Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Gross, Schmidt, Brody, Fulcher and Brown win berths on the all-TRL first team

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn senior defender Maddy Gross was named to the all-Three Rivers League first team after helping the Lions finish second in the 2019 league race and reach the Class 6A state quarterfinals.There's no better way to say it — the West Linn girls soccer team soared in 2019.

The Lions fought their way to a runner-up finish in the ever-tough Three Rivers League, climbed their way to the sixth seed in the Class 6A state playoffs, then won twice in the postseason before being ousted in the quarterfinals.

In response, West Linn saw nine of its players honored on Three Rivers League all-star teams, that group led by first-team selections Kaylie Brown, Abby Schmidt, Jill Brody, Maddy Gross and Cami Fulcher.

Together that group helped the Lions go 5-2-0 in TRL play and 12-4-1 overall.

West Linn coach Lauren Pyrch had high praise for each.

Maddy Gross — "A hard worker. The heart of our defense for three years."

Abby Schmidt — "A hard worker. (She) always kept pushing. Our coach on the field. Always wanted to get better. Amazing passer."

Jill Brody — "Fast. Could beat players (one-on-one) off the dribble. Dynamic player."

Cami Fulcher — "A shut-down defender. (She was) physical and wasn't afraid to get stuck into tackles."

Kaylie Brown — "Left-footed. Incredible work rate. Would play offense and defense. Had an amazing goal off a corner."

Schmidt finished league play with three goals, two assists, 53 tackles for takeaways and only 23 turnovers. Brody had three goals and six assists. Fulcher scored one goal, made 41 tackles for takeaways and had only nine turnovers. Brown added three goals and one assist.

Also honored for the Lions were senior Rosie Larsen (a second-team pick who finished with three goals), sophomore Asia Hardin (an honorable mention pick who finished with 36 tackles for takeaways and only 15 turnovers), senior Grace Winjum (an honorable mention pick who finished with 52 tackles for takeaways and only 10 turnovers) and senior goalkeeper Emily Weber (an honorable mention pick who finished with 19 saves and only four goals allowed).

Tualatin junior forward Cally Togiai was named TRL Player of the Year, while Tualatin's Kale Dwight was named Coach of the Year.

Three Rivers League

First Team

Forwards: Cally Togiai, jr., Tualatin; Kaylie Brown, sr., West Linn; Joey Baguio, so., Canby. Midfielders: Abby Borg, sr., Tualatin; Abby Schmidt, sr., West Linn; Emily Bachman, jr., Lakeridge; Natalie Redpath, fr., Lake Oswego; Jill Brody, sr., West Linn. Defenders: Maddy Gross, sr., West Linn; Maya Loudd, fr., Tualatin; Jayden Hill, so., Lake Oswego; Cami Fulcher, jr., West Linn. Goalkeeper: Abby Pressnell, so., Lakeridge.

Player Of The Year — Cally Togiai, Tualatin

Coach Of The Year — Kale Dwight, Tualatin

Second Team

Forwards: Megan McCormack, sr., Lakeridge; Lydia Emory, jr., Tigard; Kaitlyn Sasadeusz, fr., Lake Oswego; Rosie Larsen, sr., West Linn. Midfielders: Jaiden Riodil, fr., Tigard; Makena Speer, so., Canby; Bella Yannello, jr., Lakeridge; Peyton Ivey, sr., Lake Oswego; Payton Wesson, jr., Tualatin. Defenders: Victoria Snyder, jr., St. Mary's; Aden Lynch, sr., Tualatin; Avery Porter, fr., Tualatin; Ally O'Dell, sr., Canby; Keely Lipp, jr., Lakeridge. Goalkeeper: Sarah Hall, sr., Tualatin.

Honorable Mention

Forwards: Taylor Jones, sr., Lake Oswego; Taylor Salisbury, jr., Oregon City; Kiera O'Malley, sr., Oregon City; Maggie Farra, so., St. Mary's; Ali Nadalsky, jr., St. Mary's; Brook Burke, so., Tualatin. Midfielders: Kate Diedrich, sr., Lake Oswego; Payton Moffenbeier, jr., Lakeridge; Jaynie Rust, so., Oregon City; Abi Willett, sr., Oregon City; Anette Hernandez Bran, sr., Tigard; Ellie Shorter, jr., Canby. Defenders: Ellie Thompson, jr., Canby; Naarai Rodriguez, sr., Canby; Karoline Shipton, so., Lake Oswego; Jenna Barouh, jr., Lakeridge; Sydney Okoneski, sr., Lakeridge; Maddy Phelps, sr., Oregon City; Audrey Lincoln, so., St. Mary's; Elaina Williams, fr., St. Mary's; Riley White, sr., Tigard; Steffani Rodriguez, sr., Tigard; Darci Chamberlin, sr., Tualatin; Asia Hardin, so., West Linn; Grace Winjum, sr., West Linn. Goalkeepers: Halle Adair, sr., Canby; Nova Ceperich, sr., Oregon City; Chella Fedota, jr., St. Mary's; Sara Hawks, jr., Tigard; Emily Weber, sr., West Linn.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework