Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Milwaukie and West Linn's girls tie for 14th in the team standings at the state tourney.

The Oregon City girls wrestling team got its money's worth in 2021.

   The Pioneers stepped up to finish third in a field of 55 teams at the Oregon Wrestling Association women's state championship, held June 24 at Cottage Grove High School. The Oregon Wrestling Association stepped in to organize the state tournament when the Oregon School Activities Association handed culminating week activities back to the schools.

Besides Oregon City — which finished with 50 points — Milwaukie and West Linn tied for 14th in the team standings with 24 points each. Thurston finished first with 107 points while Sweet Home was second with 62.

Along the way, Oregon City saw both Emma Baertlein and Bella Amaro step up to win state titles, Baertlein cashing in at 105 pounds and Amaro at 140.

Baertlein won three straight matches by fall to claim her title, eventually beating Sicily Neuschwander of Sweet Home by pin in 54 seconds in the championship bout. Amaro followed suit with three straight wins at 140, getting pins in her first two matches and a 5-2 decision over Tyler Richardson of Vale in the final.

For West Linn, sophomore Destiny Rodriguez won her second straight state title, this time claiming the crown at 155 after winning three straight times, including a pin of Hood River's Lauraine Smith in 1 minute, 25 seconds in the final.

For Milwaukie, senior Fiona McConnell matched Rodriguez with three straight pins, including a stop of Gervais' Alexys Zepeda in the championship of the 190-pound bracket.

The complete team scoring included: Thurston 107.0; Sweet Home 62.0; Oregon City 50.0; North Medford 48.0; Forest Grove 47.0; Hillsboro 43.0; Cottage Grove 40.0; La Pine 37.0; North Salem 37.0; Hood River 35.0; Estacada 30.0; Bend 27.5; West Albany 25.0; Milwaukie 24.0; West Linn 24.0;Cleveland 23.0; McKay 22.0; Newberg 22.0; Ashland 18.0; Central Linn 18.0; Eagle Point 18.0; Elmira 18.0; Gervais 18.0; Vale 17.0; Oakridge 16.0; Glencoe 15.0; Lincoln 14.0; Ridgeview 14.0; Tillamook 12.0; Beaverton 11.0; Molalla 11.0; Springfield 11.0; Siuslaw 10.0; St. Helens 10.0; Klamath Union 9.0; The Dalles 9.0; Baker 4.0; Hidden Valley 4.0; Roosevelt 4.0; Banks 3.0; Canby 3.0; Cascade 3.0; Crater 3.0; Creswell 3.0; La Grande 3.0; Liberty 3.0; Ontario 3.0; Scappoose 3.0; Tigard 3.0; Douglas 2.0; Phoenix 2.0; West Salem 2.0; Century 1.0; Toledo 1.0; Benson 0.0; Centennial 0.0; Crook County 0.0; David Douglas 0.0; Grants Pass 0.0; Knappa 0.0; McNary 0.0; Mountain View 0.0; Reynolds 0.0; South Albany 0.0; Sunset 0.0; Taft 0.0.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework