Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Tualatin senior John Miller is also selected to the All-Three Rivers League first team

PMG PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Tigard High School junior Drew Carter (5) was named the Three Rivers League boys basketball Player of the Year for his performance in the 2019-20 season.The Three Rivers League runs deep with talented boys basketball players.

Everywhere you look, there seems to be a gifted athlete.

But, when it comes to the best of the best, at least in the eyes of the Three Rivers League coaches, it all points to Drew Carter.

Carter, a Tigard High School junior guard, was named the Three Rivers League boys basketball Player of the Year for his performance in the 2019-20 season.

Carter, who helped lead the young Tiger squad to an overall record of 16-10, and a berth in the second round of the Class 6A state playoffs, averaged 24.4 points a game for the season. He also had averages of 6.0 rebounds and 2.5 assists a game, in addition to sporting a 3.8 grade-point average.

"Drew is obviously a great player but what I'm most proud of is that he's an even better person," Tigard boys basketball coach Shawn Alderman said of Carter. "A lot of people get to see his talents on the football field and basketball court but I'm blessed to see, on a daily basis, his talents in our classrooms, hallways, and in our community."

Also for the Tigers, freshman guard Malik Brown was a second-team All-Three Rivers League selection. Senior wing Steven Long and junior wing Brett Moss were both all-league honorable-mention picks.

PMG PHOTO: DAN BROOD - Tualatin High School senior John Miller was named to the All-Three Rivers League boys basketball first team for his play during the 2019-20 season.For Tualatin, which finished in third place in the final league standings at 7-5 (13-12 overall), junior wing John Miller was an All-Three Rivers League first-team selection.

Tualatin senior guard Sam Noland was a second-team All-Three Rivers League selection. Also for the Timberwolves, sophomore wing Peter Burke and sophomore guard Malik Ross were both honorable-mention all-league picks.

Joining Carter and Miller on the All-Three Rivers League first team are West Linn senior Micah Garrett, Lake Oswego senior Casey Graver, Oregon City senior Andre Best, Canby junior Diego Arredondo and Lake Oswego junior Trace Salton.

Other selections to the All-Three Rivers League second team include West Linn freshman Jackson Shelstad, Lake Oswego senior Jack Chlumak, Oregon City senior Jake Gettel and West Linn senior Parker Durbin.

Other honorable-mention all-league picks include Canby sophomore Alex Evans, Lake Oswego senior Sam Abere, Lake Oswego senior Grant Brauner, Lakeridge senior Mason Nelson, Oregon City senior T.J. Warren, Oregon City senior Dalton Welch, West Linn senior Bryson Crockett and West Linn junior Gus Michelon.

Durbin and Abere shared the Three Rivers League Defensive Player of the Year honor. Lake Oswego's Marshal Cho was tabbed the Three Rivers League Coach of the Year.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework