Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 29, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 29, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Our last collection of readers' letters before Election Day is going online a couple days early.
This year, it's more than a vote

This year, it's more than a vote

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Oregon Senate Majority Leader Rob Wagner says the stakes are too high to sit this election out.
Opinion: Why Oregon voters need to pick a new attorney…

Opinion: Why Oregon voters need to pick a new attorney…

The Times - Opinion
After a rise in statewide crime and lawlessness, it's time to get the state back on the path to equality, justice and safety
OPINION: Oregon needs Shemia Fagan to ensure fair elections

OPINION: Oregon needs Shemia Fagan to ensure fair elections

The Times - Opinion
State's U.S Senators say a Democratic ally in the Oregon Secretary of State's office is key in this pivotal moment
OPINION: Kim Thatcher will finish the job my husband started

OPINION: Kim Thatcher will finish the job my husband started

The Times - Opinion
Voters should look past party labels and elect an Oregon Secretary of State who reflects Dennis Richardson's values
OPINION: As your Secretary of State, I will fight for…

OPINION: As your Secretary of State, I will fight for…

The Times - Opinion
I know what it's like to struggle and am running to ensure fairness, integrity and accountability for every Oregonian
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 22, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 22, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Our penultimate pre-election mailbag includes a broad array of thoughts on candidates and measures.
OPINION: We need an  Secretary of State who focuses on…

OPINION: We need an Secretary of State who focuses on…

The Times - Opinion
I will continue the legacy of the late Dennis Richardson and be an independent check on areas of state government that aren't serving the people of…
Opinion: Why I hope to serve again as the 'People's…

Opinion: Why I hope to serve again as the 'People's…

The Times - Opinion
We need an experienced Attorney General to help the state respond to the pandemic, racial injustice and federal overreach
Pamplin President: Let us show you our thanks with a…

Pamplin President: Let us show you our thanks with a…

The Times - Opinion
This month, we're offering a 50% discount to new subscribers to our newspapers and websites.
Follow data, and common sense, on reopening schools

Follow data, and common sense, on reopening schools

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: We are doing a disservice to our children by continuing with remote learning only.
OPINION: If reelected as treasurer, I'll stay focused on…

OPINION: If reelected as treasurer, I'll stay focused on…

The Times - Opinion
Over the past four years, Oregon's investments have kept our ranking as one of the top-performing states in the country
OPINION: Demanding times require a new state treasurer, one…

OPINION: Demanding times require a new state treasurer, one…

The Times - Opinion
We need a treasurer who addresses Oregon's fiscal challenges and directly confronts difficult policy implications
OPINION M26-218: $7 billion for Metro's transportation tax?…

OPINION M26-218: $7 billion for Metro's transportation tax?…

The Times - Opinion
Vote 'no' on Measure 26-218. The costly measure will tax employers to overspend on underused projects, such as light rail
Consider alternatives to plastic

Consider alternatives to plastic

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: Microplastics are a serious health hazard and widespread environmental contaminant. We must do better.
OPINION M26-218: Time to invest in transportation…

OPINION M26-218: Time to invest in transportation…

The Times - Opinion
Vote 'yes' on Measure 26-216; expanding transit options will jump-start the economy and combat congestion.
OPINION M26-218: Metro needs transportation plan, not blank…

OPINION M26-218: Metro needs transportation plan, not blank…

The Times - Opinion
Vote No on Measure 26-216: the regional tax on employment is the wrong funding mechanism at the wrong time.
We should strive for social justice

We should strive for social justice

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: A Forest Grove combat veteran says he has come to understand the importance of addressing equity.
OPINION M107: Connections, money shouldn't limit election…

OPINION M107: Connections, money shouldn't limit election…

The Times - Opinion
Vote 'yes' on Measure 107. Democracy should allow more women, people of color and immigrants to win public office
OPINION M110:  Don't take away addicts' incentive for…

OPINION M110: Don't take away addicts' incentive for…

The Times - Opinion
Vote 'no' on Measure 110. Let the Oregon Legislature continue its success in crafting true criminal justice reforms.
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 15, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 15, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Less than three weeks to Election Day, this week's mailbag includes former rivals endorsing runoff candidates and more.
Tips for spotting scams this election season

Tips for spotting scams this election season

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: The Better Business Bureau provides advice on keeping your money and personal information to yourself.
OPINION M110: People battling addiction need treatment, not…

OPINION M110: People battling addiction need treatment, not…

The Times - Opinion
Vote 'yes' on Measure 110. As a nurse recovering from addiction, I want others to have access to the services I had
OPINION M109: When treatment failed, psilocybin saved my…

OPINION M109: When treatment failed, psilocybin saved my…

The Times - Opinion
Vote 'yes' Measure 109. Unlike pharmaceuticals, psilocybin is a natural non-toxic compound and non-addictive.
OPINION M107: Campaign 'fix' would limit voters' rights.…

OPINION M107: Campaign 'fix' would limit voters' rights.…

The Times - Opinion
Secretary of State candidate says M107 won't curb government officials, only take away political speech.
Support a responsible approach to treatment and therapy

Support a responsible approach to treatment and therapy

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: A retired Hillsboro police lieutenant explains why he supports Ballot Measure 109.
Vote for the health of our community

Vote for the health of our community

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: There's no worse time to threaten the healthcare of millions of Americans than during a pandemic.
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 8, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 8, 2020

The Times - Opinion
With the election less than a month away, this week's mailbag includes several web exclusives.
Making accommodations for the sake of voters and candidates

Making accommodations for the sake of voters and candidates

The Times - Opinion
OPINION: President Donald Trump struggles to listen and not interrupt. He needs help with that.
OPINION M26-218: Metro's proposed transit tax needs better…

OPINION M26-218: Metro's proposed transit tax needs better…

The Times - Opinion
Voters should reject Measure 26-218, which got to the ballot with little scrutiny and is riddled with uncertainties

Our Opinion: Season's change could be hard on local…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Season's change could be hard on local…
As outdoor dining winds down, make sure to continue supporting restaurants and stores.

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 1, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 1, 2020
With just over a month to Election Day, this week's mailbag includes a number of web-exclusive political letters.

Baby Yoda spreads love amid wildfires, political…

The Times - Opinion
Baby Yoda spreads love amid wildfires, political…
Former Clackamas County resident Nan Collie hopes Carver's next stop is the White House

Who is on the ballot this fall?

The Times - Opinion
Who is on the ballot this fall?
OPINION: There's more at stake in this November election than Candidate A versus Candidate B.

'Most Favored Nation' pricing harms Oregonians with…

The Times - Opinion
'Most Favored Nation' pricing harms Oregonians with…
OPINION: No one should have to worry about whether a doctor will treat you when you're sick, just because you have a disability

Oregon's Tobias Read has learned from Three Little…

The Times - Opinion
Oregon's Tobias Read has learned from Three Little…
Damascus resident Dr. Carl B. Anderson endorses reelection of state treasurer

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 24, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 24, 2020
Readers write in about Washington County candidates, open primaries, Hispanic heritage and more.

Voters have an opportunity to promote health with…

The Times - Opinion
Voters have an opportunity to promote health with…
OPINION: The tobacco industry gets kids hooked on vaping products. We need to pass a tax on those products.

Fight for equality continues 30 years after…

The Times - Opinion
Fight for equality continues 30 years after…
OPINION: The ADA is great, but my personal experience shows enforcement is key to curbing discrimination in Oregon

We need more affordable housing, for all of us

The Times - Opinion
We need more affordable housing, for all of us
OPINION: We cannot allow the gap between the wages and the cost of living to get too large.

Measure 110 can change (and save) lives

The Times - Opinion
Measure 110 can change (and save) lives
OPINION: We need to treat addiction like the sickness it is, rather than as a crime.

Achieving equity: Oregon students deserve a…

The Times - Opinion
Achieving equity: Oregon students deserve a…
OPINION: If public schools can't provide a full day of instruction, parents should get a refund and explore other options

Addiction is a health issue that deserves a…

The Times - Opinion
Addiction is a health issue that deserves a…
Opinion: As medical providers we know incarceration doesn't equal treatment. That's why we're voting 'yes' on Measure 110.

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 17, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 17, 2020
Readers share their take on 'social distancing,' flood preparedness and more. (There's even a poem in here!)

Our Opinion: Swift action needed to address Oregon…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Swift action needed to address Oregon…
Global warming is here and the effects are devastating, but good policy can mitigate the dire consequences.

Put Oregon's youth on a healthier path with Measure…

The Times - Opinion
Put Oregon's youth on a healthier path with Measure…
OPINION: We know that the tobacco industry targets youth. We need to act to curb youth vaping.

Anyone can help during disasters, train as CERT…

The Times - Opinion
Anyone can help during disasters, train as CERT…
Citizen volunteers in Community Emergency Response Teams busy during wildfire evacuations.

Invest in your disaster preparedness plan

The Times - Opinion
Invest in your disaster preparedness plan
OPINION: Better Business Bureau recommends important steps to be ready when, not if, disaster strikes.

Random acts of kindness, and don't forget the coffee

The Times - Opinion
Random acts of kindness, and don't forget the coffee
OPINION: Chop Chop Chicken Sundaes food truck provides free meals for evacuees and law enforcement during fires.

Leadership, compromise in Congress needed to save…

The Times - Opinion
Leadership, compromise in Congress needed to save…
OPINION: Businesses are in need of help, and they need legislation that supports their recovery.

A personal memorial for Patriot Day

The Times - Opinion
A personal memorial for Patriot Day
OPINION: Forest Grove Mayor Pete Truax remembers the sacrifices and sorrow of Sept. 11, 2001, and you should too.

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 10, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 10, 2020
This expanded mailbag includes political letters that don't appear in this week's print edition.

They're petitioners, not protesters

The Times - Opinion
They're petitioners, not protesters
OPINION: Demonstrators are exercising a right guaranteed to all of us by the First Amendment.

Our Opinion: Extreme weather and disease won't just…

The Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Extreme weather and disease won't just…
The challenges vexing us now are challenges we will likely have to continue to deal with as our world changes.

Oregon climate change order should focus on carbon…

The Times - Opinion
Oregon climate change order should focus on carbon…
OPINION: Farmers and foresters can play a big role in curbing global warming if the state supports their efforts

Psilocybin therapy could help Oregonians who suffer…

The Times - Opinion
Psilocybin therapy could help Oregonians who suffer…
OPINION: It's time to shed the stigma over mental health and expolore this 'breakthrough' therapy

Vote no on Metro's new payroll tax for…

The Times - Opinion
Vote no on Metro's new payroll tax for…
North Clackamas Chamber of Commerce Board votes to oppose bond slated to appear on the November ballot

Restricting Oregon's stable supply of hydropower…

The Times - Opinion
Restricting Oregon's stable supply of hydropower…
OPINION: Flexible spills, not dam breaching, is the best way to protect the region's fish populations

Simple, everyday actions can help preserve Oregon's…

The Times - Opinion
Simple, everyday actions can help preserve Oregon's…
OPINION: What my Mexican grandma taught me about conservation (Hint: it involves Tupperware)

Letters to the Editor: Sept. 3, 2020

The Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Sept. 3, 2020
The parents of a man who died in a motorcycle crash and a supporter of a Republican legislative candidate write in.

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

special edition flipbookspecial edition flipbook

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework