Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Garrett is selected to all-TRL first team, Shelstad and Durbin to second team

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn senior Micah Garrett was named to the all-Three RIvers League first team after leading his team in scoring at 19 points per game in 2019-20.The West Linn boys basketball accomplished almost everything it wanted to this year.

The Lions battled down to the final week of the regular season while chasing the Three Rivers League title. They won back-to-back Class 6A state playoff games and earned a berth in the eight-team state tournament.

While West Linn didn't get the big payoff at the end of the season — the Class 6A state tournament was canceled by the Oregon School Activities Association in reaction to the threat of COVID-19 — the Lions did get plenty of recognition in the TRL all-star voting for 2019-20.

All five West Linn starters were honored this year, with senior Micah Garrett named to the all-TRL first team, freshman Jackson Shelstad and senior Parker Durbin selected to the second team, and senior guards Bryson Crockett and Gus Michelon picked to the TRL honorable mention team.

Garrett, a 6-foot-3 guard, led his team to an 8-4 record and a second-place finish in the TRL, a 17-9 overall mark and the ninth seed to the state playoffs. He averaged 19 points, four rebounds and two assists, while shooting 54% overall and 44% from 3-point range.

"I thought Micah was the best player in the league this year," said West Linn coach Eric Viuhkola. "If we would've have played better as a team down the stretch, he could have been the (Player of the Year)."

Shelstad, a 5-11 guard, made his first varsity season a keeper, averaging 14 points, three rebounds and 3.2 assists, while hitting 42% of his shots overall and 34% of his 3-pointers.

"I thought Jackson should have been a first-team all-league player," Viuhkola said. "I guarantee if the coaches were picking teams, he'd be one of the first five guys chosen. This just gives him fuel for the fire next year."

Durbin, a 6-3 wing/post, came through with seven rebounds and two assists per game, while shooting 57% overall. Durbin was also named TRL co-Defensive Player of the Year, sharing the award with Lake Oswego senior guard Sam Abere.

"I was very pleased that the other coaches recognized Parker's worth to our team," Viuhkola added.

Tigard junior Drew Carter was named Player of the Year, and Lake Oswego's Marshall Cho was named Coach of the Year.

First Team

Drew Carter, jr., Tigard; Micah Garrett, sr., West Linn; Casey Graver, sr., Lake Oswego; Andre Best, sr., Oregon City; Diego Arredondo, jr., Canby; John Miller, sr., Tualatin; Trace Salton, jr., Lake Oswego.

Player of the Year — Drew Carter, Tigard

Defensive Players of the Year — Parker Durbin, West Linn; Sam Abere, Lake Oswego

Coach of the Year — Marshall Cho, Lake Oswego

Second Team

Jackson Shelstad, fr., West Linn; Jack Chlumak, sr., Lake Oswego; Jake Gettel, sr., Oregon City; Parker Durbin, sr., West Linn; Malik Brown, fr., Tigard; Sam Noland, sr., Tualatin.

Honorable Mention

Alex Evans, so., Canby; Sam Abere, sr., Lake Oswego; Grant Brauner, sr., Lake Oswego; Mason Nelson, sr., Lakeridge; T.J. Warren, sr., Oregon City; Dalton Welch, sr., Oregon City; Steven Long, sr., Tigard; Brett Moss, jr., Tigard; Peter Burke, so., Tualatin; Malik Ross, so., Tualatin; Bryson Crockett, sr., West Linn; Gus Michelon, jr., West Linn.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework