Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Several area city officials have been elected to to serve on the Oregon City/County Management Association board

A number of mid-Willamette Valley city officials were elected to serve with the Oregon City/County Management Association (OCCMA) in 2021 during the League of Oregon Cities' 95th Annual Conference held on Oct.15.

The conference was held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic.PMG FILE PHOTO - Donald City Manager Heidi Bell

Among those serving will be Gervais City Manager Susie Marston, Donald City Manager Heidi Bell, Molalla City Manager Dan Huff, Salem City Manager Steve Powers and Wilsonville Assistant City Manager Zoe Monahan.

"I am the president-elect of OCCMA; Susie will be president in 2022," Powers explained. "Susie and Dan have provided valuable contributions on training for city managers and sharing lessons learned on infrastructure, community development, and other city issues. Heidi will be a spirited contributor when she joins the board in 2021."PMG FILE PHOTO - Gervais City Manager Susie Marston

The purpose of the OCCMA is to increase the knowledge and ability of local government administrators and managers, to promote the exchange of information between the members and to support the functions and the aims of the International City/County Management Association, according to League of Oregon Cities spokesman Kevin Toon. OCCMA is an affiliate organization of the League of Oregon Cities.

Newport City Manager Spencer Nebel, who is the 2021 past president, said OCCMA helps guide civic officials in their relationships with elected officials and helps define protocol within the civic-service profession. Members also share ideas and guidance on how to handle specific situations or incidents.PMG FILE PHOTO - Molalla City Manager Dan Huff

"There is really quite a concentration of city managers (active in OCCMA) from your leadership area," Nebel said. "That speaks well of the professionalism and engagement in that part of the state."

OCCMA also produces a professional development magazine or newsletter that is distributed to all the members in the association.

The League also selected its 2021 board of directors during the annual conference. Among those who will serve on the board are Woodburn City Manager Scott Derickson and Keizer City Councilor Roland Hererra.PMG FILE PHOTO - Woodburn City Manager Scott Derickson


The following city officials were named to the OCCMA Board of Directors for the calendar year 2021.

President: Steve Powers, City Manager, Salem

Past President: Spencer Nebel, City Manager, Newport

President-Elect: Susie Marston, City Manager, Gervais

Secretary-Treasurer: Mike Cully, Executive Director, League of Oregon Cities

Directors: Heidi Bell, City Manager, Donald; Adam Brown, City Manager, Ontario; Rachael Fuller, City Manager, Hood River; Dan Huff, City Manager, Molalla; Zoe Monahan, Asst. City Manager, Wilsonville; Aaron Palmquist, City Manager, Irrigon; Brian Sjothun, City Manager, Medford;

John Walsh, City Manager, St. Helens.


The following are the city officials that were named to the LOC's governing board for the calendar year 2021.

President: Keith Mays, Mayor, Sherwood

Vice President: Taneea Browning, Councilor, Central Point

Treasurer: Steve Callaway, Mayor, Hillsboro

Past President: Jake Boone, Councilor, Cottage Grove

Directors: Arlene Burns, Mayor, Mosier; Scott Derickson, City Manager, Woodburn; Drew Farmer, Councilor, Coos Bay; Peter Hall, Councilor, Haines; Roland Herrera, Councilor, Keizer; Beach Pace, Councilor, Hillsboro; Dean Sawyer, Mayor, Newport; Byron Smith, City Manager, Hermiston; Kevin Stine, Councilor, Medford; Steve Uffelman, Mayor, Prineville; John Walsh, City Manager, St. Helens.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework