The two Lion seniors share Player of the Year honors after their successful 2017 Three Rivers seasons

TIDINGS FILE PHOTO - West Linn senior first baseman Jake Porter shared Three Rivers League Player of the Year honors with teammate Tim Tawa after batting .400 with 33 RBIs and 29 runs scored.The West Linn baseball team had already made its mark on the 2017 spring season.

Last week, the Lions' best players were honored for the roles they played in their team's Three Rivers League championship. In total, West Linn had players honored in 12 spots on this year's Three Rivers League all-star teams.

Senior first baseman Jake Porter and senior shortstop Tim Tawa led the way after sharing Player of the Year honors. Porter earned his spot after batting .400 this year, with 18 doubles, 33 RBIs and 29 runs scored. Tawa, meanwhile, hit .365 with five homers, 14 doubles, 24 RBIs and 40 runs.

The Lions also landed players in four other first-team slots, including: Tawa at pitcher (7-2 with a 1.26 ERA, allowing 42 hits and 24 walks while striking out 70 in 55 2/3 innings); senior center fielder Chase Cosner (412 with 26 RBIs and 31 runs); junior right fielder Garrett Marioni (.340 with 21 RBIs and 25 runs); and junior catcher Micah Gibson (.289 with 22 RBIs and 13 runs).

Lions' second-teamers included: senior pitcher Garrison Ritter (9-2 with a 2.16 ERA, allowing 39 hits and 30 walks while striking out 64 in 55 innings); senior pitcher Ryan Driscoll (7-0 with a 1.53 ERA, allowing 27 hits and 20 walks while striking out 37 in 36 2/3 innings); junior second baseman James Marshall (.261 with 12 RBIs and 12 runs); sophomore third baseman/shortstop Johnathon Kelly (.333 with 22 RBIs and 14 runs); and senior left fielder/third baseman Evan King (.305 with four RBIs and 18 runs).

Senior pitcher Rance Pittman won a spot on the honorable mention team after going 1-0 with 10 saves, posting a 0.26 ERA after allowing 13 hits and nine walks while striking out 25 in 27 innings.

Lake Oswego sophomore Alex Giroux was named TRL Pitcher of the Year.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Pitchers — Alex Giroux, so., Lake Oswego; Taylor Ott, sr., Tigard; Tim Tawa, sr., West Linn; Elijah Diggins, sr., Tualatin. Catchers — Parker Kuntz, sr., Tigard; Micah Gibson, jr., West Linn. First baseman — Jake Porter, sr., West Linn. Infielders — Jake Dukart, jr., Lake Oswego; Tim Tawa, sr., West Linn; Kyle Dernedde, so., Tualatin; Anthony Garrett, so., Sherwood; Derek Maiben, jr., Newberg. Outfielders — Sam Haney, jr., Lake Oswego; Brett Thomas, sr., Tigard; Chris Freese, jr., Tualatin; Chase Cosner, sr., West Linn; Garrett Marioni, jr., West Linn. Designated hitter — Colby Jackson, jr., Tualatin. Utility — Harrison Grow, sr., Sherwood.

Players of the Year — Jake Porter, sr., West Linn; Tim Tawa, sr., West Linn

Pitcher of the Year — Alex Giroux, so., Lake Oswego

Coach of the Year — Joe Monahan, West Linn

Second Team

Pitchers — Jake Dukart, jr., Lake Oswego; Brett Thomas, sr., Tigard; Garrison Ritter, sr. West Linn; Ryan Driscoll, sr., West Linn. Catcher — Cole Kinman, jr., Tualatin. First baseman — Tommy Andrew, sr., Lakeridge. Infielders — Beau Bryant, sr. Lakeridge; Jacob Matzat, jr., Sherwood; Hunter Hughes, sr., Tigard; Jonathon Kelly, so., West Linn; James Marshall, jr. West Linn. Outfielders — Matthew Sebolsky, so., Lake Oswego; Jacob Maiben, jr., Newberg; Bryce Vaughn, jr., Sherwood; Evan King, sr., West Linn. Designated hitter — C.J. Rivers, so., Tigard.

Honorable Mention

Pitchers — Colin Mitchell, sr., Lake Oswego; Jackson Laurent, so., Lake Oswego; Taylor Palmer, sr., Newberg; Jacob Matzat, jr., Sherwood; Riley Aggson, jr., Sherwood; John Sandilands, sr., Sherwood; Anthony Garrett, so., Sherwood; Manny Andrade, jr., Tigard; Danny Shell, jr., Tualatin; Kaden Cook, jr., Tualatin; Rance Pittman, sr., West Linn. Catchers — Dawson Abiley, sr., Sherwood; Jack Bigej, jr., Canby; Brendon Sloan, sr., Lakeridge; Trey Reohr, sr., Newberg. First baseman — Dawson Jarmillo, jr., Lake Oswego. Infielders — Alex Giroux, so., Lake Oswego; Cameron Laroche, so., Newberg; Andrew Edmunds, sr., Sherwood; Kameiah Korok, sr., Tigard. Outfielders — Grayson Hirte, sr., Newberg; Nick Heinke, jr., Tigard. Designated hitter — Cayden Delozier, fr., Canby.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine