Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The two Lions finish their shortened 2019-20 season as two of the state's best

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn senior guard Micah Garrett was named to the Class 6A all-state second team this year after leading the Lions to a berth in the state tournament.To say that the season didn't go as planned for West Linn's Micah Garrett and Jackson Shelstad would be a massive understatement.

But to say that their seasons didn't go well would be, too.

Garrett, a 6-foot-3 senior guard, and Shelstad, a 5-11 freshman point guard, led their team to an 8-4 record and a second-place finish in the Three Rivers League, a 17-9 overall mark and a berth in the eight-team Class 6A state tournament. The 6A tournament was subsequently canceled in reaction to the novel coronavirus pandemic before the Lions played a game.

Garrett averaged 19 points, four rebounds and two assists per game, while shooting 54% overall and 44% from 3-point range.

"I thought Micah was the best player in the league this year," said West Linn coach Eric Viuhkola. "If we would've have played better as a team down the stretch, he could have been the (TRL Player of the Year)."

Shelstad averaged 14 points, three rebounds and 3.2 assists, while hitting 42% of his shots overall and 34% of his 3-pointers.

"I thought Jackson should have been a first-team all-league player," Viuhkola said. "I guarantee if the coaches were picking teams, he'd be one of the first five guys chosen. This just gives him fuel for the fire next year."

Jefferson junior Nate Rawlins-Kibonge was named Class 6A Player of the Year while Barlow's Tom Johnson was named Coach of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn freshman guard Jackson Shelstad capped his solid freshman season by being named to the Class 6A all-state honorable mention team.

Class 6A All-State Basketball

First Team

Drew Carter, jr., Tigard; Ben Gregg, jr., Clackamas; Jamison Guerra, sr., Sherwood; Nate Rawlins-Kibonge, jr., Jefferson; Jesse White, sr., Barlow.

Player of the Year — Nate Rawlins-Kibonge, Jefferson

Coach of the Year — Tom Johnson, Barlow

Second Team

Darius Gakwasi, jr., Central Catholic; Micah Garrett, sr., West Linn; Evan Inglesby, sr., Barlow; Matt Levis, sr., Jesuit; Nate Meithof, jr., McNary.

Honorable Mention

Andre Best, sr., Oregon City; Jett Carpenter, sr., North Medford; Marquis Cook, fr., Jefferson; Trey Galbraith, sr., South Salem; Casey Graver, sr., Lake Oswego; Sam Harris, sr., South Eugene; Blake Jensen, sr., Sherwood; Jackson Shelstad, fr., West Linn; Jacob Tompkins, sr., Summit; Lamar Washington, so., Jefferson.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework