Chambers of commerce in Woodburn and Mount Angel seek nominations for upstanding citizens

Mount Angel

The Mount Angel Chamber of Commerce has announced it is seeking nominations from the community for its annual 2017 First Citizen Awards.

The First Citizen Award is given to a Mount Angel resident based on their record of service and contributions to the community.

If you know of someone that you feel does a great job giving back to Mount Angel, you are asked to nominate them for this award.

The form can also be used to nominate a Business of the Year and Special Award.

Nomination forms can be found on the Mount Angel Chamber of Commerce and the City of Mount Angel websites, and, respectively.

Forms can be dropped off at Columbia Bank or the Mount Angel Senior Center, or mailed to the chamber, P.O. Box 221, Mount Angel, OR 97362.

Forms are due Wednesday, Feb. 7.

Last year's winners were Lori Pavlicek as First Citizen, Noe Jines as Junior First Citizen, Ryan Kleinschmit as Volunteer of the Year, Randy Wavra and Kathy Wall as Distinguished Service winners, and Columbia Bank as Business of the Year.

The First Citizen banquet will be held Monday, March 19 at the Mount Angel Festhalle.


The Woodburn Area Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for its 67th annual Distinguished Service Awards, which acknowledge community members who have performed outstanding volunteer service and who are leaders in the community.

There are four award categories: Senior First Citizen, which is limited to a resident aged "50 years or better"; Junior First Citizen, which acknowledges someone younger than 50; Outstanding Youth, which is given to a high school or college student; and Outstanding Educator, which is given to a teacher, school support staff member or school administrator.

Nominations must be submitted by Monday, Feb. 12 at noon. Nominators can either fill out an online survey at or print out or email the nomination form found at Nominators can mail, fax, or email the forms to the Woodburn Area Chamber of Commerce.

The winners will be chosen by a selection committee of chamber members. The awards are given to people who have performed outstanding volunteer community service over several years, have participated in more than one community project or committee, give time outside their businesses, professions or vocations, and who provide recognized leadership in community affairs.

Last year's winners were Debbie Wolfer, who was named Senior First Citizen; Jason Horton, named Junior First Citizen; Graciela Martinez, named Outstanding Youth; and Geri Federico, named Outstanding Educator.

This year's award banquet will be held March 9 at the Woodburn Health Center.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine