Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Academy of International Studies teacher Andy Beyer, a 1997 Woodburn High School graduate, received the award

COURTESY PHOTO - Andy BeyerA Woodburn teacher has been named the 2018 Oregon History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History based in New York.

Andy Beyer, who teaches history at Academy of International Studies on the Woodburn High School campus, has been a teacher in the district since 2002. He is a 1997 graduate of Woodburn High School and moved back to the community in 2010. His sons, Kellen and Quinn, participate in the dual language program in the Woodburn School District. He has a bachelor's degree in history from University of Oregon and a master's degree in teaching from Western Oregon University.

According to a press release, Beyer creates an engaging classroom culture where students begin to see the world from many different perspectives. His classroom is a place where all students believe they can be successful and his teaching is designed to help them achieve the high standards set by the International Baccalaureate program, the release said.

In addition to a $1,000 honorarium and an award ceremony in Oregon, Beyer's school library at Woodburn High School will receive a core archive of American history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials. Beyer will also receive an invitation to a 2019 Gilder Lehrman Teacher Seminar, a weeklong program that offers teachers daily discussions with eminent historians, visits to historic sites and hands-on work with primary sources.

Inaugurated in 2004, the History Teacher of the Year Award highlights the importance of history education by honoring exceptional American history teachers from elementary school through high school, the release stated. The award honors one K-12 teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and U.S. Territories.

The National History Teacher of the Year will be selected from the pool of state winners and announced on Oct. 10. That award, which has been presented in past years by the likes of former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor and former First Lady Laura Bush, will be presented by Professor Edward Ayers at a ceremony in New York City.

Students, parents, colleagues and supervisors can now nominate K-12 teachers for the 2019 award by visiting The deadline for 2019 nominations is March 30, 2019.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework