Kelly is named to the second team, Gibson and Campbell to the honorable mention team

TIDINGS FILE PHOTO - West Linn senior Joey Campbell won a berth on the Class 6A all-state honorable mention team after helping lead the Lions to a Three Rivers League title and into the state quarterfinals.The West Linn baseball team proved it all year long — the Lions could play with the state's best.

So when it came time to recognize the state's best, it was no surprise that some of West Linn's best were honored.

In the 2018 Class 6A all-state baseball selections, West Linn saw Jonathan Kelly, Joey Campbell and Micah Gibson take their places among Oregon's best, with Kelly winning a berth in the second team, and Campbell and Gibson earning spots on the all-state honorable mention team.

That trio led the Lions to a share of the Three Rivers League championship at 13-4 (tied with Lake Oswego and Tualatin) and into the 6A state quarterfinals.

Kelly, a junior shortstop who led the Lions with four home runs in the spring, was described by West Linn coach Joe Monahan as an "on-field leader with his presence. He is a great young man."

Campbell, a senior pitcher, went 6-0 in TRL play to pace the Lions' pitching staff, while Gibson hit .455 in his third year as a starter.

"(He) will be missed," Monahan said of Gibson. "He has started the last three years for us and was a two-time all-league catcher."

TIDINGS FILE PHOTO - West Linn junior shortstop Jonathan Kelly played his way onto the Class 6A all-sttae second team following the 2018 spring season.


First team

Pitchers: Willie Weiss, Westview, senior; Sam Matterazzo, Central Catholic, senior; Zane Mills, Lincoln, senior; Riley Aggson, Sherwood, senior; Brandon Letendre, South Medford, senior

Catchers: Aaron Zavala, South Salem, senior; Isaac Lovings, Sunset, senior

First Basemen: Greg Mehlhaff, Clackamas, senior; Mason Guerra, Westview, junior

Infielders: Mante Woods, Westview, senior; Jake Dukart, Lake Oswego, senior; Derek Maiben, Newberg, senior; Jayce Lien, West Albany, senior; Will Spitznagel, Jesuit, junior

Outfielders: Matt Easton, Lincoln, senior; Jacob Melton, South Medford, senior; Christian Cooney, Central Catholic, junior; Max Long, Sprague, senior; Blake Arritola, West Salem, senior

Utility: Nick Markantonatos, Grant, senior; Kenji Lamdin, Grant, junior

Player of the Year — Aaron Zavala, South Salem

Pitcher of the Year — Willie Weiss, Westview

Coach of the Year — Matt Bailie, Westview

Second team

Pitchers: Curtis Zamora, West Albany, senior; Dylan McCallum, Grant, sophomore; Jacob Cox, Westview, senior; Jaren Hunter, Barlow, sophomore; Ricky Boortz, South Medford, junior; Ben Braukmann, Westview, senior

Catchers: Hayden Gilbert, Sherwood, senior; Ezra Samperi, Gresham, senior

First Basemen: CJ Rivers, Tigard, junior; Jonathan Stone, Roseburg, junior

Infielders: Alex Claxton, Clackamas, junior; Bryce Boettcher, South Eugene, sophomore; Jonathan Kelly, West Linn, junior; Kyle Dernedde, Tualatin, junior; Jaalen Owens, South Medford, senior

Outfielders: Ty Rund, Grants Pass, senior; Grant Schoen, Clackamas, junior; Zach Swartz, Lincoln, junior; Micky Thompson, Century, junior; Sean Alvarado, South Salem, junior

Utility: Anthony Garrett, Sherwood, junior

Honorable mention

Pitchers: Michael Bennett, Madison, senior; Tucker Grote, Clackamas, senior; Joey Campbell, West Linn, senior; Jacob Biesterfeld, Gresham, senior; Ryan Brown, South Salem, junior; Zack Mandera, Roseburg, junior

Catchers: Micah Gibson, West Linn, senior; Dillon McNeil, Central Catholic, senior; Jake Zehr, Clackamas, senior; Dylan Hansen, Sheldon, senior

First Baseman: Patrick Muskat, Central Catholic, junior

Infielders: Justin Herzog, Century, junior; Rowan Ramsay, Central Catholic, senior; Spencer Scott, Grant, freshman; Payton Calabro, Grants Pass, junior; Sam Winter, Sunset, senior; Colby Jackson, Tualatin, senior

Outfielders: Sam Haney, Lake Oswego, senior; Nick Heinke, Tigard, senior; Dezi Olivares, Wilson, senior; Jaylin Parnell, South Medford, senior; Michael Martinez, Liberty, senior; Kyle Roley, Oregon City, senior

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine