Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



State champions Beaverton and Tualatin boast multiple honorees, while coaches Naro and Jukkala are Coaches of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: JAIME VALDEZ - Beaverton's Lainey Spear goes strong to the basket during the Beavers' state final game against Barlow Saturday, March 12. Spear was honored as the state's Girls Player of the Year. The all-state basketball teams were announced May 5 and surprising no one was the representation of girls state champion Beaverton, along with state boys champion Tualatin.

Beaverton junior Lainey Spear earned Girls State Player of the Year honors and was one of three Beavers receiving all-state honors, in addition to Beaverton head coach Kathy Naro who was honored as the state's Coach of the Year.

Following the state title game win over Barlow, Naro described Spear as "extremely strong, quick and explosive." She went on to speak to both her offensive, defensive and rebounding prowess, but additionally spoke to her grit as a huge determining factor in her success on the court.

"What I love the most about Lainey is her fierce competitiveness and attention to detail," Naro said. "Her future is so bright."

Spear's teammate, fellow junior Zoe Borter, was a second team selection who Naro said was offensively gifted, but added that it's her versatility that makes her such a threat.

"Her intelligence, poise and calm demeanor help everyone flourish," the coach said. "Her ability to use her length and smarts on the defensive side allow her to guard posts or guards. At 6-foot she can play point and create for others, be the main shooter in a shooting play or post people up on the block. She is a multidimensional player and a joy to coach."

Beaverton Junior point guard Madison Naro was an honorable mention selection.

Rounding out the first team selections were Clackamas freshman Jazzy Davidson, Benson sophomore Mahogany Chandler-Roberts, Lakeridge senior Reese Ericson, and South Medford junior Donovyn Hunter.

Girls second teamers were Borter, Sherwood sophomore Ava Heiden, Benson junior Malaya LeSueur, Barlow junior Kennedie Shuler, and Jesuit junior guard Emma Sixta.

Mountainside senior Lindsey Wilson also earned honorable mention.

On the boys side, West Linn junior Jackson Shelstad earned Player of the Year honors, while Tualatin head coach Todd Jukkala was the state's Coach of the Year.

Jukkala—like any good coach—took little credit for the award, pointing instead to his team and assistants as the primary reason for his success.

"It means that I have really good players," Jukkala said. "I was so lucky to have the opportunity to coach this team and these seniors. They were an amazing group of young men. It also means that I had a great coaching staff who are an amazing group as well."

Tualatin senior guard Noah Ogoli was a first team selection and was joined on the first team by Shelstad, Summit senior Julian Mora, Grant junior Adrian Mosley, and Central Catholic junior post Riley Williams.

Timberwolves senior Malik Ross was a second team selection, and Beaverton standout and Metro League Player of the Year Trevon Hamilton joined Ross on the second team.

Hamilton averaged nine points, 4.4 assists, 3.5 rebounds and 2.5 steals a game for the Beavers, and following the season Beaverton head coach Andrew Vancil spoke to Hamilton's versatility and unique presence on the court as invaluable to a Beavers team that finished 19-8 overall, making it to the state quarterfinals before losing to Tualatin.

PMG PHOTO: WADE EVANSON - Tualatin's Noah Ogoli soars in for a lay-up during the Timberwolves game against Lake Oswego Friday, March 4, at Tualatin High School., Times - Sports The Wolves' Malik Ross makes a pair of free throws in the game's final seconds to send Tualatin to the state tournament. Late Tualatin free throws sink Lake Oswego 45-44"Tre did not have a good shooting year for us but he was able to dominate games without being a dominate scorer," Vancil said via email following the season. "I can't remember the last time a player was voted Metro POY that did not average double figures. His defense in our zone changed the game for us."

Joining Hamilton and Ross on the second team were Summit senior Caden Harris, Roosevelt sophomore Terrence Hill, and South Medford senior Junior Sleezer.

Tigard juniors Kalim and Malik Brown, along with Mountainside's Dimitri Cohen earned honorable mention selections.

Below is the entire list of honorees:

All-State Basketball


First Team

Mahogany Chandler-Roberts Benson

Jazzy Davidson, Clackamas

Reese Ericson, Lakeridge

Donovyn Hunter, S. Medford

Lainey Spear, Beaverton

Second Team

Zoe Borter, Beaverton

Ava Heiden, Sherwood

Malaya LeSueur, Benson

Kennedie Shuler, Barlow

Emma Sixta, Jesuit

Honorable Mention

Lizzy Bennett, W. Salem

Peyton Gardner, Bend

Abby Graham, St. Mary's

Annie Koenig, Barlow

Abrianna Lawrence, Jefferson

Sierra Logue, S. Medford

Madison Naro, Beaverton

Keelie O'Hollaren, Lakeridge

Charlotte Richman, Wells


First Team

Julian Mora, Summit

Adrian Mosley, Grant

Noah Ogoli, Tualatin

Jackson Shelstad, W. Linn

Riley Williams, C. Catholic

Second Team

Trevon Hamilton, Beaverton

Caden Harris, Summit

Terrence Hill, Roosevelt

Malik Ross, Tualatin

Junior Sleezer, S. Medford

Honorable Mention

Jalen Atkins, Barlow

Kalim Brown, Tigard

Malik Brown, Tigard

Owen Caudle, Sherwood

Dimitri Cohen, Mountainside

Bryce Dyer, N. Medford

Winters Grady, Lake Oswego

Devon Malcolm, S. Medford

Dallon Morgan, Sprague

Trey Neff, N. Medford

Esyah Pippa-White, Gresham

Moroni Seely-Roberts, Lincoln

Zeke Viuhkola, W. Linn

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top