Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



WIlsonville and La Salle boys teams are both headed to state on Saturday, Nov. 6.

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Milwaukie junior Logan Law (left to right), Wilsonville junior Mason Weisgerber and Scappoose senior Rowen Suchoski race during the Northwest Oregon Conference district cross country meet on Wednesday, Oct. 27, at Blue Lake Park in Fairview.The Wilsonville boys cross country team decided it was time to flex.

The Wildcats — running in the Northwest Oregon Conference district cross country meet at Blue Lake Park in Fairview on Wednesday, Oct. 27 — landed three runners in the top five and four in the top 10 to win the event with 25 points, while second place La Salle was well back at 73.

The complete team scoring included: 1. Wilsonville 25; 2. La Salle Prep 73; 3. Scappoose 92; 4. Putnam 103; 5. Parkrose 108; 6. St Helens 146; 7. Hillsboro 179.

"I'm proud of my team," Wilsonville junior Mason Weisgerber said, who finished second overall with a time of 16 minutes, 22.50 seconds. "We did a great job. We held our positions and did what we needed to do in order to win the meet and advance to state."

Joining Weisgerber in the top five were senior Jacob McClelland in third at 16:36.10 and senior Ben McClelland in fifth at 16:41.10.

For Milwaukie — which fielded just four runners and recorded an incomplete team score — junior Logan Law left the rest of the field behind to win with a time of 15:52.80 for the 5-kilometer event.

"My performance was all right," Law said. "I was just going out for the win and try to save as much as I can for Tyrone (Gorze of Crater) and Henry (Coughlan of Crescent Valley) at state. But other than that, I'm very pleased on that run."

Also headed to state are the teams from La Salle and Scappoose, with the Falcons led by senior Ethan Baker and his 10th-place finish at 17:51.80.

The Class 5A state meet is set for 2:20 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 6, at Lane Community College in Eugene.


Wilsonville: 2. Mason Weisgerber, jr., 16:22.50; 3. Jacob McClelland, sr., 16:36.10; 5. Ben McClelland, sr., 16:41.10; 8. Nathan Wilde, jr., 17:46.60; 12. Connor Larsen, so., 17:52.60 .

Putnam: 7. Cameron Cutler, sr., 17:05.00; 22. Briggs Priem, sr., 18:55.60; 24. Max Wright, jr., 19:05.10; 27. Zachary Stock, sr., 19:18.80; 28. Cole Busic, jr., 19:22.40.

La Salle: 10. Ethan Baker, sr., 17:51.80; 13. Abraham Scales, fr., 18:01.80; 17. Tyler Smith, so., 18:12.90; 18. Murphy Schuster, sr., 18:22.50; 20. Massimo Greco, jr., 18:42.80.

Milwaukie: 1. Logan Law, jr., 15:52.80; 29. Carter Sprague, jr., 19:29.50; 42. Monk Bachara, so., 21:49.80.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework