Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Former state legislator to serve third consecutive term on Clackamas County board

With more than 67% of the vote according to early returns, Martha Schrader has easily won reelection to the Clackamas County Board of Commissioners position 3, defeating two challengers.

Martha SchraderGladstone activist Bill Osburn garnered 27%, while Evan D. Geier received about 5%.

Schrader — a former farmer, school teacher and legislator — will serve her third consecutive term and fourth full term overall as a Clackamas County commissioner. She was initially appointed to fill a vacancy in 2003 and won election against Tootie Smith in 2004. She served as chair from 2005 to 2007.

In 2008, she was selected to fill the vacant seat left by her ex-husband Kurt Schrader who won election to the U.S. House of Representatives, but was defeated in the 2010 race for the Oregon Senate seat held by Alan Olsen.

Schrader returned to public service two years later, winning election to the Clackamas County Board of Commissioners in 2012. She currently serves the county as vice chair of the board and sits on a number of regional and statewide government committees.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework