Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Our Opinion: Another money measure charges into Valley of…

Our Opinion: Another money measure charges into Valley of…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Like the doomed cavalry of Lord Tennyson's poem, tax increases keep going before skeptical Tigard voters.
Fruits: We need to think big on I-5 bridge project

Fruits: We need to think big on I-5 bridge project

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'An I-5 replacement that does nothing to improve the flow of goods and people is a waste of money.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 16, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 16, 2020

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our weekly mailbag contains thoughts on 5G, local taxation in Tigard and a Wilsonville library display.
From the Publisher: Don't worry. We're still here.

From the Publisher: Don't worry. We're still here.

The Times - Opinion
'Unfortunately, the days are gone when we could count on our advertising to completely sustain us.'
Our Opinion: It could happen here

Our Opinion: It could happen here

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Oregon experienced devastating forest fires in 2017 and 2018. What is happening in Australia dwarfs them.
Stride: Planting riparian zones helps the Tualatin River

Stride: Planting riparian zones helps the Tualatin River

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Creation of riparian zones along the Tualatin River and its tributaries will allow it to run cold, clean and clear.'
Frazier: OK boomer, it's time for 'the talk'

Frazier: OK boomer, it's time for 'the talk'

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Rather than birds and bees, this generation needs to talk about wills and trustees.'
Unander: Tell Wyden to stop holding up copyright protections

Unander: Tell Wyden to stop holding up copyright protections

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Violators are essentially free to reproduce, publish and profit from works they did not create and have no rights to.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 9, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 9, 2020

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our readers' mailbag includes letters about climate action and Beaverton's city priorities.
Our Opinion: Our wishes for 2020

Our Opinion: Our wishes for 2020

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
We wish for peace, sustainability and the good health of journalism in the New Year.
Field: 2010s were a decade of perseverence for small…

Field: 2010s were a decade of perseverence for small…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Our economy and our communities wouldn't be what they are today without the perseverance of entrepreneurs.'
Kullberg: Don't use 'junk' science to guide policy

Kullberg: Don't use 'junk' science to guide policy

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Covanta can no longer spin itself as the most climate-friendly alternative we have.'
Our Opinion: Supporting local news more important than ever

Our Opinion: Supporting local news more important than ever

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Costs are rising and print advertising is falling, but our mission of informing the public is still vital.
Kane: 'Secret Sister' gift exchange still making the rounds

Kane: 'Secret Sister' gift exchange still making the rounds

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'This online exchange with people you've never met is actually a pyramid scheme -- and it is illegal.'
Cook: 'Rural-Urban Interface Through Active Agriculture'

Cook: 'Rural-Urban Interface Through Active Agriculture'

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
A poem about the Stafford Hamlet, land-use planning, the rural-urban divide and agriculture.
Inan: A number of reasons to celebrate Gert Boyle

Inan: A number of reasons to celebrate Gert Boyle

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Thanks for all your contributions to our lives, Gertrude Boyle. I hope you rest in peace.'
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 19, 2019

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 19, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Readers correct our grammar, explain their school's new mission and comment on our editorial.
Our Opinion: We need your help to save local journalism

Our Opinion: We need your help to save local journalism

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
We've fared far better than many, but the path toward sustainability means relying more on our readers.
Dettmer: Strengthening our service by working together

Dettmer: Strengthening our service by working together

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'The winner is clear -- it's the public that has improved access to shared resources.'
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 12, 2019

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 12, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Readers share their thoughts on elder care, surprise medical billing and more.
Bonamici: Bill would help us care for aging parents

Bonamici: Bill would help us care for aging parents

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'We have a moral obligation to care for those who came before us. ... It is now our turn to care for them.'
Carvalho: TriMet needs to look at why MAX ridership is flat

Carvalho: TriMet needs to look at why MAX ridership is flat

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Any transit improvements need to make the lines we already have more desirable.'
Burton: The meat and potatoes of healthy eating

Burton: The meat and potatoes of healthy eating

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Make sure that in every meal you eat, half of it is comprised of fruits and vegetables.'
Field: Small businesses are 'experiential shopping'…

Field: Small businesses are 'experiential shopping'…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Small Business Saturday ... is set to build on a decade of success and rally even more communities.'
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 28, 2019

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 28, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our weekly mailbag runneth over with thoughts on climate action, road expansion, water rates and more.
Our Opinion: 'Give Local' in Washington County

Our Opinion: 'Give Local' in Washington County

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
This holiday season, there are some very worthy causes for giving in our local area.
Davis: Regardless of ZIP code, Oregonians have same concerns

Davis: Regardless of ZIP code, Oregonians have same concerns

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'Take notice, local political candidates and ballot measure campaigns. Elected public officials: You, too.'
Kane: As holiday shopping revs up, so do scammers

Kane: As holiday shopping revs up, so do scammers

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'The last thing a consumer needs is to be scammed out of their hard-earned money.'
Tyson & Burgwin: This is not the TriMet we signed up for

Tyson & Burgwin: This is not the TriMet we signed up for

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'We began working here because we saw a transit organization offering a career, not just a job.'
Baptista: Trump's attacks on Ambassador Yovanovitch are…

Baptista: Trump's attacks on Ambassador Yovanovitch are…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
'His Tweets, falsely denigrating Ms. Yovanovitch in real time, should be deeply distressing to all Americans.'

Burton: To get ahead in the workplace, get ahead at…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Burton: To get ahead in the workplace, get ahead at…
'All it takes to boost performance is 30 to 60 minutes of increased heart rate.'

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 21, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 21, 2019
In our weekly mailbag, readers respond to recent articles published in The Times.

Our Opinion: With growth comes change, but it's not…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: With growth comes change, but it's not…
Beaverton, Tigard and other local cities are growing and challenging what it means to be 'suburban.'

Our Opinion: Spend enough to get light rail right

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Spend enough to get light rail right
It's a good thing that regional planners have backed off an idea to reduce lane capacity on Highway 99W.

Cordie: A new look and feel for Sherwood School…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Cordie: A new look and feel for Sherwood School…
'It is essential to hear from as many voices as possible during this process.'

González & Chase: Use construction boom to boost…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
González & Chase: Use construction boom to boost…
'Construction is one of the few industries that can provide a family-sustaining career without a college degree.'

Adams: Legislature peddles harmful fix to housing…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Adams: Legislature peddles harmful fix to housing…
'What the state Legislature has done this year with House Bill 2001 indefensibly violates local zoning.'

Gallagher: A father he never knew

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Gallagher: A father he never knew
'He tells a story that sounds like it could be right out of the novel/miniseries 'Winds of War.''

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2019
Our mailbag includes letters about impeaching President Donald Trump and the benefits of climate action.

Prusak: Correcting the record on middle housing

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Prusak: Correcting the record on middle housing
'Ensuring our communities have adequate housing is too important for us to ignore or fight against.'

Burton: Breakfast, the most important meal of the…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Burton: Breakfast, the most important meal of the…
'The difficulty is in finding ways to eat a healthier breakfast and doing it consistently.'

Riddle: Surprise medical bills hit some harder

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Riddle: Surprise medical bills hit some harder
'Surprise medical bills ... can be a major driver in the creation of a medical debt burden.'

Our Opinion: Be a smart and safe driver

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Be a smart and safe driver
This Halloween, whether you're driving or trick-or-treating, make safety a priority.

ENDORSEMENT: Natural areas need voters' support

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
ENDORSEMENT: Natural areas need voters' support
Metro is an awkward, maybe even overstuffed bureaucracy. But Measure 26-203 does good things. We recommend a yes vote.

Bonilla: Building awareness of the monsters in…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Bonilla: Building awareness of the monsters in…
'Cybercrime can be frightful, and everyone -- including your children -- can fall victim.'

Fast: Have your say on equitable transportation in…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Fast: Have your say on equitable transportation in…
'Mode shift alone can add capacity, since bicycles are smaller than cars, and buses hold many more people...'

Reynolds & Turnock: Bipartisan hope emerging on…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Reynolds & Turnock: Bipartisan hope emerging on…
'Carbon pricing that includes a revenue return to Americans has four-to-one support among all voters.'

Letters to the Editor: Oct. 24, 2019

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Oct. 24, 2019
Our weekly mailbag features brief thoughts on Greta Thunberg and the Cascade Policy Institute.

Our Opinion: Highway 99W needs to be enhanced, not…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Highway 99W needs to be enhanced, not…
Officials should abandon any thought of taking lanes away and should designate it a priority corridor.

Kane: Video games pose serious cyber risks

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Kane: Video games pose serious cyber risks
'Since October is Cybersecurity Month, BBB is talking about how to stay safe.'

Graser-Lindsey: Metro's attitude to recycling is…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Graser-Lindsey: Metro's attitude to recycling is…
'More recycling could be achieved simply by using more segregated bins for paper, metal and plastics.'

Smith: WES can be a solution to MAX quandary

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Smith: WES can be a solution to MAX quandary
'Let's learn from our past mistakes, and add two cheap and easy WES stops to serve the Bridgeport area.'

Letter: Don't panic about climate change

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Letter: Don't panic about climate change
James Caster responds to Anika Pillai's Oct. 10, 2019, commentary about climate action.

Our Opinion: Battered but unbowed in our mission

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Battered but unbowed in our mission
It's National Newspaper Week, and the newspaper business is looking ragged. But we're staying in the fight.

Chavern: News media essential to First Amendment…

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Chavern: News media essential to First Amendment…
'Long before social media came onto the scene, news media have enabled us to exercise all five freedoms.'

Lee: Learning about disability etiquette

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Lee: Learning about disability etiquette
'Understand how to speak with a person who has just told you they have chronic illness or disability.'

Pillai: The time is now to fight climate change

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Pillai: The time is now to fight climate change
'We have to get involved. ... There is no halfway or good enough. This is an emergency.'

Our Opinion: Don't let light rail bottleneck Barbur

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Don't let light rail bottleneck Barbur
Isn't the point of a transportation mega-project to make it easier to get around, not harder?

Field: Military spouses make great entrepreneurs

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Field: Military spouses make great entrepreneurs
'Entrepreneurship is a strong alternative to employment for military spouses.'

Cook: Failed Metro vows should worry levy voters

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Cook: Failed Metro vows should worry levy voters
'If Chehalem Ridge is really Metro's next big success story, why hasn't it become a reality?'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine