Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Bowmen baseball and softball players earn Pacific Conference all-league selections

PMG PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Sherwood High School senior Sage Dunaway, who shined at the plate and on the mound for the Bowmen, was named the Pacific Conference Player of the Year.Sage Dunaway certainly did a lot of good things for the Sherwood High School baseball team this past season.

Dunaway, a senior for the Bowmen, was a key batter at the top of the Sherwood lineup. He also was a strong defensive player in center field. Dunaway also was a solid, left-handed pitcher for the Bowmen, as he helped lead the team to a 12-6 record in Pacific Conference play (17-11 overall), and a berth in the Class 6A state playoffs.

Now, Dunaway is being honored for all he did, as he's been named the Pacific Conference Player of the Year for the 2019 season.

In conference play during the past season, Dunaway hit for a .373 batting average, with 22 hits in 59 at-bats. He also had four doubles, three triples, 14 runs scored and six RBIs.

On the mound during conference action, Dunaway had a 4-1 won-loss record with a 2.03 earned-run average. He also had 36 strikeouts, and just two walks, in 31 innings worked.

Dunaway, in addition to his Player of the Year honor, was also a first-team All-Pacific Conference pick as an outfielder, and a second-team selection as a pitcher.

PMG PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Sherwood High School senior Anthony Garrett (right) was a All-Pacific Conference first-team pick at both pitcher and shortstop.Meanwhile, Sherwood High School senior Anthony Garrett, was a first-team all-conference selection as an infielder, as he shined at shortstop for the Bowmen, and a first-team pick as a pitcher.

Sherwood junior catcher Kade Emmons and freshman first baseman Ian Umlandt were also All-Pacific Conference first-team selections.

Bowmen sophomore outfielder Jackson Hannan was an all-conference second-team selection.

Bowmen earning all-conference honorable-mention accolades include senior pitchers Braden Thorn and Everett Moore.

The rest of the All-Pacific Conference first team includes Century senior pitcher/outfielder Micky Thompson, Century junior pitcher/first baseman Ian Lawson, McMinnville senior pitcher Caden Slaughter, Forest Grove junior pitcher Rhett Larson, Forest Grove junior catcher Max Richards, Century senior infielder Jared Gordon, McMinnville senior infielder Colton Crawford, McMinnville senior infielder Sam DuPuis, Liberty junior infielder Jake Hoskins, Glencoe senior infielder Bryce Fornshell, McMinnville senior utility player Martin Lopez-Garcia, Century senior outfielder Blake Baccay and McMinnville senior outfielder Colton Smith.

The rest of the all-conference second team includes DuPuis at pitcher, Century senior catcher Alex Garcia, McMinnville senior catcher Kevin Sullivan, Century senior infielder Justyn Herzog, Century freshman infielder Niko Rosell, Newberg sophomore infielder Connor Hale, Newberg junior first baseman Connor Nipp and Liberty sophomore outfielder Ryan Miller.

Thompson was named the Pacific Conference Pitcher of the Year and Century's Mason Wright was tabbed the Coach of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Sherwood High School junior Emily Knott was an All-Pacific Conference second-team pick as an outfielder.Junior Emily Knott led the way for Sherwood in the Pacific Conference softball honorees, as she was an all-conference second-team selection as an outfielder.

Lady Bowmen players garnering honorable-mention accolades include senior pitcher Josie Reid, junior catcher Ema Kessler, sophomore shortstop McKenzie Abiley, junior second baseman Jordyn Moulett-Dozier, senior third baseman J.J. Pringle and junior utility player Olivia Dirks.

The all-conference first team includes Glencoe sophomore pitcher Dana Butterfield, McMinnville senior pitcher Payton Hudson, Newberg freshman pitcher Serayah Neiss, McMinnville junior catcher Kassidee Bates, Glencoe sophomore catcher Athena Van Dyke, Glencoe senior infielder Morgan DeBord, Century senior infielder Gavyn Shafer, McMinnville freshman infielder Brynn McManus, McMinnville junior infielder Megan Bomberger, Glencoe senior outfielder Jensen Becker, Glencoe junior outfielder Nici Eckhart, Liberty sophomore outfielder Natasha Stubbs, McMinnville freshman outfielder Maddie Powell, Newberg freshman utility player Haley Poff and McMinnville sophomore utility player Kayden Sullivan.

The all-conference second team includes Newberg sophomore pitcher Breanna Hilton, Liberty freshman pitcher Abby Blair, Liberty sophomore catcher Zoe Allen, Newberg sophomore infielder Katelynn Evans, Newberg freshman infielder Brooke Poff, Century senior infielder Adrenna Stratton, McMinnville sophomore outfielder Adrianna Powell, Newberg senior outfielder Samantha Teran, Newberg junior outfielder Lorelei Kern and Glencoe junior utility player Emma Ware.

Becker was named the Pacific Conference Player of the Year, Butterfield was tabbed the Pacific Conference Pitcher of the Year and Glencoe's Jason Eastman was named the Pacific Conference Coach of the Year.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework