Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



West Linn players are also honored at another nine spots in this year's all-league voting

TIDINGS FILE PHOTO - West Linn junior shortstop Jonathan Kelly was one of four Lions named to the all-Three Rivers League first team after the 2018 season.To the victors go the spoils, and in Three Rivers League baseball, it was the West Linn baseball team that earned the most spoils.

The Lions, who won the TRL championship for a second straight year after going 13-4 (tied with Lake Oswego and Tualatin), saw four players named to the all-TRL first team and head coach Joe Monahan selected as Coach of the Year in this year's all-league voting.

West Linn's first-team selections included senior outfielder Griff Banta, junior shortstop Jonathan Kelly, senior pitcher Joey Campbell and senior catcher Micah Gibson. Banta, Kelly and Gibson were all unanimous selections.

According to Monahan, Banta stepped up to star at the varsity level after playing JV as a junior, Kelly led the Lions with four home runs, and Campbell went 6-0 in league play.

Gibson, meanwhile, was runner-up as TRL Player of the Year and hit .455 in his third year as a starter.

"(He) will be missed," Monahan said. "He has started the last three years for us and was a two-time all-league catcher."

In addition, the Lions saw senior second baseman James Marshall named to the second team ("He would have been first team all-league in any other league in the state," Monahan said), and take another eight slots on the all-league honorable mention team.

Honorable mention picks included: senior outfielders Garrett Marioni and Drew Vannaman; junior third baseman Zach Bell; junior first baseman Justin Hoover (.393 with four homers); senior pitchers Zach Anderson (one no-hitter in league) and Marioni (11 shutout innings late in the year); junior pitcher Caleb Franzen; and Anderson at designated hitter.

Lake Oswego senior shortstop and pitcher Jake Dukart was named Player of the Year, while Sherwood senior pitcher Riley Aggson was named Pitcher of the Year.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Outfielders: Sam Haney*, sr., Lake Oswego; Bryce Vaughn*, sr., Sherwood; Nick Heinke*, sr., Tigard; Griff Banta*, sr., West Linn; Sean Chamberlin, sr., Tualatin.

Infielders: Jake Dukart*, sr., Lake Oswego; Kyle Dernedde*, jr., Tualatin; Jonathon Kelly*, jr., West Linn; Anthony Garrett, jr., Sherwood; Colby Jackson, sr., Tualatin.

Pitchers: Riley Aggson*, sr., Sherwood; Jake Dukart, sr., Lake Oswego; Danny Shell, sr., Tualatin; Joey Campbell, sr., West Linn.

Catchers: Hayden Gilbert*, sr., Sherwood; Micah Gibson*, sr., West Linn.

Designated Hitter: Gavin Moore, jr., Tualatin.

First Baseman: C.J. Rivers, jr., Tigard.

Utility Player: Derek Maiben, sr., Newberg.

Player of the Year:

Jake Dukart, Lake Oswego

Pitcher of the Year: Riley Aggson, Sherwood

Coach of the Year: Joe Monahan, West Linn

Second Team

Outfielders: Thomas Dukart, so., Lake Oswego; Jacob Maiben, sr., Newberg; Micah O'Donnell, sr., Tigard; Chris Freese, sr., Tualatin.

Infielders: Alec Hopkins, sr., Canby; Matt Grimm, sr., Lake Oswego; Jacob Matzat, sr., Sherwood; Michael Quintana, sr., Tigard; James Marshall, sr., West Linn.

Pitchers: Malcolm Williams, fr., Lake Oswego; Sam Gerkman, jr., Tigard; C.J. Rivers, jr., Tigard; Colby Jackson, sr., Tualatin.

Catcher: Cole Kinman, sr., Tualatin.

Designated Hitter: Cayden Delozier, so., Canby; Lance Kreisberg, jr., Tigard.

First Baseman: Alex Giroux, jr., Lake Oswego.

Honorable Mention

Outfielders: Matthew Sebolsky, jr., Lake Oswego; Takumi Kammerzell, sr., Sherwood; Sage Dunaway, jr., Sherwood; Fletcher Ahl, jr., Tigard; Blake Jackson, so., Tualatin; Garrett Marioni, sr., West Linn; Drew Vannaman, sr., West Linn.

Infielders: Cameron Laroche, jr., Newberg; Zach Bell, jr., West Linn.

Pitchers: Sean Wiese, jr., Canby; Cayden Delozier, so., Canby; Alex Giroux, jr., Lake Oswego; Connor Utech, sr., Lakeridge; Anthony Garrett, jr., Sherwood; Braden Thorn, jr., Sherwood; Jacob Matzat, sr., Sherwood; Kaden Cook, sr., Tualatin; Zach Anderson, sr., West Linn; Caleb Franzen, jr., West Linn; Garrett Marioni, sr., West Linn.

Catchers: Jack Bigej, sr., Canby; Gabe Deville, jr., Lake Oswego; Jordan Beaudry, so., Newberg.

Designated Hitter: Dawson Jaramillo, sr., Lake Oswego; Zach Anderson, sr., West Linn.

First Baseman: Nic Garrison, sr., Sherwood; Kaden Cook, sr., Tualatin; Justin Hoover, jr., West Linn.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It costs just a few cents a day.)

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine