Here's a primer of contested Republican and Democratic races that affect Woodburn area voters

Ballots are arriving for the 2018 Oregon primary elections. Candidacies are contested in several State Senate districts as well as Oregon's 5th Congressional District.

Incumbent 5th District Rep. Kurt Schrader is seeking re-election and faces a Democratic primary opponent in Peter Wright, a political outsider.

Wright entered the race in protest of Schrader's support for House Resolution 38, which allows concealed carry gun owners to carry in all 50 states, according to a column Wright wrote for the Lake Oswego Review in March.

The Republican 5th District primary is a three-way race between Mark Callahan, an information technology professional, Joey Nations, a policy analyst, and Robert Reynolds, a business development manager. None of the three candidates appear to have experience in government. Callahan ran for U.S. Senate against incumbent Ron Wyden (D) in 2016 and lost with 33 percent of the vote.

The three Republican candidates are running on similar platforms. According to their respective campaign websites, their platforms include building a border wall, passing balanced budget amendments and protecting the rights of gun owners under the Second Amendment.

House District 18 (Silverton/Mount Angel/Hubbard) Republican Rep. Rick Lewis is unopposed in the primary. Lewis will face either Democrat Barry Shapiro or Democrat Doug Culver.

Neither Democrat has previous political experience. Shapiro is a photography teacher, and Culver is an in-home care provider. Shapiro's platform supports affordable health care, protection of agricultural land and legal reform for Dreamers. Culver supports creating a sales tax, investing in public infrastructure and creating more affordable housing.

District 11 (Woodburn/Gervais/Salem) Sen. Peter Courtney faces newcomer Joyce Judy in the Democratic primary. Judy is a former IT professional currently serving as a member of the Salem Budget Committee and as land use chair of Northgate Neighborhood Association.

Joyce's campaign goals include developing a statewide plan to solve the homeless crisis in Oregon and supporting DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) citizenship.

The winner of the Democratic primary for District 11 will face the sole Republican candidate Greg Warnock, a program management executive and U.S. National Guard veteran. A charity founded by Warnock, the Oregon War Veterans Association, was shut down in 2014 by the Oregon Department of Justice, according to reporting by the Oregonian. The Department of Justice accused Warnock of using the charity to enrich himself and ordered him to pay $746,000 in restitution.

State District 13 (Keizer/St. Paul/Newberg) Republican incumbent Sen. Kim Thatcher is running unopposed in the primary.

Thatcher's Democratic challenger in the general election will be either Paul Diller, a law professor from Willamette University, or Sarah Grider, an educational assistant at Newberg High School and U.S. Army veteran.

Grider's campaign supports affordable health care, better wages for working families and laws that promote small business growth.

Diller's platform supports improving public transportation, increasing funding to public schools and improving public health.

Marion County Commissioner Republican Kevin Cameron is seeking re-election for Position 1 and faces registered nurse Mark Pease in the primary. Pease is a political newcomer. His voter's pamphlet entry does not list any campaign goals or a specific platform.

Teacher, attorney and activist Shelaswau Crier is unopposed as Democratic candidate for commission Position 1. Crier's platform includes improving mental health care and providing affordable housing.

A wide field of candidates are in the race for commissioner Position 2, with two Republicans and three Democrats vying for their parties' endorsements of the seat.

Republican Commissioner Janet Carlson is not seeking re-election. Republicans Colm Willis and Brad Nanke will face off for the Commissioner 2 position. Willis ran for U.S. House District 5 in 2016 and lost against Kurt Schrader with 43 percent of the vote. His platform includes saving Detroit Lake, building a third bridge over the Willamette River, and increasing funding to address homelessness. Nanke has served as a Salem city councilor since 2000 and is a member of the Board of Directors for the League of Oregon Cities. Nanke's platform includes streamlining government and cutting costs, environmental advocacy, and avoiding new taxes.

Three Democrats are fighting it out to run for Position 2: Marion County Clerk Bill Burgess, Silverton City Councilor Matthew Plummer, and Sadie Carney, an employee with the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development.

Plummer is health and safety coordinator for Marion County Risk Management and a Silverton city councilor since 2017. His campaign goals include support for affordable housing, clean energy and public lands.

Carney has worked as director of community relations for Cherriots, the Salem public transportation operator, and is currently policy analyst and communications manager for the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development. Her campaign's interests include affordable housing, homelessness and the opioid crisis.

House District 22 (Woodburn/Gervais/North Salem) Democrat Rep. Teresa Alonso Leon is running unopposed in the primary, as is her general election opponent, Republican Marty Heyen.

Heyen has served on the Salem Keizer School Board and Marion County Parks Commission.

Both House District 25 (Keizer/St. Paul/Newberg) Republican incumbent Bill Post and his general election challenger Democrat Dave McCall are unopposed in the primary.

McCall is a Keizer resident and former Salem branch manager of the security company Oregon Armored Service.

Aurora Rural Fire Protection District has placed a levy on the ballot, which would increase staffing to nine full-time firefighting positions (up from four), as well as pay for medical tools, safety equipment and repairs If passed, it will be $0.99 per $1,000 assessed value for five years beginning in fiscal year 2018-19. This would replace the five-year levy at $0.49 per $1,000 assessed value approved by voters in 2013.

The primary election is May 15. To locate an election drop box near you, visit

Patrick Evans



email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine