Current Hubbard city councilors aren't running again, but Hubbard still sees contested race

Nov. 6 is rapidly approaching and the deadline has passed for prospective candidates hoping to run in local city elections.

In Woodburn the mayor's seat and three city council seats are open. Longtime Mayor Kathy Figley announced earlier this year that she would not be seeking re-election. Ward Five city councilor Frank Lonergan will face off against former Woodburn School District administrator Eric Swenson to fill Figley's shoes in the mayoral race. The Ward Five seat Lonergan is giving up will be a contest between two political newcomers, Mary Beth Cornwell and Juan Arriaga. Ward Five is in the south central portion of Woodburn from the area around Parr Road and Brown Street north to West Hayes Street and the southern portion of the Woodburn Estates & Golf.

City Councilors Robert Carney and Sharon Schaub are running unopposed. Carney represents Ward Three, which mostly includes the OGA Golf Course and Tukwila housing development, and Sharon Schaub represents Ward Four, which includes Woodburn Estates and Woodburn Estates Mobile Park.

Woodburn Fire District put a local option levy on the ballot for Woodburn voters this year. The levy would allow the fire district to hire a full-time paramedic and maintain four full-time firefighters on duty at all times. if the levy fails to pass, however, fire officials have said they will likely have to lay off two full-time firefighters. If approved the levy would raise the fire district's total property tax rate to $2.14, including the $1.60 permanent rate and the 19 cent capital bond approved by voters in 2002.

In Hubbard, Mayor Charles Rostocil is running unopposed for another term, and two open city council seats are being contested by Jessica Countryman, Michelle Dodge and Robert Prinslow, who is also a Woodburn police officer. Councilor Angie Wheatcroft is not seeking re-election, and Michelle Luna, who was appointed to council in 2017, will also be missing from the ballot.

In Gervais, Mayor Shanti Platt is running unopposed for another term. Incumbents John Harvey and Wes Leiva are running against challenger Robb Ladd in a three-way race for two open council seats.

In Mount Angel, Mayor Andrew Otte is running unopposed, and incumbents Ray Eder and Don Fleck are running alongside newcomer Matt Donohue for three open council seats. Councilor Karl Bischoff is not seeking re-election.

In Donald, Mayor Rick Olmstead will face off against councilor Brad Oxenford. If Oxenford wins, that will leave his current council seat vacant, which is up for re-election in 2020. Councilors Fred Hartley and Abby Hungate will not be running for re-election. Councilor Katie Gonzalez, planning commissioner Gerry Waller and Troy Hellickson are running for council seats, leaving one seat vacant.

In Aurora Mayor Bill Graupp is running for reelection and is challenged by city councilor Kris Taylor-Salle. Salle's Position One seat is open in a race between Tom Potter and Planning Commission member Tara Weidman. Position Two is a race between incumbent Brian Asher and Jerry King. King is a retired math and music teacher from Tigard-Tualatin School District.

In St. Paul Mayor Kimball Wallis is running unopposed for another term. Councilors Rosemary Koch and Velma Amaya-Medina are running for re-election in a three-way race for two open seats with outsider Peggie Sellers.

Patrick Evans



email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine