Scholarship winners who exemplified community service include four high school students

COURTESY OF WOODBURN KIWANIS - Woodburn Kiwanis ClubThe Woodburn Kiwanis Club has announced its four scholarship recipients for this year -- all high school students who exhibited exceptional community service.

The recipients are: Aide Robles Rodriguez, Woodburn High School Academy of International Studies, $1,000; Jonathan Cervantes, Woodburn High School Wellness, Business and Sports School, $1,000; Alondra Ruiz Contreras, North Marion High School, $1,000; Kayla Hudock, North Marion High School, "Tom Tennant Memorial Scholarship," $2,500.

Recipients will receive the scholarship money for the second quarter of next school year. Funds will help offset the cost of books, lab fees and tuition. All recipients were active in as many school activities as possible amid COVID-19 protocols.

A Kiwanis press release noted: "They still found creative ways to safely give back to their respective communities and their local schools. These students know the meaning of giving back and it really showed in their applications."

Woodburn Kiwanis Club President James Audritsh said the club was very proud of the students and the many other students who applied.

"We were able to help more students, and with a greater number of dollars, thanks to the members of our community." Audritsh said. "Woodburn Kiwanis Club raises funds by hosting their annual Bark Dust Sale, assisting with the annual Tulip Festival and assisting with the Woodburn Company Stores' Thanksgiving Sale Weekend."

Woodburn Kiwanis Club is a local service club that meets on Tuesdays at noon, alternating between Zoom and in-person meetings on the second and fourth Tuesdays at the Metropolis Event Center, 347 N. Front St., Woodburn.

For information or to join, contact the club through Facebook at Woodburn Kiwanis or call Audritsh at 503-951-2366.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.