine won't make it.'
Dannen: Climate misinformers seek to divide us

Dannen: Climate misinformers seek to divide us

The Times - Opinion
'...We are all going to have to make sacrifices and pay the price for our ignorance.'
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 20, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 20, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers share their thoughts on legal gambling and the Columbia River Crossing and other state projects.
Our Opinion: Homeless tax idea needs a lot more conversation

Our Opinion: Homeless tax idea needs a lot more conversation

The Times - Opinion
It's a worthy goal, but Metro has yet to answer questions about the role it will play and what effect the tax would have.
Dawson: Rural Oregon subsidizing Teslas for urban elite

Dawson: Rural Oregon subsidizing Teslas for urban elite

The Times - Opinion
'Purchasing an EV ... isn't a viable option for many residents living in rural counties.'
Stride: On climate change and western Oregon

Stride: On climate change and western Oregon

The Times - Opinion
'As a boy growing up in western Oregon in the mid-1970s, I witnessed a much cooler and damper climate than we have now.'
Botteri: President misses the point of prayer

Botteri: President misses the point of prayer

The Times - Opinion
'Let us praise the prayers of Italian Catholic grandmothers. Trump should feel honored and thankful to Nancy Pelosi.'
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 13, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 13, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers weigh in on the Columbia River Crossing, President Donald Trump's ethics and the Australian bushfires.
Our Opinion: Blazers can honor Bryant by rekindling Fire

Our Opinion: Blazers can honor Bryant by rekindling Fire

The Times - Opinion
This week of National Girls and Women in Sports Day, we argue it's time to bring the WNBA back to Oregon.
San Soucie: A response to editorial on Beaverton charter

San Soucie: A response to editorial on Beaverton charter

The Times - Opinion
'I would ... like to offer some perspective on a few details about the work mentioned in the editorial.'
Wagner: And how are the children?

Wagner: And how are the children?

The Times - Opinion
'We have a lot to celebrate, and even more to accomplish so that we can say proudly, the children are well in Oregon.'
Our Opinion: Beaverton should rethink approach to charter…

Our Opinion: Beaverton should rethink approach to charter…

The Times - Opinion
It's one thing to ask whether the role of mayor should change. It's another to do it at the same time as the mayor is chosen.
Kane: The saga of the local coffee shop

Kane: The saga of the local coffee shop

The Times - Opinion
'In order to truly make money as a business owner, you must consider opening multiple shops.'
Khayer: On homelessness, there has to be a better way

Khayer: On homelessness, there has to be a better way

The Times - Opinion
'...The most developed and wealthiest country in the world (has) this homelessness issue.'
Our Opinion: 'Short session' looms on February calendar

Our Opinion: 'Short session' looms on February calendar

The Times - Opinion
Beyond the legislation expected to be on the table, Oregon is bracing for another work stoppage in Salem.
Bates: Vietnam Vets another year older, still without…

Bates: Vietnam Vets another year older, still without…

The Times - Opinion
'The Vietnam War Memorial on the Oregon State Capitol Grounds is needed sooner rather than later.'
Burrows: A busy fall and winter for Champoeg DAR

Burrows: A busy fall and winter for Champoeg DAR

The Times - Opinion
'...Today's DAR is preserving history, promoting patriotism and educational activities.'
Johnson: County turns its back on sound timber practices

Johnson: County turns its back on sound timber practices

The Times - Opinion
'If only Washington and Tillamook County commissioners were as steadfast and true to their word as Clatsop County's.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 23, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 23, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Readers sound off on a wage increase for service providers and President Trump's use of executive privilege.
Our Opinion: Another money measure charges into Valley of…

Our Opinion: Another money measure charges into Valley of…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Like the doomed cavalry of Lord Tennyson's poem, tax increases keep going before skeptical Tigard voters.
Fruits: We need to think big on I-5 bridge project

Fruits: We need to think big on I-5 bridge project

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'An I-5 replacement that does nothing to improve the flow of goods and people is a waste of money.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 16, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 16, 2020

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our weekly mailbag contains thoughts on 5G, local taxation in Tigard and a Wilsonville library display.
From the Publisher: Don't worry. We're still here.

From the Publisher: Don't worry. We're still here.

The Times - Opinion
'Unfortunately, the days are gone when we could count on our advertising to completely sustain us.'
Our Opinion: It could happen here

Our Opinion: It could happen here

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Oregon experienced devastating forest fires in 2017 and 2018. What is happening in Australia dwarfs them.
Stride: Planting riparian zones helps the Tualatin River

Stride: Planting riparian zones helps the Tualatin River

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Creation of riparian zones along the Tualatin River and its tributaries will allow it to run cold, clean and clear.'
Frazier: OK boomer, it's time for 'the talk'

Frazier: OK boomer, it's time for 'the talk'

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Rather than birds and bees, this generation needs to talk about wills and trustees.'
Unander: Tell Wyden to stop holding up copyright protections

Unander: Tell Wyden to stop holding up copyright protections

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Violators are essentially free to reproduce, publish and profit from works they did not create and have no rights to.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 9, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 9, 2020

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our readers' mailbag includes letters about climate action and Beaverton's city priorities.

Our Opinion: Our wishes for 2020

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Our wishes for 2020
We wish for peace, sustainability and the good health of journalism in the New Year.

Field: 2010s were a decade of perseverence for…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Field: 2010s were a decade of perseverence for…
'Our economy and our communities wouldn't be what they are today without the perseverance of entrepreneurs.'

Kullberg: Don't use 'junk' science to guide policy

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Kullberg: Don't use 'junk' science to guide policy
'Covanta can no longer spin itself as the most climate-friendly alternative we have.'

Our Opinion: Supporting local news more important…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Supporting local news more important…
Costs are rising and print advertising is falling, but our mission of informing the public is still vital.

Kane: 'Secret Sister' gift exchange still making…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Kane: 'Secret Sister' gift exchange still making…
'This online exchange with people you've never met is actually a pyramid scheme -- and it is illegal.'

Cook: 'Rural-Urban Interface Through Active…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Cook: 'Rural-Urban Interface Through Active…
A poem about the Stafford Hamlet, land-use planning, the rural-urban divide and agriculture.

Inan: A number of reasons to celebrate Gert Boyle

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Inan: A number of reasons to celebrate Gert Boyle
'Thanks for all your contributions to our lives, Gertrude Boyle. I hope you rest in peace.'

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 19, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 19, 2019
Readers correct our grammar, explain their school's new mission and comment on our editorial.

Our Opinion: We need your help to save local…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: We need your help to save local…
We've fared far better than many, but the path toward sustainability means relying more on our readers.

Dettmer: Strengthening our service by working…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Dettmer: Strengthening our service by working…
'The winner is clear -- it's the public that has improved access to shared resources.'

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 12, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 12, 2019
Readers share their thoughts on elder care, surprise medical billing and more.

Bonamici: Bill would help us care for aging parents

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Bonamici: Bill would help us care for aging parents
'We have a moral obligation to care for those who came before us. ... It is now our turn to care for them.'

Carvalho: TriMet needs to look at why MAX ridership…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Carvalho: TriMet needs to look at why MAX ridership…
'Any transit improvements need to make the lines we already have more desirable.'

Burton: The meat and potatoes of healthy eating

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Burton: The meat and potatoes of healthy eating
'Make sure that in every meal you eat, half of it is comprised of fruits and vegetables.'

Field: Small businesses are 'experiential shopping'…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Field: Small businesses are 'experiential shopping'…
'Small Business Saturday ... is set to build on a decade of success and rally even more communities.'

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 28, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 28, 2019
Our weekly mailbag runneth over with thoughts on climate action, road expansion, water rates and more.

Our Opinion: 'Give Local' in Washington County

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: 'Give Local' in Washington County
This holiday season, there are some very worthy causes for giving in our local area.

Davis: Regardless of ZIP code, Oregonians have same…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Davis: Regardless of ZIP code, Oregonians have same…
'Take notice, local political candidates and ballot measure campaigns. Elected public officials: You, too.'

Kane: As holiday shopping revs up, so do scammers

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Kane: As holiday shopping revs up, so do scammers
'The last thing a consumer needs is to be scammed out of their hard-earned money.'

Tyson & Burgwin: This is not the TriMet we signed…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Tyson & Burgwin: This is not the TriMet we signed…
'We began working here because we saw a transit organization offering a career, not just a job.'

Baptista: Trump's attacks on Ambassador Yovanovitch…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Baptista: Trump's attacks on Ambassador Yovanovitch…
'His Tweets, falsely denigrating Ms. Yovanovitch in real time, should be deeply distressing to all Americans.'

Burton: To get ahead in the workplace, get ahead at…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Burton: To get ahead in the workplace, get ahead at…
'All it takes to boost performance is 30 to 60 minutes of increased heart rate.'

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 21, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 21, 2019
In our weekly mailbag, readers respond to recent articles published in The Times.

Our Opinion: With growth comes change, but it's not…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: With growth comes change, but it's not…
Beaverton, Tigard and other local cities are growing and challenging what it means to be 'suburban.'

Our Opinion: Spend enough to get light rail right

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Spend enough to get light rail right
It's a good thing that regional planners have backed off an idea to reduce lane capacity on Highway 99W.

Cordie: A new look and feel for Sherwood School…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Cordie: A new look and feel for Sherwood School…
'It is essential to hear from as many voices as possible during this process.'

González & Chase: Use construction boom to boost…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
González & Chase: Use construction boom to boost…
'Construction is one of the few industries that can provide a family-sustaining career without a college degree.'

Adams: Legislature peddles harmful fix to housing…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Adams: Legislature peddles harmful fix to housing…
'What the state Legislature has done this year with House Bill 2001 indefensibly violates local zoning.'

Gallagher: A father he never knew

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Gallagher: A father he never knew
'He tells a story that sounds like it could be right out of the novel/miniseries 'Winds of War.''

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2019
Our mailbag includes letters about impeaching President Donald Trump and the benefits of climate action.

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine