The regular Woodburn City Council meeting on Dec. 10 included swearing in new councilors, mayor

COURTESY PHOTO: WOODBURN PROUD - Eric Swenson in sworn in as Woodburn's mayor by City Recorder Heather Pierson at the Dec. 10 Woodburn City Council meeting.Woodburn has a new mayor for the first time since 2002.

Eric Swenson was sworn in as the city of Woodburn's new mayor at the regular City Council meeting Dec. 10. He replaces Kathy Figley, who decided not to run this year after serving as the city's longest running mayor ever. She has been mayor for 16 years.

Councilors Robert Carney, Sharon Schaub and Mary Beth Cornwell were also sworn in Monday night. Carney and Schaub ran unopposed for re-election for their respective seats while Cornwell takes the seat in Ward Five previous filled by Frank Lonergan.

Lonergan, who has been on the council for 12 years, opted to run for the mayor race rather than seek re-election, but he fell about 240 votes short of Swenson.

Swenson honored both Figley and Lonergan at the meeting after the passing of the gavel.

"Together they have devoted more than a quarter of a century to the people of Woodburn," Swenson said. "Because of their work, Woodburn is not only decidedly better off than when it began but well positioned to be an even more vibrant community in the next 25 years."

COURTESY PHOTO: CITY OF WOODBURN - Incoming Mayor Eric Swenson presents a framed photo collage to outgoing Mayor Kathy Figley Dec. 10 as a parting gift, thanking her for her many years of service to the city.He added that Woodburn Proud will sponsor a banquet to honor the outgoing leaders either Jan. 19 or Feb. 8.

Sean O'Day from Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments also honored Figley, who has served as a member of the board since 2009. She is one of their longest serving board members as well.

Also at the meeting, the Woodburn boys soccer team was celebrated, after winning its third state championship in a row. The team members were presented with the key to the city.

Other council business included Carney being elected council president.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine