Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Jesuit head coach Ken Potter earns Coach of the Year honors after leading the Crusaders to a Metro title.

PMG PHOTO: JOHN LARIVIERE - Westview's Darrius Clemons reaches for a ball during the Wildcats' game against Jesuit this past season. Clemons was the Metro League Offensive Player of the Year.Westview receiver Darrius Clemons is one of the state's best high school football players and one of the best receivers in the country, which is why it was a natural move for the Metro League coaches to honor Clemons as the league's Offensive Player of the Year.

Jesuit linebacker Johnny Miller and Westview's Drew Bennett earned Co-Defensive Player of the Year honors, while Miller's Crusaders coach Ken Potter was named the Coach of the Year.

Clemons — who's said to be deciding between Auburn and Oregon to play collegiately next year — played eight games for the Wildcats this season, catching 37 balls for 780 yards and 11 touchdowns. The 6-foot-3 speedster averaged more than 21-yards per catch and almost 100-yards per game for a Westview team that finished second in the Metro League and advanced to the second round of the state playoffs before losing to Tualatin.

Westview head coach Ryan Atkinson spoke glowingly about Clemons earlier this season, speaking to his ability both on the field and off.

"What I'm most proud about him is not necessarily what he does on the field, it's what he does off the field," Atkinson said. "He does things that leaders do, and he'll have a great career because of that. He's a hard worker and he takes care of his business."

Joining Clemons on the first team offense were three of his teammates: senior offensive lineman Bryce Cordell, junior quarterback Sam Leavitt, and junior running back Jordan Fisher.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Jack Layne (2) during the two teams' state quarterfinal. Miller was voted the Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Westview's Drew Bennett.Fisher was almost Clemons' equal from a lethality standpoint, rushing for 1467 yards and 23 touchdowns, averaging more than 10 yards a carry.

Jesuit led the league in first team offensive nominees, placing six Crusaders on the list including: offensive linemen Roice Cleeland, Sean Khouri, and Sylus Wallace, along with tight end Spencer McKelligon, fullback Noah Staley, and running back Michael Rincon.

Sunset put four players on the first team including: kicker Sam Harker, offensive lineman Will Taylo, receiver Hayden Hurley, and running back Caleb Kim.

Beaverton slotback Cristian Gonzales too earned a first team selection.

Joining Miller on the first team defense were five of his conference champion teammates including: defensive linemen Staley, McKelligan and Liam Cassidy, along with linebackers Garrett Speer and Tyree Blake, in addition to sophomore defensive back Jace Burton.

Westview first team defenders were led by Bennett — who finished the season with 44 tackles and eight interceptions — and was joined by defensive lineman Campbell Sager and defensive back Aaron Jones.

Rounding out the first team defensive selections were Sunset's Hurley (defensive back) and defensive lineman Mason Ebenal, along with Beaverton punter Trevon Hamilton and Mountainside linebacker Bowen Stinson.

Below is a full list of the Metro League football all-stars:

All-Metro League Football

Offensive Player of the Year

Darrius Clemons Westview

Defensive Player of the Year

Johnny Miller Jesuit

Coach of the Year

Ken Potter Jesuit

First Team


Darrius Clemons Westview

Sam Leavitt Westview

Noah Staley Jesuit

Jordan Fisher Westview

Michael Rincon Jesuit

Caleb Kim Sunset

Cristian Gonzales Beaverton

Hayden Hurley Sunset

Spencer McKelligon Jesuit

Roice Cleeland Jesuit

Sean Khouri Jesuit

Will Taylo Sunset

Bryce Cordell Westview

Sylus Wallace Jesuit

Sam Harker Sunset


Noah Staley Jesuit

Campbell Sager Westview

Spencer McKelligon Jesuit

Liam Cassidy Jesuit

Mason Ebenal Sunset

Johnny Miller Jesuit

Garrett Speer

Tyree Blake Jesuit

Bowen Stinson MtSide

Drew Bennett Westview

Hayden Hurley Sunset

Jace Burton Jesuit

Aaron Jones Westview

Trevon Hamilton Beaverton

Second Team


Brian Mannion MtSide

Joe Pribula MtSide

Caleb Paler MtSide

Jay Keuter Beaverton

Jace Burton Jesuit

Kyron Albright Beaverton

Keenan Speer-Johnson MtSide

Aiden Timbo Sunset

Anthony Perez Sunset

Bennett Raymond Jesuit

Landon Melton MtSide

Jackson Sager Westview

Joziah Perdido Beaverton

Kadyn Butcher Jesuit


Reed Gerber MtSide

Bryce Cordell Westview

Joziah Perdido Beaverton

Tomas Salcedo Hernandez Aloha

Johnny Collyer Westview

Aiden Timbo Sunset

Jacient Cox Sunset

Jackson Powell Southridge

Matt Lesowski Westview

Jake Viteznik Jesuit

Kadin Kingsbury MtSide

Nick Ferrero Jesuit

Kyron Albright Beaverton

Sam Harker Sunset

Third Team


Grady Newsom Sunset

Cypress Albright Southridge

Nick Ferrero Jesuit

Brock Jolie Westview

Zac Brown MtSide

Jackson Stiles MtSide

Kevin Cassidy MtSide

Campbell Sager Westview

Danny Battilega Southridge

Dylan Leigh Beaverton

Kiri Vogelsang Beaverton


Ethan Sanft Southridge

Vinny Allison Westview

Hayden Eiguren Beaverton

Quinn O'Connor MtSide

Blake Hurley Sunset

Cristian Gonzales Beaverton

Kaden Huppin Westview

Ethan Engstrom Beaverton

Alisjah Tucker Southridge

Jacob Hutchinson Jesuit

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top