Junior libero Ellie Snook, Lions' coach Carl Neuburger get top honors for '17

TIDINGS PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn coach Carl Neuburger was named Three Rivers League Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to an undefeated league championship and a third-place finish at the state tournament.When the West Linn volleyball team opened the 2017 season, its main goal was to get back to the Class 6A state tournament for the first time since 2013.

By the time the Lions' campaign ended, however, they had accomplished much, much more.

West Linn rolled through the 2017 Three Rivers League season with a perfect 16-0 record, won twice in the state playoffs to earn a berth in the 6A tournament, then accomplished even more.

The Lions won two out of three matches at the state tournament and finished third in the eight-team field to notch the team's best finish since finishing second way back in 2008.

In response, West Linn was honored big-time on the 2017 all-Three Rivers League teams, with three players named to the all-TRL first team, junior libero Ellie Snook named Player of the Year and West Linn's Carl Neuburger selected as Coach of the Year.

In total, West Linn had six players honored, including first-teamers Snook, Abby Fillion and Isabella Bean, second-teamer Callista Noel, and honorable mention picks Erika Isaacson and Hannah Hashbarger.

TIDINGS PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn junior libero Ellie Snook was named Three Rivers League Player of the Year after leading the Lions to a league championship, and later, a third-place finish at state.



Ellie Snook, jr., libero, West Linn; Daley McClellan, fr., MH/OH, Canby; Abby Fillion, sr., OH, West Linn; Reilly Santa, sr., OH, Lakeridge; Kynzey Mitzel, sr., libero, Tigard; Jackie Phillips, so., S, Tualatin; Olivia Salita, jr., S, Lake Oswego; Ruby Kayser, so., S, Canby Jordan Noble, so., OH, Lake Oswego; Nya Brown, sr., libero, Newberg; Isabella Bean, sr., OH, West Linn; Hadlee Hallman, jr., OH, St. Mary's; Caitlin Gay, fr., libero, Lakeridge.

Player of the Year: Ellie Snook, West Linn

Coach of the Year: Carl Neuburger, West Linn


Kylee Wimmer, jr., MH, Lake Oswego; Sam Fossati, sr., OH, Canby; Allison Fiarito, so., S, Sherwood; Rylan Sornson, sr., OH, Tualatin; Callista Noel, sr., S/OH, West Linn; Hannah Han, sr., OH, Tigard; Alyssa Haslip, jr., MH/RS, Sherwood; Audra Wilmes, fr., OH/MB, Canby.


Erika Isaacson, jr., MH, West Linn; Olivia Ashley, so., OH/M, Tualatin; Ashley Warmenhoven, sr., S, Lakeridge; Maicy Wear, so., DS, Lakeridge; Kylie Zralka, fr., MH, Tualatin; Carole Ramos, jr., MH, Tigard Grace Kassebaum, jr., DS/S, Newberg Jensen Kaelin, so., OH, Lake Oswego; Hannah Hashbarger, jr., S, West Linn; Alyssa Dillree, jr., libero, Sherwood; Tallie Davidson, jr., OH, St. Mary's; Caitlin Erickson, sr., RS, Tigard; Molly Mason, sr., libero, St. Mary's; Maddy Carbo, sr., OH/MH, Sherwood; Evan Parent-Korseness, so., OH, Sherwood; Jackie Harmon, sr., libero, Lake Oswego; Diana Kreshshenko, sr., OH/MB, Canby.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine