Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Wins may be enough to propel some cowboys to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo; DuPerier breaks barrel racing record

PHIL HAWKINS - 2015 St. Paul PBR champion Chase Robbins, 19, of Marsing, Idaho was one of only three riders to last the full eight seconds.Winning a title at the St. Paul Rodeo not only brings acclaim, a large check and crucial points in the race to qualify for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, but it also comes with a unique trophy: a golden buckle.

Jessy Davis won his first St. Paul golden buckle in bareback riding in 2008 and will add another to his trophy case back in Power, Montana, after winning in bareback again last week at the 80th Annual St. Paul Rodeo.

“They give great buckles,” Davis said. “They’re awesome buckles. St. Paul has been around forever and it’s one of those deals you just like looking at.”

Davis, who was one of nine competitors to earn a buckle during four days of competition at the St. Paul rodeo grounds, scored an 87 — identical to his winning score in 2008 — on his ride of Korkow Rodeo’s Foxy Lady, earning a check for $10,000.

It proved to be an excellent Cowboy Christmas — the busiest week for rodeo competitors — for Davis, who also tied for second at West Jordan, Utah and tied or fourth at Oakley City, Utah to move into 16th place in the PRCA world standings. Only the top 15 riders in each event make the lucrative year-end event.

Five-time steer wrestling world champion Luke Branquinho has pretty much assured himself a spot at the NFR, as he took home his second St. Paul title with a time of 8.8 seconds on two head. The victory helped propel him to No. 4 in the PRCA world rankings and was his first in St. Paul since 2006.

His recent success has been especially satisfying after suffering a shoulder injury in the spring that forced him to sit out for five weeks.

“It wasn’t all bad,” he said. “I got to catch all of the baseball season for my kids.”

2013 world champion tie-down Roper Shane Hanchey won his first title in St. Paul, furthering was has also been a strong Cowboy Christmas.

Hanchey was fifth after the first round, but won the second round with an 8.2-second run. His total time of 17.3 seconds was good enough for the win and $9,423. “I’ve always had good luck there,” Hanchey said of St. Paul. “I set the arena record there in 2011, but still finished second in the average. It’s a different rodeo, and it’s one that we all want to win. I really like the way the buckle looks, and I couldn’t be happier winning there.”

Cowgirl Callie DuPerier clocked a time of 16.38 seconds to not only win the barrel racing event, but also broke the arena record of 16.63, which had stood since 2001.

This year’s all-around champion was Jordan Ketscher, who collected $2,442 in tie-down roping and team roping.

Erich Rogers and Cory Petska paired up to win the team roping competition, clocking 10.3 seconds on two head.

Taos Muncy scored 87 points aboard Korkow Rodeo’s Rekker to take home the saddle bronc title, beating out four riders who scored 85.

St. Paul’s bull-riding competition saw a tie for the second consecutive year after three cowboys shared the title a year ago.

Brennon Eldred, who rode Corey & Lange Rodeo’s Totally Annoying, and Ty Pozzobon, who sat atop C&L’s Chucky) both scored 86 points.

All told, St. Paul handed out $327,357 at this year’s rodeo.

Results from the 2015 St. Paul Rodeo


1. Chase Robbins — Marsing, Idaho, 86

2. Keith Roquemore — Cottonwood, Calif., 81.5

3. Clint Johnson — Baker City, 66

Bareback Riding

1. Jessy Davis — Power, Mont., 87 points

2. Will Lowe — Canyon, Texas 86

T3. Tyler Nelson, Victor, Idaho, 85

T3. Jake Brown — Hillsboro, Texas, 85

T3. Nick Gutzwiler — Edwall, Wash., 85

T6. Josi Young — Buhl, Idaho, 84

T6. R.C. Landingham — Pendleton, 84

T6. Jared Smith — Eastland, Texas, 84

T6 Mason Clements, Sandy, Utah, 84

Steer Wrestling

1. Luke Branquinho —Los Alamos, Calif.. 8.8 seconds

2. Clayton Hass — Terrell, Texas 9.0;

3. Austin Manning — Kuna, Idaho 9.5;

4. Cole Edge — Durant, Okla. 10.1;

5. K.C. Jones — Decatur, Texas 10.5;

6. Kyle Irwin — Robertsdale, Ala. 10.6;

7. Blake Knowle — Heppner, 11.1;

8. Josh Garner — Live Oak, Calif. 11.2.

Bull riding

T1. Brennon Eldred — Sulphur, Okla., 86 points

T1. Ty Pozzobon — Merritt, British Columbia, 86

T3. Shane Proctor, Grand Coulee, Wash., 85

T3. Cain Smith — Pendleton, 85

T5. Tim Bingham — Honeyville, Utah, 84

T5. Jeff Askey — Martin, Tenn. 84

T7. Dustin Bowen — Waller, Texas, 82

T7. Trey Benton III — Rock Island, Texas, 82

Tie Down Roping

1. Shane Hanchey — Sulphur, La. 17.3 seconds

2. Monty Lewis — Hereford, Texas, 18.0

3. Tuf Cooper — Decatur, Texas, 18.3

4. J.C. Malone — Hooper, Utah, 18.4

5. Tyler Percin — Alvord, Texas, 18.8

6. Tyson Durfey — Savannah, Mo., 18.9

T7. Reese Riemer — Stinnett, Texas, 19.5

T7. Blair Burk — Durant, Okla., 19.5

Saddle bronc riding

1. Taos Muncy — Corona, N.M., 87 points

T2. Audy Reed — Spearman, Texas, 85

T2. Doug Aldridge — Carthage, Mo., 85

T2. Rusty Allen — Eagle Mountain, Utah, 85

T2. Tyrel Larsen — Inglis, Manitoba, 85 each;

T6. Taygen Schuelke — Newell, S.D, 84

T6. Joaquin Real — Santa Paul, Calif., 84

T6. Zeke Thurston — Big Valley, Alberta, 84

T6. Spencer Wright — Milford, Utah, 84

T6. Brody Cress — Hillsdale, Wyo., 84

T6. Allen Boore — Axtell, Utah, 84

Team Roping

1. Erich Rogers — Round Rock, Ariz./Cory Petska — Marana, Ariz., 10.3 seconds

2. Derrick Began — Seba Dalkai, Ariz./Clay O’Brien Cooper — Gardnerville Nev., 10.4

3. Tyler Waters — Stephenville, Texas/Steve Northcutt — Odessa, Texas, 10.9

4. Jake Barnes — Scottsdale, Ariz./Junior Nogueira — Scottsdale, Ariz., 11.2

5. Jesse Stipes — Salina, Okla./Billie Jack Saebens — Nowata, Okla., 11.3

6. Mike McGinn — Haines/Bill Justus —Haines, 12.5

7. Travis Tryan — Billings, Mont./Jett Hillman — Purcell, Okla. 12.7

8. Adam Rose — Willard, Mo./Walt Woodard — Stephenville, Texas, 13.9

Barrel racing

1. Callie DuPerier — Boerne, Texas, 16.38 seconds

2. Sheena Robbins — Fresno, Calif., 16.53

3. Carley Richardson — Pampa, Texas, 16.57

T4. Christina Richman — Glendora, Calif., 16.72

T4. Kelsie Miller — Riley, 16.72

6. Jamie Hinton — Boerne, Texas, 16.77

7. Shane Falon — Yakima, Wash., 16.88

8. Jill Welsh — Parker, Ariz., 16.90

T9. Alicia Stockton — Stephenville, Texas, 16.92

T9. Mary Hays — Hermiston, 16.92

T9. Amber Leigh Moore — Salem, 16.92

12. Samantha Boone — Cheney, Wash., 16.96

13, Brittany Kelly — Paso Robles, Calif., 16.99

14. Susan Duont — Aurora, 17.06

T15. Morgan Breaux — Tomball, Texas, 17.11

T15. Megan McLeod — Marsing, Ida., 17.11

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework