Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The two juniors both win first-team all-Three Rivers honors for the Lions in 2019

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn junior Olivia Venderby won first-team all-Three Rivers League honors after placing second overall in the 2019 TRL scoring race.There's an old song that said "It Don't Mean a Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing."

That was not a problem for the West Linn girls golf team this year.

The Lions proved it by going unbeaten in the Three Rivers League regular season, winning both days of the TRL district tournament, then advancing to state and finishing third there.

In response, West Linn's best were showered with all-TRL honors for 2019. Juniors Olivia Venderby and Brady Turnquist both won spots in the all-league first team, freshman Bayler Brundage played her way onto the 2019 second team and senior Ashlee Muresan secured a berth on the TRL honorable mention team.

Venderby earned her recognition by averaging 75.66 strokes per round for the TRL regular season and district tournament. She finished second in the league standings and later placed seventh at state.

"Any coach would appreciate having Olivia on their team — she is a tremendous leader both through her actions and her words," said West Linn coach John Grothe. "She is constantly evaluating her game and improving. She seeks outs the highest levels of competition and never backs down from a challenge."

Turnquist, meanwhile, averaged 78.33 shots per round to finish third in league, and later, took 21st at state.

"Brady is the emotional leader of our team," Grothe said. "Brady wears her emotions on her sleeve (and) … is always willing to do what it takes to be a complete player."

Needless to say, Grothe is excited to have both Venderby and Turnquist coming back next year.

"Both Brady and Olivia are excellent teammates, leaders, players and representatives of West Linn," he added. "As exceptional of players as they are, they are even better young women."

All-Three Rivers League

First Team: Alexandra Tomita, sr., St. Mary's; Olivia Venderby, jr., West Linn; Brady Turnquist, jr., West Linn; Sophie McCoy, fr., Oregon City; Maddie Baker, so., Lakeridge.

Second Team: Halle Richards, so., St. Mary's; Karli Mink, jr., St. Mary's; Ellie Yarbrough, jr., Lake Oswego; Emily Ogawa, sr., St. Mary's; Bayler Brundage, fr., West Linn.

Honorable Mention: Ashlee Muresan, sr., West Linn; Megan Woolard, jr., Lake Oswego; Emma Grant, jr., Tigard; Katelyn Knox, sr., Lake Oswego; Olivia Ricketts, sr., Lakeridge.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework