Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Sherwood seniors Colin Anderson, Carter Atkins, Jackson Barton garner top football honors

TIMES PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Sherwood senior Carter Atkins (56) was named the Defensive Lineman of the Year, and senior Jackson Barton (63) shared the Offensive Lineman of the Year honor.After a brutal non-league schedule, the Sherwood High School football team was ready for its debut season in Pacific Conference play.

The Bowmen proved to be the one of the best in the new league, taking the No. 2 spot in Pacific Conference play at 3-1 (5-6 overall for the season), while battling their way into the second round of the Class 6A state playoffs.

Now, many of the Sherwood players have been honored for their play in conference action, earning All-Pacific Conference accolades.

On the defensive side of the ball, senior safety Colin Anderson led the way for the Bowmen, as he shared Pacific Conference Defensive Player of the Year honors with Liberty junior Marquis Brown.

Sherwood senior Carter Atkins was named the Pacific Conference Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Carter was a unanimous All-Pacific Conference first-team selection on the defensive line, as was Sherwood senior Jackson Barton.

Bowmen juniors Nick Severson and Logan Carr were unanimous first-team picks at linebacker. Sherwood senior Noah Beeks was a first-team pick at cornerback and Anderson was a first-team selection at safety.

TIMES PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Sherwood junior Logan Carr (52) was a unanimous first-team pick at linebacker, and senior Ian Stormont was a unanimous first-team pick at running back.Sherwood senior lineman Sebastian Heymann, senior cornerback Michael Klapp and senior safety Ben Baxter were each All-Pacific Conference second-team picks on defense. Junior lineman Blake Jensen, sophomore linebacker Bryan Cuthbertson, senior linebacker Kaden Rhinehart, senior linebacker Jacob Reuter and junior linebacker Ian Glenn each earned honorable-mention all-conference accolades on defense.

On the offensive side of the ball, Barton shared the Lineman of the Year honor with Liberty senior Diego Rodriguez. Barton also was a first-team pick on offense at a guard spot.

Sherwood senior Ian Stormont was a unanimous first-team all-conference pick at running back.

Sherwood sophomore tackle Noah Culbertson, Atkins at center and junior running back Jamison Guerra were each second-team all-conference selections.

Severson at tackle, Glenn and Cuthbertson at guard, senior tight end Isaac Day, Reuter at receiver, sophomore running back Clay Peden, senior running back Ryan Scroggin and Baxter, at running back, each was an honorable-mention all-conference pick.

Sherwood junior Kaeden Steindorf was the all-conference first-team selection at kicker.

Liberty senior quarterback Brad Norman was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Liberty's Eric Mahlum was tabbed the Pacific Conference Coach of the Year.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework