Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



20-member advisory group plans to help guide county in becoming carbon neutral by 2050

The Clackamas Board of County Commissioners has approved the appointment of 20 people to the Community Advisory Task Force that will help guide the county's climate action plan which aims to make Clackamas County carbon neutral by 2050.

The process of formulating the county's climate action plan was initiated in 2020 with the goal of laying out the framework to adopt ambitious climate goals with specific recommendations by 2023. FILE PHOTO - Clackamas County

Sixty-seven applications for the Community Advisory Task Force (CATF) were received from Dec. 9-Jan. 11. County staff vetted each application and prior to making their board-approved recommendations, said they considered representation of the county's various geographic locations, how much time each candidate would have to commit to the work, familiarity and interest in the issue of climate action, expertise in different areas related to the topic and their ability to work with new information and offer balanced perspectives.

The board heard a brief presentation from Dan Johnson, director of transportation and development, on how candidates were selected. Johnson told the board that there are four other positions — one youth member, a transportation technology expert and two ex-officio members representing each one rural and urban city in the county — that are currently unfilled. Johnson said that county staff have people in mind for these positions and will return soon with recommendations.

Eric Underwood and Lisa Kilders

Below is the list of members appointed by the board to the Climate Action Community Advisory Task Force:

  • Ray Atkinson, transportation systems analyst for Clackamas Community College
  • Bill Avison, president of Avison Lumber
  • Linda Blue, member of Clackamas County Arts Alliance
  • David Bugni, member of Clackamas River Basin Council
  • Nina Carlson, government affairs manager at NW Natural
  • Laura Edmonds, CEO of the North Clackamas Chamber of Commerce
  • Bronwyn Horn, youth community member
  • Dan Houf, president of Harper Houf Peterson Righellis, Inc.
  • Lisa Kilders, public information coordinator at Clackamas Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Julia Person, Bob's Red Mill
  • Richa Poudyal, policy director at the Asian Pacific American Network of Oregon (APANO)
  • Adam Rack, community member and business manager working in agricultural business
  • Jeff Rubin, community member with public health and disaster resilience experience
  • Jairaj Singh, director of Clackamas County chapter of Unite Oregon
  • William Street, community member with forestry experience
  • Kim Swan, water resource manager at Clackamas River Water Providers
  • Meg Turner, community member and business owner with education experience
  • Eric Underwood, government affairs manager at Portland General Electric
  • Edgar Wales, community member with energy efficiency experience
  • Matt Zacher, owner of Canby Rental & Equipment

  • You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

    Go to top
    JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework